We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Put in Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ashley's Island House
Ranked #5 of 17 Put in Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 June 2013

My wife and I were new to the island. We had never been to Put-In-Bay before and we had a very pleasant time there. I must say the atmosphere and hospitality of everyone associated with the B&B was fantastic. It's located very close to the main strip, so we never needed a car. We just walked everywhere we wanted to go. We loved the room we were in and there isn't much better than sitting on the porch watching the island people passing by. Highly recommend this to anyone going to the island. I know that my wife and I are planning on staying there during our next trip.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank william h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley H, General Manager at Ashley's Island House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Thank you for the great review, we would love to have you return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Ashley's Island house over the memorial weekend. Set just a block or so off the main drag in a shaded park like setting. Judy and Bob Bransome owners of the bed & breakfast are an astounding couple. Courteous and caring but recognize your privacy. Kelly has the coffee on bright and early with breakfast being served at 8:30ish to give you time to sleep in or take a morning/walk or run. Being a local she's a good source of knowledge of activities around the Island. I would be amiss if I didn't mention Joe who attends to the landscaping, maintenance, and anything else needing done. The Bransone's set out to make your stay memorable if it is a weekend getaway, extended vacation or a special event for your family reunion, wedding, or even a business meeting. Each room is tastefully decorated to compliment the home that was built in the early 1800's. It even has a carriage house apartment that sleeps six. I especially like that it has wifi, direct TV, and private bathrooms in each room. Oh and for the ladies you don't have to lug a hair dryer as they come furnished with the room. I would say our visit to Ashley's Island house was one of the best experiences we have had in our travels. Thank you Bob & Judy!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Djeanvb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley H, General Manager at Ashley's Island House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Thank you for the lovely review we are glad your stay was enjoyable and one to remember.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

I have lost count of how many times I have stayed with Bob and Judy at Ashley's Island House over the past 10 years. You just can't beat it. They are wonderful hosts and provide you with everything you will need to have a great time on the Island. The front porch is a perfect place to visit and just watch the world go by while in Put In Bay. It is located just a short walk to town or they can tell you where to pick up a golf cart nearby. I feel I can now call Bob and Judy great friends and if you stay there you will feel the same way. Marcia

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MHoffman51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley H, General Manager at Ashley's Island House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Thank you Marcia for the great review! We enjoy your visits every year and the friends you bring with you! Can't wait to visit with you again on the front porch!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

Very clean, like home! The owners Judy and Bob are so nice!! I hope they enjoy their time off, they deserve a rest!! it has to be a lot of hard work to keep a place that nice!!! it was convenient to everything, walking distance!! We loved the breakfast, everything from waffles to oatmeal!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BevRussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley H, General Manager at Ashley's Island House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Thank you for the great review! We strive to keep our breakfast unique from the other B&B's in the area with an assorted fresh selection daily.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

We have stayed at Ashley's many times over the years and have taken different groups of friends with us at various times. Everyone, and I mean everyone, has had nothing but praise for the experience. Judy, Bob and Kelly are so very welcoming and accommodating. The rooms are cozy, quaint, clean and comfortable. The location is convenient to downtown and the lake. Really just can't say enough about our experiences.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley H, General Manager at Ashley's Island House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Thank you for the great review! We love repeat customers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

What a wonderful first experience with a B&B. This grand 1860's Victorian is fabulous in amenities, antiques, comfort and staff. Judy and Kelly were wonderful to us on our first visit, and met our every request. The Inn is rich in history, well located on Catawba Road and close to the PIB action if you want. We were very comfortable here, and really appreciated the great island lore, and answers to our "many" questions about life here. Highly recommend this outstanding Inn, and will measure all future B&Bs to this one! Sitting on the front porch was the best!

Room Tip: Several of the 13 rooms have private baths, there is one 2 bedroom suite. Rooms 8, 9, 10 look except...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EML1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley H, General Manager at Ashley's Island House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

We are happy to read that you had a wonderful experience with our B&B.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

The Ashley Island House is a story book setting. Nice rooms and bathrooms. AC was good. Big wrap around inviting patio. The House is just on the edge of the downtown area, so it is quiet yet a block from all the action.
Food was good. The owners are very hospitable and flexible. Free use of bikes to tour the island.

We would not stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley H, General Manager at Ashley's Island House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Thank you for the lovely review! We are very proud of our B&B and hope you return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Put in Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
Ahoy Inn
Ahoy Inn
#1 of 17 in Put in Bay
302 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Anchor Inn Boutique Hotel
0.8 mi away
Bird's Nest Resort
Bird's Nest Resort
#9 of 17 in Put in Bay
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Put-in-Bay Resort Hotel and Conference Center
0.1 mi away
Commodore Resort
Commodore Resort
#3 of 7 in Put in Bay
190 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bay Lodging Resort
Bay Lodging Resort
#1 of 7 in Put in Bay
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashley's Island House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashley's Island House

Address: 557 Catawaba Avenue, PO Box 395, Put in Bay, OH 43456
Region: United States > Ohio > Put in Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Put in Bay
Price Range: £50 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ashley's Island House is within steps of the heart of Put-in-Bay, Ohio's fine shops, restaurants, entertainment, Catholic and Episcopal Churches and other historical buildings. Enjoy a leisurely walk around the island and explore its interesting history. Take a bike ride along the countryside and tour our local winery. Climb to the top of Commodore Perry's International Peace Memorial or visit his famous cave. Enjoy fishing; this is the Walleye capital of the world. Stroll along the lake, go swimming, boating, or rent a golf cart to travel around this fascinating island. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ashley's Island House Put In Bay, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing