We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Place to Get Away”

America Heartland Cabins
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rockbridge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
America Heartland Cabins
Reviewed 3 November 2013

A friend was having her wedding reception at some of the other, larger cabins in the area, but we wanted to have some quiet time alone as well and are glad we found this place! An easy drive to any of the scenic spots in Hocking Hills, we were in the Great Frontier cabin nestled into the treeline. The cabin was very neat and the kitchen well-equipped, and we both enjoyed the jacuzzi and large, comfy bed. Even though the weather was starting to turn and the main heater wasn't turned on yet, the fireplace and heater in the bedroom kept us plenty warm.

In addition to others' comments about just how disconnected you'll be, you may also want to bring your own drinking and cooking water, especially if you're not used to the well water in this area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bryan I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (15)
There are newer reviews for America Heartland Cabins
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 15 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2013

Beautifully set up, very private, and the manager of the property was very accommodating. Already planning our next trip! I would only reccomend that you preprint maps to where you plan on going if you aren't familiar with the area, as any sort of cell signal is hard to aquire, but obviously we were going for seclusion... we got it!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kiersten C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AHCabins, Owner at America Heartland Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2013

We really appreciate the feedback. We want everyone to have a peaceful relaxing stay. We try to keep maps of the area in the cabin. Although they set behind the brochures. I will be purchasing a second rack so you can easily see the maps. Also you may call me and ask for information of places you might enjoy seeing and experiencing. If I don't have the answer I probably will know who does. Come back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Stayed in Hocking Hill many times. Always found the cabins and the locals to be inviting and kind. Until I stayed here. The cabin was not as described. Dirty. Mouse infested with rude and vulgar individuals renting the cabin. After checking in to the cabin and discovering there was no water or electric. I tried contacting the owner repeatedly with no answer. After leaving several messages. My call was finally returned the next day. Was told that i could dip water out of the hot tub to flush toilets. That they had no idea why there was no water or electric and that they had their own issues and could care less if I did not like the cabin. After demanding that they provide basic services. I was called various names of profanity. Very rude and unprofessional service. Look elsewhere for a cabin. There are plenty in the area that would appreciate your business. This company does not.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Charles724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AHCabins, Owner at America Heartland Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2012

This was the weekend that many states were without power after a major wind storm came through. All cabins in Hocking County were without power. Trees were down everywhere making any travel unsafe. All the guests were kind and patient under the curcumstances except the Red Pine guest. He was so upset that they were out of water. I could not convince him we did not take his water away. He thought it was city water. But it was a well. The pressure tank finally emptied. Electric was needed to pump the water out of the well back into the pressure tank. He did not at any time state the cabin was filthy or infested. He immediately reported us to his credit card company before we could discuss compensation The credit card company chose in favor of our company. I am very sorry that this guest was so unhappy with us. All I can say is we really do try to be kind and considerate with all of our guests. We also work very hard to provide a clean place to stay. Having our modern conveniences (electric) taken away can be very challenging.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

We stayed at the Red Pine cabin and it was great! The cabin looks just okay from outside but when you walk in we could only say....WOW!! The pictures on the website just do not pay this cabin justice It is an all wood decor that was nicely decorated. The back porch has a nice view of the woods (great for early morning coffee) Actually our last day I saw a nice size doe running through the yard. My kids felt instantly at home, actually my youngest did not want to leave. He asked if we could move in. The owners seemed very nice and easy to deal with. The cabin has a loft room with three beds a master bedroom with one bed and a sleeper sofa in the living room. 2 12 baths and a full size kitchen with almost anything you might need. The cabin even had a washer and dryer and a six person hot tub. We really enjoyed the stay and will definately return in the future!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank FamilyTrips98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AHCabins, Manager at America Heartland Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2012

Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We love it when we are able to provide a place that is enjoyed. Be sure to check out the Red PIne in the future. It has a new stain on the outside and a new roof on the back deck. We are looking at more improvements to come..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2011

We stayed in the Great Frontier cabin for two nights the week before Christmas. It was a wonderful little cabin, perfect for two, with both a sauna and a hot tub and spotlessly clean. The cabin was very private with a gas fireplace in both the living area and the bedroom. The bed was huge and very comfortable. The walk in shower was large enough for two ;) and plenty of towels. The kitchen was well equipped with the basics. I made breakfast both mornings and dinner one night. There isn't much storage space for clothing but you don't need much for just a night or two. There is also a fire pit which we didn't get to use nor did we use the porch as it was too cold. However, the porch offered a lovely view of a little clearing and had a gas grill. Overall, we found nothing to complain about in any category and would love to return!

Room Tip: I haven't stayed in any of the other cabins but if you are looking for a romantic getaway for tw...
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tess G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AHCabins, Owner at America Heartland Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2012

Thank you so much for being our guests. This cabin is dear to our hearts. So we love it when it is a joy for others.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2011

We have stayed in the Patriot Cottage with American Heartland Cottages twice now. It's more like a small 2-bedroom house and we have found it to be very quiet, nice and clean, privately located off the road with landscaping to hide it from the other two cottages some distance away on the property. Emailing with Jane to make our reservations or ask other questions, has always been prompt and friendly. As they request, we did call on the day of our arrival to let them know when we would be there and they left the door unlocked for us with the key on the counter. No one showed up to meet us, which was fine, so we certainly did not have the unpleasant encounter described in another review. There were 4 adults plus a baby and we had everything we wanted and needed with a big kitchen, eating area, nicely decorated living room, bathroom, and two bedrooms plus the hottub and charcoal grill outside. The location is just the right distance from the six "attractions" - maybe a 10-15 min drive through lovely, backwoods country but not so close that the traffic and population would be a problem. If we had two suggestions, it would be to turn up the water heater a few degrees for both the hot tub and the shower AND to relocate the fire ring so you don't sit on a hillside, feeling like you're falling over, when at your campfire. But those are minor and the fact that we chose to return to this cottage over all the hundreds of other choices, shows our satisfaction with the Patriot Cottage and the company that runs it.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cruiser44Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

Was very excited to stay at the Gold Rush Cabin based on what the website said but the actual cabin was nothing to write home about. When we arrived we were blown away by the fact that the cabin was literally ten feet from the road...all the other cabins we have stayed at in the the Hocking Hills area were much, much more secluded with no neighbors. On the website it said that there is a waterfall on the property and the "waterfall" is nothing more then a little stream through the backyard that drops down about a foot. The beds in the cabin were horrible, especially the one downstairs (literally sunk in the middle and the mattress had plastic on it so it made a horrible crunching noise all night everytime one of us moved...our air mattress that we use to camp with is much more comfortable then this mattress). My husband and I slept downstairs and all night there were mice (or some rodent) scurrying above the ceiling...gross! The couches were really hard...just like sitting on a plank of wood....not relaxing. After a long day of hiking we were excited to get the hot tub only to have the hot tub misteriously shut off after ten minutes of use...never could turn it back on...I think the hot tub broke.

My husband and I have been to many cabins over the years and this is definitely the worst cabin we have stayed in. For the money I would go elsewhere!!

Room Tip: American Heartland owns several cabins and we have only stayed at the Gold Rush Cabin so I'm may...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 343Hubs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AHCabins, Manager at America Heartland Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2012

I am very sorry this cabin was so disappointing for our guests. This cabin is no longer a part of our company.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to America Heartland Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about America Heartland Cabins

Address: 16360 Kreashbaum Road, Rockbridge, OH 43149-9684
Region: United States > Ohio > Rockbridge
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Rockbridge
Price Range: £92 - £259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose your very own log cabin or country cottage that is fully equipped including hot tub and fireplace. We are located in Southeastern, OH just 1 hour and 15 minutes from Columbus. Just 7 miles from the Canopy Tours Zipline. We are within minutes of several hiking parks with amazing cliffs and waterfalls. Canoeing, horseback riding, ATV trails, & fishing are also here. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing