We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ruined our honeymoon”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Bay Lodging Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Lodging Resort
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Put in Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Ruined our honeymoon”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012 via mobile

Absolutely the worse hotel experience of my life. Room was the size of a closet. They did not clean our room the first 2 days. And when they finally did they left the door wide open for who knows how long. And to top it off the air conditioner leaked all over the floor and our luggage. Needless to say we left our honeymoon a day early cause we couldn't deal with it and our clothes were ruined. When checking out I expressed my causes for concern to the staff and they could care less. STAY AWAY

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank McKnight911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    50
    18
    18
    33
See reviews for
39
55
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Canton, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

I just returned today from a 2 night stay at Bay Lodging and felt I had to write a review. My friend and I were thrilled to spend a few nights here and our stay was wonderful. I was very skeptical after reading the negative reviews others have left, but I think your experience depends on what you're looking for. The front desk staff was great and very helpful. The pool and tiki bar area were very clean and we enjoyed catching some early morning rays. Our double queen room was great and clean. As others have said, the location is nice because it is not loud and rowdy like some other places downtown. The only negative thing we experienced was arriving after the golf cart rentals near the jet express had closed and so we had to walk all our luggage to the hotel, but obviously that is not the hotel's fault! Golf cart rental on site at the hotel was a definite plus! I will absolutely stay at Bay Lodging in the future! Thanks for the great service!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

My friends and I found our stay to be a very pleasant one at Bay Lodging :-) The young people working the front desk were very friendly and knowledgeable about the hotel and the island, especially, Kevin, TJ and Chris. We stayed in the three queen bed suite, it was very clean and stocked with the essentials. The pool was also clean and the Buckeye bar is a nice perk. The location of the hotel is great because it is close to downtown, but far enough away from the traffic and nightlife atmosphere. The only downside was the layout of the room, but that can't be changed AND we spend very little time in room while visiting PIB. In the past, we have stayed at the Commodore and Edgewater and this hotel was much more impressive that those!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happy_Traveler723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay L, Manager at Bay Lodging Resort, responded to this review, 20 July 2012
Thank you for the nice review and we are glad that you had an enjoyable experience. We pride ourselves on having the friendliest staff on the island and are glad that the "front desk boys" made a favorable impression. Our staff arrives early every day to make sure the exterior of the property is clean and the pool is sparkling for early morning sun-bathers and swimmers. The Buckeye Tiki Bar has been known to open as early as 8am for those in need of a Bloody Mary as well. On future visits, please feel free to call the hotel and we can arrange to have you quickly picked up at the ferry boat upon your arrival either by our own taxi/shuttle (weekends) or by another company (midweek). Thanks again and we hope to see you back with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

We felt that this was a clean hotel with a friendly staff. We felt the prices were reasonable. We liked the idea of the cart included in the price of the Hotel with a back to school special. Also it was located close to downtown area but far enough to elimiate the noise of the downtown area especially late at night. It also included a nice pool and tiki bar area. Very satisfied.

Room Tip: We had a nice room overlooking the pool area. Very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay L, Manager at Bay Lodging Resort, responded to this review, 20 July 2012
Thank you for the nice review and we are glad that you had an enjoyable experience. We pride ourselves on having the friendliest staff on the island and are glad that they made a favorable impression. While we encourage our guests to have fun and be active during the day, we also try to respect all of our guests and have a standard "quiet time" at night so people can sleep comfortably, plus being just past downtown there is not the loud bar/band noise either. The Back To School Special that you took advantage of is a great savings opportunity midweek (with the upgraded room and free golf cart overnight) to enjoy the island. Thanks again and we hope to see you back with us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Youngstown, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

What can I say?.. Asked a question about canceling a room and it got canceled, got charged for it even though we didn’t agree to the cancelation.
THEN
Was giving another room, wasn't allowed to put our stuff in the room till after 11am. Put our stuff and went out on the town. Came back at 10pm.
And to our surprise the key didn’t work, went to the front desk. Manager had said they had maintenance problems. They gave us a new key and well ..
When we opened the door our stuff was on the floor and someone else's stuff was in the room. The beds had the sheets thrown on the floor and stuff everywhere.

NOT cool. Luckily our stuff was ok.

Then the manager was supposed to refund our room and didn’t.
We still got charged...

It’s on going as of June 29, 2012.

STAY AWAY!!!

Room Tip: Stay away from here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

the hotel was clean and stocked with towels and toiletries. It was also pretty quiet and off the beaten path but close enough to it to be quiet. The complementary golf cart was the best! The hotel staff was excellent, especially Alex who was helpful from the start of our trip. In fact Alex was even polite to a very rude and wrong woman who was intent on complaining loudly. The pool was clean and the continental breakfast was a plus as well as the all day coffee and tea offering in the lobby. Great touch. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: used the jet away get away
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wizrn99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Bay Lodging Resort, responded to this review, 5 July 2012
Thank you for the nice review and we are glad that you had an enjoyable experience. We pride ourselves on having the friendliest staff on the island and are glad that Alex made an impression. Sometimes guests do get loud and rude but we take that in stride and try to resolve the situation nicely. Coffee and tea are available in the lobby 24/7 for our guests and the continental breakfast served Sunday through Friday is complimentary with your room. The Jetaway Getaway Special that you took advantage of is a great savings opportunity midweek (with the upgraded room and free golf cart overnight) to enjoy the island. Thanks again and we hope to see you back with us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

If you relatively young and coming to have a good time, drink, go to bars, and just all together party then this is not the place for you. Having music playing will get you threatened to be kicked out even if its 5 pm. Do not have a few drinks at their bar, they will cut you off. Really do not even go to the hotel bar/pool because dead does not even describe it. The downtown is a few block walk which is not too bad but not the best. The same can be said about the quality of the actual rooms.

If you are just looking to relax and enjoy a calm weekend then this is a good place for you. If you are looking to have fun and are looking to do all of the things you hear about at Put-In-Bay spend the extra few dollars and stay somewhere else. I came for a bachelor party and this place just about ruined it.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Mike N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Bay Lodging Resort, responded to this review, 5 July 2012
Thank you for the review and we are sorry we did not meet 100% of your expectations. This person, and his bachelor group, were intoxicated when they arrived at the Bay Lodging Resort. They were also intoxicated the next morning by 10am. Ohio law does not allow the serving of alcohol to obviously intoxicated persons, and our bartenders look out for all patrons. There were numerous noise and other complaints from other guests which required Security to intervene multiple times with this group. While we encourage our guests to have fun, as this is Put-in-Bay after all, we also have to make sure that one group of guests do not interfere with the fun of others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Put in Bay
0.8 mi away
Harbour View Suites
Harbour View Suites
#4 of 7 in Put in Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
8.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton
11.3 mi away
The Island House Hotel
The Island House Hotel
#3 of 17 in Port Clinton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
South Beach Resort Hotel
South Beach Resort Hotel
#1 of 3 in Marblehead
3.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
0.3 mi away
Put-in-Bay Resort Hotel and Conference Center
1.0 mi away
Island Club
Island Club
#1 of 4 in Put in Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Lodging Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Lodging Resort

Property: Bay Lodging Resort
Address: 405 Lakeview Ave, Put in Bay, OH 43456-5607
Region: United States > Ohio > Put in Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Put in Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bay Lodging Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bay Lodging Resort is located only 3 blocks from downtown Put in Bay on a quiet, tree-lined lane. We rent golf carts at the front desk to help you get around Put-in-Bay on wheels!Our gracious staff is on-site 24 hours a day during the season to help make sure that your visit to Put-in-Bay is the best it can possibly be! We look forward to seeing you soon!We now have 42 hotel units, 6 two bedroom units, and 2 split-level suites. Each 2 bedroom guest suite is spacious, air conditioned and consists of 2 bedrooms, bath, living room, and fully equipped kitchen. Each split-level suite sleeps up to 10 people and is ideal for large families, bachelorette parties, or corporate groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Bay Lodging Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Lodging House Hotel Put In Bay
Bay Lodging Hotel
Bay Lodging Resort Put In Bay, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing