We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel On The Island”
Review of BayShore Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Put in Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
BayShore Resort
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Put in Bay
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Hotel was nice and the pools looked wonderful (too cold this time of year to swim, but they had the lights on in the pools in the evening). The hotel bar was a very nice place to hang out. Beautiful view of the lake from our balcony room. Hotel rooms were your average hotel room, but clean, and bathroom was large. Staff was very friendly. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Room with a balcony overlooking the pools with a view of the water was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 210 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2012

Hands down, this is the best hotel on Put-in-Bay! We've been visiting the island for the past 6 years and have stayed at many hotels but we just LOVE this one the best! My girlfriends and I spent the weekend in just a 2 queen room. The room was just above your average hotel room but is more spacious and very clean. We arrived a little early before check in but the rooms were ready and we were able to get in right away. We didn't have any problems with security , they did check our cooler but we knew the hotel doesn't allow private alcohol which was fine with us since we spent most of the day at the Tiki bar and pools. The staff was very friendly and accommodating all the way from front desk to the bartenders. Never encountered any rudeness and that includes all the shops and bars we visited over the weekend. We requested extra towels pillows and iron and it was to our room within minutes. Bonus for prompt service! Our only complaint is that the tiki bar isn't open past 11pm. Otherwise we love it! I would recommend the top floor for the best view , we had room 330 and will be requesting it again next year!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank summersunonly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Wow! I am very upset with this resort! My parents had reservations at the hotel for two nights. However, my mother's father passed away suddenly the day before their reservations. We called the hotel management staff and they would not work with us to re-schedule their reservations. Its not like we were asking for a refund, we just wanted to change the dates. So the money that my parents paid to book the rooms, the hotel got to keep. My parents stay at this hotel at least twice a year and are loyal customers. The management staff was very rude and not accommodating. This is not a way to run a business or treat your loyal customers!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank B G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Put-In-Bay is sorely in need of high-end or luxury accomodations. The Bayshore is better than most and I wouldn't consider it a resort. It is an average hotel with average furnishings/decor in the rooms. What sets it apart is it's proximity on the lakefront, rooms with lakeview and the large screened in patios. I stayed in a third floor room that faced the monument & the view was lovely. The service was excellent. The front desk and security personnel were prompt, friendly & knowledgeble. I did not hear any excessive noise coming from the pool area, halls or rooms & appreciate the fact that security personnel was present and available. The beds & pillows were average. The bathrooms are large but only have a shower. Bathtubs are only available in handicap rooms. The hotel is within walking distance of many activities, bars, etc. Overall a good experience and I would recommend staying here over numerous other hotels on the island. Especially if you are traveling with children.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the third floor for a more dynamic view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Travel123906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

Just outside of downtown. Not as crazy as the other hotels. The classiest hotel at Put-In-Bay. All rooms have balconies that overlook 2 lakefront heated pools a Jacuzzi and then Lake Erie. It’s a beautiful sight…It’s the newest hotel on the island. They have a Lakefront pool bar, and a restaurant that’s pretty good. If you’re a young adult though I’d stay downtown. I’m staying here next summer in a suite for my Put-In-Bay Island wedding.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cindy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

The BayShore Resort is one of the most expensive (if not the most expensive) hotel on Put-In-Bay. At almost $300 per night, perhaps its hefty price tag is designed to keep out the younger, wilder crowd. If so, mission accomplished. The crowd there was definitely in the over-30 category.

The rooms look like very standard low budget hotel. Nothing special, nothing offensive. Of note of the nice little patios/balconies they have. Perfect for having an evening drink. Unfortunately, there didn't appear to be any daily maid service, which for $300/night seems ridiculous.

The pool area has decent seating but the pools are strictly standard. The "Tiki Bar" does nothing to evoke a Tiki mood, though the bartenders were exceptionally friendly.

The best part about this hotel is the location. It is a fast and easy walk to the center of all the action, golf cart not required. Even with luggage, it was quick to get there from the ferry.

Would I stay here again? Yes. As they say - Location, Location, Location!

Room Tip: I liked being on the 1st floor - an easy walkout to the pool and bar. Also close to the front desk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Caitlin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012 via mobile

stayed here with my family this june 2012 and we had a fabulous time. reasonable golf cart rental and friendly staff. If you are able to its actually a short walk to downtown. Also next to it is a cute little ice cream/breakfast place. Stay was also reasonably priced. View from the room was beautiful. Will def stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TSHTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Put in Bay
0.5 mi away
Bay Lodging Resort
Bay Lodging Resort
#1 of 7 in Put in Bay
244 reviews
10.4 mi away
South Beach Resort Hotel
South Beach Resort Hotel
#1 of 3 in Marblehead
304 reviews
11.4 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#10 of 17 in Port Clinton
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Edgewater Hotel
Edgewater Hotel
#6 of 7 in Put in Bay
12 reviews
0.2 mi away
Put-in-Bay Resort Hotel and Conference Center
0.3 mi away
Commodore Resort
Commodore Resort
#4 of 7 in Put in Bay
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BayShore Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BayShore Resort

Address: 328 Toledo Ave, PO Box 597, Put in Bay, OH 43456-6836
Region: United States > Ohio > Put in Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Put in Bay
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The island's ONLY lakefront hotel, located only a few minutes walk to historic downtown. Spacious rooms that ALL have lakefront balconies. We have 2 heated pools, a 30 person whirlpool spa, lakefront tiki bar and an on-site restaurant that serves the best breakfast, lunch and dinners! Golf carts are also available to rent from our excellent staff! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bayshore Hotel Put In Bay
BayShore Resort Put In Bay, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing