We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a Few Nights”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland-Richfield
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Richfield
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Stayed one night here while traveling. Surrounding area was decent. Felt fairly safe. Near major interstates and highways so it was easy to access, but far enough from them that you don't hear the constant traffic.

The front-desk clerk was very helpful and kind when we arrived. Our room was clean. The bathroom was a bit smaller than I had hoped, but not counting that against the hotel. Had a coffee maker, hair dryer, microwave, and mini-fridge in the room. All were clean.

Breakfast was nice. They had red peppers in the egg for added flavor, which was a nice change. Also had biscuits and gravy, pancake/waffle maker, cereal, bagels, fruit. Your basic complimentary breakfast items.

Only issues we had were that they were out of orange juice by 8am (breakfast 6am-10am) and there is no ice machine on the 2nd floor. All other floors have one.

Simple things we could look past. Overall, I recommend if you want somewhere decent to stay. If you're looking for luxury, this is not it. It would be fine for families.

Room Tip: Second floor has no ice machine. 1st, 3rd, and 4th do - if that is important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIExpressRichfield, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Cleveland-Richfield, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Thank you for the postive review. I'm glad that you liked many aspects of the property. We do have an elevator for those on the second floor needing ice from one of the other three floors. We have a different variety of vending machine on second floor instead. I'm also happy to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast. Thank you for recommending us.
Janet Wise
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (189)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 189 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014

We were driving at night from a family trip and needed a room. We got off the highway and this hotel was right there. The staff was so nice and we got a free upgrade to a suite. The room was comfortable, beautiful and clean. Even the complimentary soaps were bath and body works. Breakfast was delicious as well.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heth25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIExpressRichfield, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Cleveland-Richfield, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you for the five star review! I'm glad to hear that you found the property clean and our staff friendly. I'm glad that you enjoyed our Bath & Body Works bathroom amenities!
Janet Wise
Director of Sales
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Cleveland-Richfield
5171 Brecksville Road
Richfield, OH 44286

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We found the location of the holiday inn express conveniently located near the interstate. The room was clean and looked modern. The wifi connection was spotty. The breakfast room and food were pleasant and enjoyable. For just a quick overnight stay, I would reccommend staying here.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank j1runs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIExpressRichfield, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Cleveland-Richfield, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Thank you for the positive review. I'm glad that you found us conveniently located by the highway, clean and modern with a good breakfast. I apologize if the Internet connection was spotty. I'm glad that you would recommend us.
Janet Wise
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We drove from Niagara falls Ontario to hit Dayton Oh. We found this hotel thanks to Ohio visitor center coupons booklet. The price was good, the hotel is clean and looks like brand new. The pool was great for our kids. Desk people were friendly. The room was neat and the breakfast plesasd us. The restaurants are not too far from the hotel, had station with Wendy's just besides the hotel. We would use it again with no problem.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pascal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIExpressRichfield, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Cleveland-Richfield, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you for such a nice review. I'm glad that you thought that the hotel was clean and our staff friendly. I'm also glad that you liked our breakfast and also that we are right next door to Wendy's.
Janet Wise
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

I almost always go with a Holiday Inn Express and so I did this time too. What a mistake. We decided to head for Cleveland and so I started narrowing down the hotels and ended up choosing this over another one just a few miles away.
Flash forward, we pull in after a 6 plus hour journey to see an abandoned building on the same property as the hotel. What the heck? Then to see that it shares the same space with a Motel 6. Well, if I wanted to stay at a Motel 6 I would have. I'm sure this works well for the owners which I'm guessing own both plus the welcome tenement, however it was a turn off for us. The property was in good shape more over however this was one of those places where I'm guessing they try and save money by barely air conditioning the halls which then felt a bit sticky. Bleck! The air conditioner in the room also didn't really work that well. No matter what temperature you set it at it ran cold for a few minutes and then shut off. There is a note attached to it about how to make it run constantly which I did get it to do but then it didn't really blow cold and so sleeping was not that comfortable. I guess were were lucky that it was seasonably cool. The pool and hot tub are in desperate need of a good painting. It just looked bad. We couldn't get the hot tub to work the first night and the second night someone else had it going, but it was crazy hot. The sauna is always off and so it takes 20 minutes just to get it going which I didn't have any luck with. A Holiday Inn Express always puts out cookies at night and this place did too the first night, but not the second. Not to mention that I think that all of the cookies that first night were eaten by the groups coming to use the meeting rooms. Even more amazing was that the typical coffee and tea out at night at any other property was empty here. Come on this stuff is easy to replace. I also made a call down to the front desk but had to call three times before I got anybody and this was in the early evening and just to get the updated wifi password. And one last note, the wifi wasn't that great as I couldn't even get the baseball game I wanted to watch to stream fluidly on my computer. I would return to Cleveland, but I would not stay here. This place is by no means a house of horror and the price was good, but it was not up to Holiday Inn Express standards.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TOOM1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIExpressRichfield, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Cleveland-Richfield, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

I apologize that you didn't have a better stay with us. We are working on the Internet issue and have increased our upload and download speeds to way above the required standard, but it still can get slowed down especially when we are sold out. The pool will be repainted this fall. It is very hard to close it down for 2-3 weeks in the summer. I am sorry that you weren't happier with your stay.
Thank you,
Janet Wise
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Room was clean. Breakfast is sub-par when comparing to Hampton Inns. Fitness center is in terrible condition. Equipment in poor shape and even felt unsafe to use. Some staff is friendly (i.e., Katie) while others barely speak. Surrounding property is literally falling down in decay.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
3  Thank Russ S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIExpressRichfield, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Cleveland-Richfield, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

I apologize that you found us only mediocre. I'm glad that your room was clean and that you found Katie friendly. Our breakfast includes all of the required items by Holiday Inn as well as gluten free choices. I'm sorry that you didn't care for it. The old building nearby is supposed to be demolished at some point. I will follow up on the Fitness Center with management.
Thank you,
Janet Wise
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Stopped overnight on our way home from Chicago. We all loved it. Big comfy beds. It couldn't have been any cleaner, service was great and breakfast in the am was better than any I've ever had for these types of breakfasts. They even offered gluten free bread and English muffins. Impressive. If my travels take me back this way, I wouldn't hesitate to stay here!

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Maria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIExpressRichfield, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Cleveland-Richfield, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you for the excellent review! I'm so glad to hear that you found us very clean that you enjoyed our gluten free items at breakfast. I'm also glad that you enjoyed our service and our big, comfortable beds.
Thank you,
Janet Wise
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richfield
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Richfield
Hampton Inn Richfield
#1 of 6 in Richfield
403 reviews
0.8 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Richfield
5.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Cleveland Macedonia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Oakwood Village-Cleveland
Hampton Inn & Suites Oakwood Vil...
#1 of 2 in Oakwood Village
14 reviews
0 mi away
Motel 6 Richfield
Motel 6 Richfield
#4 of 6 in Richfield
47 reviews
9.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland/Twinsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cleveland-Richfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cleveland-Richfield

Address: 5171 Brecksville Rd, Richfield, OH 44286-9461
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Richfield
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Richfield
Price Range: £65 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Cleveland-Richfield 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cleveland-Richfield. Located near Interstates 80 & 77, between Cleveland and Akron, our Richfield hotel is an excellent destination for both business and leisure travelers. Our Richfield hotel is near several businesses such as Charles Schwaab, Aetna, Cisco Systems, BF Goodrich, AT&T, FedEx, Ford Training Center & FBI Training Center. Though our hotel is convenient for travelers attending area business meetings, it is also great for those hosting on-site meetings, as we have space for up to 50. Families will enjoy exploring the Cleveland and Akron areas. Attractions near our hotel in Richfield include Cuyahoga Valley National Park & Brandywine/Boston Mills Ski Resorts. The Cleveland Museum of Natural History, the Great Lakes Science Center, the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, the Pro Football Hall of Fame, Blossom Music Center, Playhouse Square, Firestone Country Club, Cedar Point, Geauga Lake Wildwater Kingdom, Aurora Farms Outlets and Cleveland & Akron zoos are also nearby. Our Richfield accommodations are near world-famous hospitals like Cleveland Clinic and University Hospitals, as well as local universities such as Case Western, Cleveland State and Akron U. During your stay in Richfield, enjoy our indoor heated pool and whirlpool area, fitness center, free high-speed Internet access and free hot breakfast bar. Check out our great Richfield hotel deals and book your stay today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cleveland-Richfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland-Richfield Hotel Richfield
Holiday Inn Richfield
Holiday Inn Express Richfield
Richfield Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland-Richfield Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing