We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Horrible Experience” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of BayShore Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Put in Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
BayShore Resort
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Put in Bay
Melbourne, FL
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Horrible Experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2006

I stayed over Labor Day Weekend with women ages 30-60. We booked 3 rooms and were all coming in from different cities across the U.S. We were told we could not authorize our guests to check in to the rooms which we had placed a deposit on before we arrived, which was several hours later. The front desk made us pay for the rooms in full at check-in. We were not permitted to have guests in our rooms that were not staying at the hotel and had to "register" each guest who was staying by name not to exceed 4 per room. Our bags were searched after a security guard claimed she had heard the word "alcohol" spoken from a room where my 60 year old mother and aunts were staying. We had no alcohol. We noticed security guards eavesdropping outside of our doors several times. We spent approximately $2500 for over 2 days in room fees and at the hotel bar and were treated like criminals. Only the bartender at the tiki bar treated us with respect. We met the general manager at another restaurant who told us to ask for her card from the front desk, upon checking out we were told that there was no information available to us regarding mangement. I completely regret staying there and feel totally violated and cheated. The worst part is that there is no way to voice your complaints.

  • Liked — Location and view from rooms
  • Disliked — The harassment from security
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay anywhere but here
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Shrinkles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    48
    26
    14
    28
See reviews for
36
81
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Youngstown, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2006

If you go to Put-In-Bay, do yourself a favor and STAY SOMEWHERE ELSE!! We stayed for two nights over Labor Day weekend. The front desk clerk made us pay in full before she would even give us the room keys. The security guards were creepy and overbearing. They followed us around, stood outside of our doors listening to us, and demanded to search our bags because they claimed they heard one of us say the word "alcohol".

There was a strange odor in the hallways. The elevator was broken during the majority of our stay. Oh, I almost forgot...and there was a four-foot snake in the pool! I heard a staff member say to a guest, "They DO bite, but they aren't poisonous."

Even though the island was packed with visitors, the Bayshore was virtually empty. The few hotel guests that we met during our stay felt the same way we did.......completely disappointed.

On the bright side, the view was pretty and the bartender was nice.

  • Disliked — staff
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank ohioohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Put in Bay hotels

Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2006

We stayed at the Bayshore for one night in late June with our 3 young children. This was our 2nd time staying overnight at Put-in-Bay and this hotel was wonderful.

We arrived early (before lunch) and were not able to check in until 3pm. There was an open room right off the lobby where you could put your suitcases. I was a little nervous about leaving our stuff, so we took our valuables with us and left our clothes in the room. We were free to use the pool as soon as we got there. There were bathrooms available to change if we wanted.

There is a nice outside bar that serves a limited food menu. There's also a local eatery/deli that will deliver there for free. Our kids loved sitting at the bar and drinking "Shirley Temples"!

When we finally checked in, the rooms were great. We had requested an upper floor when we reserved and were put on the 3rd (top) floor. Very clean and large. Two queen sized beds, a large TV cabinet, a table and chair plus a balcony. We really liked that the balcony was completely screened in. We were able to leave the patio door open all night and listen to the lake without having to worry about bugs. The patio is a good size, with two chairs and overlooks the 2 pools and the lake.

The bathroom is huge with a large sink and counter and a glass-enclosed shower. Our kids were quite impressed with the shower.

The pool area is nice. Towels are available and there are plenty of chairs. There are 2 pools and a good-sized jacuzzi. All of these are set right on the lake with a nice view of Perry's Monument.

The clientele there was nice. Rooms are a little more expensive there, but it was worth it to not have to deal with loud partiers. It seemed to be more of a family-oriented hotel. All-in-all we were very pleased.

The only complaint I have was I wish they served a breakfast. Then it would be perfect. We'll definitely be back!

  • Liked — The quiet family atmosphere, nice pools, great views
  • Disliked — a little pricey
  • Stayed June 2006, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Michelle927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chagrin Falls, Ohio
Level Contributor
142 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2006

This resort is right on the lake, and all rooms are set up with a view of it. It is away from "the strip" but just a few minutes on foot will put you there. There are two pools and a large jacuzzi, and a tiki bar.

Our summer visit was on a Tuesday and Wednesday night, and I believe the resort was completely full. But the pools were not too crowded and the atmosphere was very relaxing.

I think we got the best price for a golf cart at the Bayshore, and of course it is most convenient to get it and return it where you are staying.

It is certainly pricey enough, but I think with young kids, it's a safe choice. Don't expect anythng fancy, just a clean room with a great view!

Put-in-Bay has enough things to do for about 2 days. We had a great time and the restaurants and shops are very nice. Many of the bars have bands every night, so that makes it very lively.

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank Tracey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N.W. Indiana
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2006

What a fantastic place! We were very pleased with the overall experience at Bayshore Resort! As we came off the ferry, we did need to get directions to the resort (We were not sure as to the exact location) but found it easily enough. Although I would say it's more of a 5 minute walk than a 2 minute walk, it was quite pleasant. Luckily we made it before the rain! The girls at the check-in were very pleasant and helpful. We did leave our luggage in the holding room until we were able to get our room and had no problems. I would suggest not having valuables in your luggage if this is of a concern to you. The Tiki Bar was wonderful and I must give Kudos to Andrea, the bartender! Even with the pouring rain, she definitely made our first couple of hours in Put In Bay a sheer joy! The rooms were fantastic! Clean, neat and a great view of the lake and pool! I would suggest showing the house-keeping crew a little "appreciation". Four girls go thru a lot of towels! As for security, if you are planning on "picking someone up" and taking them back to your place, Bayshore is NOT for you! I, personally, chose this resort specifically for this reason as it tends to get crazy at times and you never know who might follow you home. Security stands right at the front door and checks every person coming in. They also check for alcohol so if you buy it..don't bring it back to the resort. Other things to do..If you are interested in renting a golf cart, get there early for the 6-seaters. We had 6 people and ended up having to rent 2 4-seaters. Also, the jet - ski rentals are a bit higher than those in-town; however, they only let one jet-ski out at a time so you can't enjoy the day with a bunch of friends. All in all, it was a great place to stay and definitely worth the money! I will definitely stay there again!

  • Liked — The view!
  • Disliked — The walk from the ferry
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't wear fancy stillettos when going out because it's a LONG walk back to the hotel!
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hbeno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2006

Hotel was very clean, security good, excellent view. We requested 2 rooms close together and were accommodated for our family. Pools very clean, well maintained. Staff pleasant and attentive. Would definitely recommend to others and would stay there again. Great view. Only problem was a bad smell of the stagnant water on the one side of the hotel near a very small inlet from the lake. Hotel is on the south side of the island and water does not move as well as on the north side.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn, Indiana
Level Contributor
483 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2006

We found our room to be very clean and comfortable. The balcony was a great place to sit and relax. The bathrooms are very large and the glass shower was a nice change. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The cost of the room was a bit pricey. I was disappointed to find that our suites were one room. I assumed that the large suites would have at least one seperate bedroom, but instead you get a half wall that divides the beds. Our smaller suite was a single bed with a pull out sofa couch. I have now learned to always ask what exactly you are getting. I did enjoy having drinks while over looking the lake.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sigs99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Put in Bay
0.5 mi away
Bay Lodging Resort
Bay Lodging Resort
#2 of 7 in Put in Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.5 mi away
Harbour View Suites
Harbour View Suites
#4 of 7 in Put in Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
8.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
The Island House Hotel
The Island House Hotel
#2 of 17 in Port Clinton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
10.4 mi away
South Beach Resort Hotel
South Beach Resort Hotel
#2 of 3 in Marblehead
3.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.2 mi away
Put-in-Bay Resort Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BayShore Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BayShore Resort

Property: BayShore Resort
Address: 328 Toledo Ave, PO Box 597, Put in Bay, OH 43456-6836
Region: United States > Ohio > Put in Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Put in Bay
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The island's ONLY lakefront hotel, located only a few minutes walk to historic downtown. Spacious rooms that ALL have lakefront balconies. We have 2 heated pools, a 30 person whirlpool spa, lakefront tiki bar and an on-site restaurant that serves the best breakfast, lunch and dinners! Golf carts are also available to rent from our excellent staff! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bayshore Hotel Put In Bay
BayShore Resort Put In Bay, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing