We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise Lost”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rockbridge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Glenlaurel, A Scottish Inn & Cottages
Ranked #1 of 1 Rockbridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We just returned from our fifty-second night at Glenlaurel. Unfortunately, we once again became aware of how the romantic paradise created by the original owner and landlord is now long past and replace by a business. While much of the original beauty remains, the heart and soul is gone. The Happy Hour was sad, the personal touch of an authentic Innkeeper was missing, and the atmosphere of the dinning room was on par with Denny's. If the new owners hope to regain the paradise that was lost they will need to do more than operate a business, promote the "dream" via PR, and place at the head someone with the artistic vision and skill of the original owner, Michael Daniels.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Belcastro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenlaurelInn, Owner at Glenlaurel, A Scottish Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2013

Happy (belated) 25th anniversary! Please accept our sincere apologies for your most recent visit. We fell short of your expectations and that is not how we like to show our guests the attention they deserve. Please know that the magic is still alive, although it might have a different "flair" than what you grew used to in your past visits. Please let our caring and dedicated staff make it up to you on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (275)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 275 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2013

This was a short trip to visit Hocking Hills and instead of booking a cabin we opted for the Glenlaurel Inn. We stayed in the Macdonald Master Suite in the main house and did not realize how truely romantic this palce is until we arrived. The grounds are very pretty, peaceful, and private. Each morning a huge breakfast was served on the outside deck (you choose between 2 entrees or they will prepare half of each at your request). The al fresco dining was just perfect with the sun rising through the trees...very pretty. After breakfast you can stroll on the trails, relax in the swing, birdwatch, or take up a book on one of the many lawn chairs situated throughout the property. There is also a fire pit and golf(I am no golfer but it doesn't look like a professional style course!).

Our accomodations in the Macdonald suite were very nice and allthough some elements may have been a bit dated, it was spacious and very clean. The bed was a comfortable Queen, there is separate living room with a plush loveseat, fireplace, fridge, and coffee maker. The suites balcony overlooks the lower deck where breakfast is served. The bathroom was huge with a 2 person hot tub and separate shower. We didn't notice any issue with noise at all however, I wouldn't recommend the rooms located on the first floor of the main house if you want to sleep later in the morning. They are very close to the kitchen and dining areas. I should also mention that if additional privacy or space is your thing then try staying in one of the crofts or cottages located on the property. We toured some of them and they are fantastic- a bit more updated, cozy, all with private decks and hottubs surrounded by trees.

Glenlaurel is the perfect setting for a short getaway, perhaps an anniversary, and a little splurge at that! The nightly rates seem a little high but, worth it in the end. The Inn caters to couples, solo travelers, or small groups(i.e. girlfriend getaways) but, no children. We did not try the nightly dinner offered at an additional charge. It should be noted that Saturday evening
dinners are on the more formal side and I wouldnt recommend heading to the hors d'oeuvre hour in shorts and typical Hocking Hill attire like we did!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Victoria_Corrigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We stayed in a croft at Glenlaurel for my husbands birthday. We only got to stay one night but it was one of the best times we have had. The grounds are beautiful and the staff is wonderful. We had the filet mignon dinner and it was the best meal I have ever had. The dining room is very intimate. The breakfast the next morning was also very good. We met several couples that go there every year. The croft was very cozy and romantic. We enjoyed the trails on the property. Even though we were only there for one day we left feeling like we spent several days away. We were so relaxed. I hope to get to go back soon.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beverly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenlaurelInn, Owner at Glenlaurel, A Scottish Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2013

Thank you for being our guest! We’re glad you were able to experience a cozy croft and a romantic dinner. Even though you could only escape for one night, it sounds like you were able to experience a lot. We hope to see you both again for your anniversary, which is what many of our guests come for each year. Thanks again for your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

This was our second stay at Glenlaurel. We had a wonderful time in the Drummond croft, with its views of the gorge, privacy, and short walk to meals. The grounds around the manor house are immaculate, and the entire property is peaceful and relaxing. All staff that we encountered were friendly and helpful. Breakfasts are outstanding, and the multi-course dinners are very nice events. Glenlaurel gets almost all of the little details right. It is a carefree getaway. The private hiking in Camusfearna Gorge is phenomenal, and easily rivals the views in the state parks, though on a smaller scale. There is little reason to leave the grounds, in our opinion. We certainly plan to return.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenlaurelInn, Owner at Glenlaurel, A Scottish Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2013

Thanks for being our guests – again! We strive to provide the type of experience that you had and are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

My best friend and I always take a trip together in late May in lieu of birthday gifts. This year's trip was to the Glenlaurel Inn in Rockbridge, adjacent to Hocking Hills! What an amazing place. The grounds are meticuliously manicured, the staff is outstanding, breakfast and dinner are first class, and the pub hour before dinner is a great way to mingle with other guests. Along with all the amenities, you stay on a property that allows for a two mile hike to a beautiful gorge or you can opt to play golf the way it was invented on the Inn's 8 hold Scottish style course (sand tees and greens!). We also took advantage of the on-site massage and facial service that the Inn facilitates for guests. You really could not ask for a better place for a weekend getaway, or a nice mid-week rest. I highly recommend this Inn. Kudos to the staff.

Room Tip: We stayed in the MacLoed Cottage and it was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Walkinggirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenlaurelInn, Owner at Glenlaurel, A Scottish Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2013

Thank you so much for your visit and your genuine comments. We will be sure to pass your comments along to the staff. We can’t think of a better place for gal-pals to get away than a visit to Glenlaurel. We look forward to having you as our guests again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Glenlaurel is a wonderful place to escape from busy life and re-connect with the things that matter. We stayed at the inn during Memorial Day weekend and while we never needed to leave the inn if we didn't want to (due to the good food, cozy room, in-room massage service, hiking/walking paths, old-fashioned golf course, and the evening bonfires), we did venture off property to experience some wonderful outdoor activities including scenic hiking and gentle kayaking. Do note that cell service is sparse if any, which makes the "escape" all the more possible.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Campbell which is part of the main house where the dining room, pub, and community...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PermanentWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Staying at Glenlaurel Scottish Inn has been a favorite of ours for a long time. As seasoned
travelers, we appreciate the consistent high quality the inn offers. Every detail is attended to.
The setting is beautiful and serene. The food is always wonderful, the chef and kitchen staff
are amazing. We are always treated so well by everyone there. It will continue to be our first
choice when we need a get away. R and J Crane

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judith c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockbridge
6.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Logan
7.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Logan
15.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Lancaster
Hampton Inn Lancaster
#1 of 5 in Lancaster
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lancaster
15.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Lancaster
6.8 mi away
The Inn & Spa at Cedar Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenlaurel, A Scottish Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenlaurel, A Scottish Inn & Cottages

Address: 14940 Mount Olive Rd, Rockbridge, OH 43149-9736
Region: United States > Ohio > Rockbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Rockbridge
Price Range: £142 - £263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A visit to Glenlaurel is laced with romance; from the moment the Manor House comes into view at the driveway entrance until it fades into the tree line from the rearview mirror at departure...the warm welcome at the front door feels like arriving at the stately home of a distant but approachable relative where the children are all grown or away for the weekend. Welcome into the Legend...the Legend of Glenlaurel. Experience the look of the Scottish countryside and the feel of times gone by at our luxurious Hocking Hills accommodations (rooms, suites, crofts, and cottages) that are perfect for romantics and dreamers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glen Laurel Hotel Rockbridge
Country Inn Rockbridge
Rockbridge Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing