We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Annual Weekend Trip”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Put in Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Harriet's House & Island Suites
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Denny and Linda were great. The place was very clean and the staff was very responsive to any request we had. It is a family owned operation with a close eye on the property, which we really didn't mind because they didn't bother us. However, they were also around to make sure their property wasn't destroyed. It is Put in Bay so they understand that most people go there to party like rock stars.

The location is perfect for those who want to walk to the bars, catch the ferry and hit the local market. I will definitely book here for our next stay....year 4.

The only bad thing I will say is the water pressure is a bit low and the water temperature doesn't get very hot. In reality, who cares. I would strongly recommend this place to anyone who wants to have a great place to stay! Clean, professional and accommodating.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steven T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (99)
There are newer reviews for Harriet's House & Island Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 99 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

Our second stay at the lodge ( the former admiral bodees) and it could not have been better. The rooms are spotless, the owners are awesome and the fact that you can rent a golf cart with your room make this the BEST place to stay on put in bay. Hope for a return trip before the summers over!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Hosts Denny and Linda are very thoughtful and attentive to the needs of all their guests. Their guest rooms/bungalows,cottages are always clean and well appointed - located behind the main drag with all the music and action but quiet enough to sleep if you want. Denny makes sure the property is safe and secure. Perfect for small or large groups. There is a picnic table and gas grill in the back and plenty of room to relax. I would highly recommend them!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

My party of six really enjoyed our stay at Admiral Bodes (next door to Harriet's House) over the holiday weekend. Denny and Linda set us up with a wonderful cook out on the private deck in the back yard along with all kinds of wonderful island hospitality. They truly made us all feel like long time family friends. We can't wait to get back and take advantage of the special relationship that they have with the Catawba Country Club for a lodging and golf package. They truly put their heart and soul into providing clean accommodations with an eye to making your island time memorable. We will be back!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I have been going to Put In Bay for the last 25 years - I have stayed at most of the hotels on the island and you wont get a nicer place to stay than this one! The owners Denny and Linda are awesome! They go out of their way to accommodate their guests. Its nice knowing that Denny keeps an eye on the property when you come in late. If someone is following you - its a great feeling to have him there. I have stayed there quite a few times - (in the townhouses, suites, and bungalows) - and they are always clean and nice and quiet for sleeping at night. Even though you are close to downtown - seems like when you get over there - the noise level stops and you can get a good nights rest. I wouldn't stay anywhere else on the island unless they are booked!
Denny and Linda have a very nice business. They will do anything for you and they are just overall class acts. Everyone that I have brought to stay at their place was amazed on the hospitality, cleanliness, and location of this place! No one has ever been disappointed and I would highly recommend anyone who wants to go to Put In Bay to stay here! Thanks for always taking care of us Denny and Linda!!!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Harriet's House is wonderful!

The owners, Denny and Linda, are some of the nicest people you will ever meet. We have been going to PIB for 21 years and have stayed pretty much everywhere you can. We would recommend Harriet's House for sure. We stay there as often as we can! It is very clean and quite comfortable. The suites and rooms are very well taken care of. The pride of ownership really shows!

And again, Denny and Linda are top notch! Anything they can help you with they will for sure!!!

See you guys soon!!!

Room Tip: Book early so you don't miss out!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

My husband and I stayed over the weekend in September for the 5k race. We had another couple with us and had plenty of room in our suite. If you want great guest services and a nice CLEAN, quiet at night, and close to EVERYTHING - this is the PLACE! What a pleasant surprise - this place is the cleanest place I have ever stayed. Denny was kind enough to get a card table for us to use in our room. (We had a down pour one night and it was nice to play cards in our room) There was coffee and a coffee maker in the room, also a microwave, a full size refrigerator for the beverages! and a hairdryer. I especially liked that there was a locked door to get into BEFORE you get into the entrance to go into your own room. I felt very safe.
We will always stay here when we are at Put n Bay!

Room Tip: This is an excellent location to everything
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beccalyn22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Put in Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
Bay Lodging Resort
Bay Lodging Resort
#1 of 7 in Put in Bay
242 reviews
0.1 mi away
Edgewater Hotel
Edgewater Hotel
#5 of 7 in Put in Bay
11 reviews
0.6 mi away
Harbour View Suites
Harbour View Suites
#7 of 7 in Put in Bay
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Put-in-Bay Resort Hotel and Conference Center
0.1 mi away
The Anchor Inn Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Commodore Resort
Commodore Resort
#4 of 7 in Put in Bay
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harriet's House & Island Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harriet's House & Island Suites

Address: 247 Erie St, Put in Bay, OH 43456-6642
Region: United States > Ohio > Put in Bay
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Put in Bay
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome! Harriet's House was built around 1878 by John and Edna Esselbach becoming one of the first residences on the Island. The house still stands today in remodeled form. In 2002, Denny and Linda Rectenwald purchased the property and named it Harriet's House after the owner Harriet Tanchon. Customers have been returning year after year with the Barlows being the only group that has never missed a summer with us in 13 years. Although the ladies from Michigan and Ohio are a close second, you know who you are! Due to continual expansion, we have become know as the "Village Within The Village". Our facilities can accommodate two guests in the lodge rooms or bungalows, six visitors in the island suites and up to ten vacationers in our town houses or original house. If you are planning a reunion, birthday party, bachelorette celebration or an anniversary observance, we can house a total of 90 guests within one block of downtown Put-In-Bay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Harriet`s House And Island Suites
Harriet`s House & Island Hotel Put In Bay
Harriet's House & Island Suites Put In Bay, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing