We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't listen to below”
Review of BayShore Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Put in Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
BayShore Resort
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Put in Bay
Louisville, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Don't listen to below”
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Don't usually write review, but felt I should because we were almost detered from this hotel by the negative reviews. Service was great from the time we walked in. The room was comfy and the view was great. Paid $129 a night which is the average for lesser quality in the bay. Overall a great stay and we will be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    48
    26
    14
    28
See reviews for
36
82
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2013

While this hotel was in a fairly good location it was very overpriced for the quality of the rooms. The staff was not oriented towards customer satisfaction at all. They were extremely strict on their policies and very unwilling to accommodate the changing plans of our group. It seemed as though the employees were out to make our trip unenjoyable from the moment we walked in the door. They were not the least bit understanding to the fact that plans may change on what's supposed to be a relaxing getaway trip and seemed more concerned with trying to get more money out of our stay. I will never stay at this hotel again and strongly recommend that if you and your friends want an enjoyable trip and a comfortable bed to sleep in that you do not stay here either.

Room Tip: In my honest opinion, stay away from this hotel if you want a relaxing and good time on the island...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jillian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Put in Bay hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

On Sunday May 26th we decided to take a Day trip to put in bay. We didn't plan on staying in a hotel because we figured it would be a little more expensive and that we would have a hard time finding one. As we passed this hotel they had a flashing sign that said rooms available. We stopped in to see what the rate was. This is what the front desk attendant stated, "the cheapest rate tonight is 230 dollars but if you wait to book the room until midnight it goes down to 130." We were so excited, we asked if we could reserve it and she said we could but that it would be an extra deposit and that she had 30 rooms available and to just come back at midnight and it wouldn't be a problem. We drove around the island and around 10pm we started to get a little restless so we decided to stop in at the Hotel just to see if there was a chance they would Pro Rate out room starting at 11pm and just charge us for the extra hour or something. So we told the new front desk attendants what the other one had told us earlier. They were puzzled and said that the girl earlier was wrong and their rates would not go down and that they only had three rooms left for the night. We needed two of them so we were pretty much forced to pay 500 dollars. If we had known this we would not have stayed or we would have checked in for the same price way earlier in the day rather than driving around killing time in the freezing cold.
So we Checked into the room and the only thing that was nice was the view and the balcony. The tv is not flat screen, they offer 20 channels and we only had
reception on 4 of them. It was loud and you could hear EVERYTHING.
The worst part is that in the morning the front desk called the room and said that they would be refunding the additional money we were charged and offer us the rate that the other attendant told us. We were very pleased, but much to our dismay they called back 5 minutes later and said that they could no longer do that and they were sorry that the other attendant made a mistake. So basically we had to pay 500 dollars for her Mistake. I work in a lakefront Villa that charges the same rate and let me tell you, it is the complete opposite of this place. I've never dealt with a business so unprofessional in my life. My advice is to stay in port Clinton at the holiday inn express where it is clean and cheaper. Save your money and your time. This was the worst experience I have ever had at Put in bay.




  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank alk3brittany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima, Ohio
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Hotel was nice and the pools looked wonderful (too cold this time of year to swim, but they had the lights on in the pools in the evening). The hotel bar was a very nice place to hang out. Beautiful view of the lake from our balcony room. Hotel rooms were your average hotel room, but clean, and bathroom was large. Staff was very friendly. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Room with a balcony overlooking the pools with a view of the water was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Hands down, this is the best hotel on Put-in-Bay! We've been visiting the island for the past 6 years and have stayed at many hotels but we just LOVE this one the best! My girlfriends and I spent the weekend in just a 2 queen room. The room was just above your average hotel room but is more spacious and very clean. We arrived a little early before check in but the rooms were ready and we were able to get in right away. We didn't have any problems with security , they did check our cooler but we knew the hotel doesn't allow private alcohol which was fine with us since we spent most of the day at the Tiki bar and pools. The staff was very friendly and accommodating all the way from front desk to the bartenders. Never encountered any rudeness and that includes all the shops and bars we visited over the weekend. We requested extra towels pillows and iron and it was to our room within minutes. Bonus for prompt service! Our only complaint is that the tiki bar isn't open past 11pm. Otherwise we love it! I would recommend the top floor for the best view , we had room 330 and will be requesting it again next year!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank summersunonly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Wow! I am very upset with this resort! My parents had reservations at the hotel for two nights. However, my mother's father passed away suddenly the day before their reservations. We called the hotel management staff and they would not work with us to re-schedule their reservations. Its not like we were asking for a refund, we just wanted to change the dates. So the money that my parents paid to book the rooms, the hotel got to keep. My parents stay at this hotel at least twice a year and are loyal customers. The management staff was very rude and not accommodating. This is not a way to run a business or treat your loyal customers!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank B G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Harbor, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Put-In-Bay is sorely in need of high-end or luxury accomodations. The Bayshore is better than most and I wouldn't consider it a resort. It is an average hotel with average furnishings/decor in the rooms. What sets it apart is it's proximity on the lakefront, rooms with lakeview and the large screened in patios. I stayed in a third floor room that faced the monument & the view was lovely. The service was excellent. The front desk and security personnel were prompt, friendly & knowledgeble. I did not hear any excessive noise coming from the pool area, halls or rooms & appreciate the fact that security personnel was present and available. The beds & pillows were average. The bathrooms are large but only have a shower. Bathtubs are only available in handicap rooms. The hotel is within walking distance of many activities, bars, etc. Overall a good experience and I would recommend staying here over numerous other hotels on the island. Especially if you are traveling with children.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the third floor for a more dynamic view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Travel123906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Put in Bay
0.5 mi away
Bay Lodging Resort
Bay Lodging Resort
#1 of 7 in Put in Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.5 mi away
Harbour View Suites
Harbour View Suites
#4 of 7 in Put in Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
9.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
The Island House Hotel
The Island House Hotel
#3 of 17 in Port Clinton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
0.2 mi away
Put-in-Bay Resort Hotel and Conference Center
0.3 mi away
Commodore Resort
Commodore Resort
#6 of 7 in Put in Bay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BayShore Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BayShore Resort

Property: BayShore Resort
Address: 328 Toledo Ave, PO Box 597, Put in Bay, OH 43456-6836
Region: United States > Ohio > Put in Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Put in Bay
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The island's ONLY lakefront hotel, located only a few minutes walk to historic downtown. Spacious rooms that ALL have lakefront balconies. We have 2 heated pools, a 30 person whirlpool spa, lakefront tiki bar and an on-site restaurant that serves the best breakfast, lunch and dinners! Golf carts are also available to rent from our excellent staff! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bayshore Hotel Put In Bay
BayShore Resort Put In Bay, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing