We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a weekend, not for seasonal.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ravenna
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Country Acres Campground
Cleveland, Ohio, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great for a weekend, not for seasonal.”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We stayed at Country Acres for one season. Although our kids really enjoyed all the activities and attractions we were not invited to renew our stay. Although we obviously have some mixed feelings about the campground I want to be fair about this review. If you have kids, especially little ones, the owners really do a great job organizing things for them to do. Our daughter had a great time during the karaoke, talent shows, and other contests. The campground is very well taken care of, and the owners seem to be always looking how to make it better. If you are looking for a weekend stay, then I would highly recommend Country Acres.

Now if you are looking for a seasonal campground, then this may not the place for you. From day one you will be bombarded with an excessive amount of rule and regulations. There is a need to ensure the safety and welfare of of all the campers at the campground, but the owners take it way to far. Likewise, the owners encourage seasonal campers to "snitch on each other" when rules are broken. No matter how bad the violation. We were told there was a three strikes policy at Country Acres, but unfortunately we were not told about any infractions we might have incurred that might stop us from staying next season. There were a number of very long time seasonal campers who were asked to leave this year because of the accusations of other seasonal campers. So if you stay at Country Acres, be sure to watch what you say, who you say it too, and what you do.
Finally if you expect fair and open communication from either of the owners, you will be in for a long silence. We approached the owners three weeks before this post to inquire about moving to a different site. Instead of telling us then they were not renewing our site, they smiled and said nothing. So we will miss all the activities our kids enjoyed, as camping for us is about our kids. Hopefully though we will find a campground who appreciates that money is hard to find and owners who can appreciate that fact. Jeff and Anthony do not appreciate that fact, and when next season starts their many vacancies will hopefully show them.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pete F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    2
    4
    5
    7
See reviews for
21
5
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

This was our first time staying a Country acres and we loved it ! Quiet, well maintained, lots to do and the camp store well stocked. "the old couple" as one reviewer called them were the nicest people we have met. Anthony and Jeff do a great job keeping up the camp grounds and have great activities and facilities. Would not hesitate to return there anytime.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Rick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, OH
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

I'm not one that expects to have great service all the time, but to be treated humanely with mutual respect, that's just the minimum. The older couple that ran the camp store (maybe the owners) have the worst customer service of any campground I've ever visited. It's too bad that they seemed so bitter and angry about our request to have power turned back on at our site. We were at site 16& 17 and were with 4 other families who rented cabins. Many of us during a very hot July had no power to our site for a few hours. We were told by the older couple at the camp store that if all of us campers weren't using our AC units, it wouldn't have pulled all the power in the campground. This happened to be the same weekend ESPN was broadcasting from the site next to ours. She didn't mention the power they were pulling for their broadcasting equipment. She was so bitter toward us and seemed so angry. She went on to tell us that we'll just have to wait and see when it comes back on. It wasn't until we mentioned that the power was out in the campground bathroom that she finally said that "Anthony" will have to check the breakers. Anthony is the best thing this campground has. He got right on it and flipped a switch and all the power was back on. That's all she had to do in the 1st place instead of being so mean and angry. Anthony was so kind and helpful even during the time we called ahead to make reservations. Beside from the angry camp store people, the lake had a beautiful swan named Henry, was stocked with good bass, a small fishing pier, a small pool, a jumping pillow our kids loved except for how hot it was on their feet even with socks. I've been to a lot of campgrounds every year and I can say I don't think I'll be going back to this one ever again. Our site (#16 and 17) flooded after a heavy rain. had a lot of gravel and lots of tree roots that were tripping hazards for all the little kids in our group. The majority of sites here are seasonal campers. It seems they put more time and effort into those sites rather than the transient campers like us. If you go there, site #16 and 17 were good just over the water and close to the gazebo which lights up at night and was great for the kids to play on after dark but other than that, I definitely won't stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Tbeebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akron, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

We have been camping here on and off for the last 5 years, regularly the last two. We have gotten to know some of the seasonal campers and the owners, there are some great people at this campground! They have great activities for the kids and adults alike. They do crafts and bingo with the kids. There is a jumping pillow, which my boys love. On holiday weekends they have bands, other weekends they will have karaoke or a DJ on Saturday nights. They also do Christmas in July, a "New Year's" party the following weekend and a Halloween weekend in September. Our kids loved all of these! The pool area is nice, plenty of chairs and a separate kiddie pool for the little ones. The bathrooms and showers are what you would expect at a campground, they are clean with air conditioning. I do have one complaint about the bathrooms, if you don't have one to use in your camper at night, they only leave one unlocked after 11pm and it is located all the way in the front of the park. My other complaint would be some of the campsites are a little close together. If you go with a group it's perfect, but with strangers it's sometimes a little awkward. Most of our "neighbors" have been nice people though and some we ended up hanging out with around the fire. Other than that, we love it here. We plan on getting a nice trailer and becoming seasonal campers next year!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TheChandlerGang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wanaque, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Just got back from a week stay here, couldn't ask for a better place.Staff and owners very friendly and happy to help. we liked it so much that after 7 days we added one more. A lot of thought went into many areas of this campground, and it shows.

Room Tip: Boat House was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vfw6765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

This is the 3rd time we've stayed at this campground. There is a reason for that, we LOVE it. The campgrounds are CLEAN, FUN, and RELAXING. The bathrooms are cool and clean, the grounds are clean and up to date. There are plenty of things to do, young and old. There is a dog park for the dogs, which is clean, plenty of activities for the children, the pool is clean.
The owners are very friendly, courteous, and helpful. Also the staff was very helpful and accommodating.
The public needs to know that this is a nice campground. But they also should understand that you are there for the camping experience, not the television camping experience. There may be rain, floods, extreme heat, cold and damp weather or high winds. This is not the fault of the owners or staff, nor can they control these situations. All they can do is try their best to make your stay as enjoyable as possible.
So, for all of the extreme complainers out there, stay home and enjoy your camping experience in front of your television. To everyone else, try Country Acres Campground, I'm sure your visit will be as enjoyable as ours was.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sswoger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY!!! Our family will not be going back to this campground. My husband and I were so disappointed...first our site we asked for full hookups and they picked this "great" site for us...next to the sewage plant!!!! So here we are hot humid and oh POOP smell!!!!! couldn't even cook outside if you could keep your appetite. Or open windows at night...the power went out a total of six times just on our box alone. So the day we are leaving..today..i got my shower and planned to make breakfast and some coffee. They decide today they will work on that box so they cut the power without telling us and water!!!!! My husband was livid because we still needed to flush out our sewer hose and we have a 6month old who was getting uncomfy with the hot humidity in our camper I moved fast getting our kids dressed and ready to leave. He went to the office to be told "it is what it is"....really?!?!?! Oh and offered a free day stay for next time we come back. Ya no thanks we won't be back!!!! Needless to say nothing was open when it was to be if you wanted to get into the other activity buildings you needed a key cause the doors were always locked. And the snack bar never had anyone working there even tho it said opened. So we were very disappointed and their website is deceiving!!! Be warned this isn't worth it they were not willing to make you comfortable it was a "deal with it" type attitude. We could not wait to come home!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Court24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Country Acres Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Acres Campground

Property: Country Acres Campground
Address: 9850 Minyoung Rd, Ravenna, OH 44266-8564
Region: United States > Ohio > Ravenna
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Ravenna
Number of rooms: 50

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing