We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of fun activities”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ravenna
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Country Acres Campground
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Campgrounds has lots of planned activities. Playgrounds need updating...new swings and gravel.
Owners Anthony and Jeff where very pleasant. The photos are dated, outside buildings need some work. Had a good time and would go back!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Info16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2013

We stayed at Country Acres for one season. Although our kids really enjoyed all the activities and attractions we were not invited to renew our stay. Although we obviously have some mixed feelings about the campground I want to be fair about this review. If you have kids, especially little ones, the owners really do a great job organizing things for them to do. Our daughter had a great time during the karaoke, talent shows, and other contests. The campground is very well taken care of, and the owners seem to be always looking how to make it better. If you are looking for a weekend stay, then I would highly recommend Country Acres.

Now if you are looking for a seasonal campground, then this may not the place for you. From day one you will be bombarded with an excessive amount of rule and regulations. There is a need to ensure the safety and welfare of of all the campers at the campground, but the owners take it way to far. Likewise, the owners encourage seasonal campers to "snitch on each other" when rules are broken. No matter how bad the violation. We were told there was a three strikes policy at Country Acres, but unfortunately we were not told about any infractions we might have incurred that might stop us from staying next season. There were a number of very long time seasonal campers who were asked to leave this year because of the accusations of other seasonal campers. So if you stay at Country Acres, be sure to watch what you say, who you say it too, and what you do.
Finally if you expect fair and open communication from either of the owners, you will be in for a long silence. We approached the owners three weeks before this post to inquire about moving to a different site. Instead of telling us then they were not renewing our site, they smiled and said nothing. So we will miss all the activities our kids enjoyed, as camping for us is about our kids. Hopefully though we will find a campground who appreciates that money is hard to find and owners who can appreciate that fact. Jeff and Anthony do not appreciate that fact, and when next season starts their many vacancies will hopefully show them.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Pete F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

This was our first time staying a Country acres and we loved it ! Quiet, well maintained, lots to do and the camp store well stocked. "the old couple" as one reviewer called them were the nicest people we have met. Anthony and Jeff do a great job keeping up the camp grounds and have great activities and facilities. Would not hesitate to return there anytime.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Rick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

I'm not one that expects to have great service all the time, but to be treated humanely with mutual respect, that's just the minimum. The older couple that ran the camp store (maybe the owners) have the worst customer service of any campground I've ever visited. It's too bad that they seemed so bitter and angry about our request to have power turned back on at our site. We were at site 16& 17 and were with 4 other families who rented cabins. Many of us during a very hot July had no power to our site for a few hours. We were told by the older couple at the camp store that if all of us campers weren't using our AC units, it wouldn't have pulled all the power in the campground. This happened to be the same weekend ESPN was broadcasting from the site next to ours. She didn't mention the power they were pulling for their broadcasting equipment. She was so bitter toward us and seemed so angry. She went on to tell us that we'll just have to wait and see when it comes back on. It wasn't until we mentioned that the power was out in the campground bathroom that she finally said that "Anthony" will have to check the breakers. Anthony is the best thing this campground has. He got right on it and flipped a switch and all the power was back on. That's all she had to do in the 1st place instead of being so mean and angry. Anthony was so kind and helpful even during the time we called ahead to make reservations. Beside from the angry camp store people, the lake had a beautiful swan named Henry, was stocked with good bass, a small fishing pier, a small pool, a jumping pillow our kids loved except for how hot it was on their feet even with socks. I've been to a lot of campgrounds every year and I can say I don't think I'll be going back to this one ever again. Our site (#16 and 17) flooded after a heavy rain. had a lot of gravel and lots of tree roots that were tripping hazards for all the little kids in our group. The majority of sites here are seasonal campers. It seems they put more time and effort into those sites rather than the transient campers like us. If you go there, site #16 and 17 were good just over the water and close to the gazebo which lights up at night and was great for the kids to play on after dark but other than that, I definitely won't stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Tbeebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

We have been camping here on and off for the last 5 years, regularly the last two. We have gotten to know some of the seasonal campers and the owners, there are some great people at this campground! They have great activities for the kids and adults alike. They do crafts and bingo with the kids. There is a jumping pillow, which my boys love. On holiday weekends they have bands, other weekends they will have karaoke or a DJ on Saturday nights. They also do Christmas in July, a "New Year's" party the following weekend and a Halloween weekend in September. Our kids loved all of these! The pool area is nice, plenty of chairs and a separate kiddie pool for the little ones. The bathrooms and showers are what you would expect at a campground, they are clean with air conditioning. I do have one complaint about the bathrooms, if you don't have one to use in your camper at night, they only leave one unlocked after 11pm and it is located all the way in the front of the park. My other complaint would be some of the campsites are a little close together. If you go with a group it's perfect, but with strangers it's sometimes a little awkward. Most of our "neighbors" have been nice people though and some we ended up hanging out with around the fire. Other than that, we love it here. We plan on getting a nice trailer and becoming seasonal campers next year!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank TheChandlerGang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Just got back from a week stay here, couldn't ask for a better place.Staff and owners very friendly and happy to help. we liked it so much that after 7 days we added one more. A lot of thought went into many areas of this campground, and it shows.

Room Tip: Boat House was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank vfw6765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

This is the 3rd time we've stayed at this campground. There is a reason for that, we LOVE it. The campgrounds are CLEAN, FUN, and RELAXING. The bathrooms are cool and clean, the grounds are clean and up to date. There are plenty of things to do, young and old. There is a dog park for the dogs, which is clean, plenty of activities for the children, the pool is clean.
The owners are very friendly, courteous, and helpful. Also the staff was very helpful and accommodating.
The public needs to know that this is a nice campground. But they also should understand that you are there for the camping experience, not the television camping experience. There may be rain, floods, extreme heat, cold and damp weather or high winds. This is not the fault of the owners or staff, nor can they control these situations. All they can do is try their best to make your stay as enjoyable as possible.
So, for all of the extreme complainers out there, stay home and enjoy your camping experience in front of your television. To everyone else, try Country Acres Campground, I'm sure your visit will be as enjoyable as ours was.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Sswoger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Country Acres Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Acres Campground

Address: 9850 Minyoung Rd, Ravenna, OH 44266-8564
Region: United States > Ohio > Ravenna
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Ravenna
Number of rooms: 50

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing