We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT WORTH THE PRICE”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rockbridge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Glenlaurel, A Scottish Inn & Cottages
Ranked #1 of 1 Rockbridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 December 2013

We stayed here for a Dicken's evening with a 6 course dinner. The croft (cabin) was great--very nice with lots of amenities. The Dicken's part of the evening was very nice BUT the dinner was NOT worth $49 per person. The courses were very small and the entrees (chicken, pork & duck) were average. The dessert was a poached pear with marscapone (SP?) cheese. It looked and tasted like a canned pear with cream cheese. There were 4 of us and we were all very disappointed. The breakfast was again OK but nothing special. Also, we had a terrible time getting there and getting around once we were there. They don't take care of the roads around the inn and we slipped and slid all over the place. Won't be going back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Connie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenlaurelInn, General Manager at Glenlaurel, A Scottish Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

We are sorry to hear that although you enjoyed your croft accommodation you were not pleased with our fine dining. Being 6 courses we do try to make portions substantial enough but not overwhelming. The pears for the dessert were fresh; they were poached in red wine that day and indeed it was mascarpone cheese. I realize it was very frustrating after making your long trip on that wintry day to have difficulties maneuvering our beautiful rolling hills. Our Operations Manager, on his day off, did contact the township garage and Sheriff's office to tend to the roads which were salted within an hour, but I understand how trying that can be to wait. Thank you for your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (269)
There are newer reviews for Glenlaurel, A Scottish Inn & Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 269 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2013

Celebrated my wife's birthday at GL and took advantage of the Dicken's themed dinner package. We stayed at Bruce Cottage tucked away in the back of the property. The cottage was very clean, bedding comfortable and all the amenities were top drawer. Free WiFi is included and your TV has access to Netflix and other web-based services. However, we never turned on the TV...just listened to CDs and enjoyed the hot tub. PERFECT place to chill and relax. The dinner was excellent which featured a 6 course meal that included duck and quail (other options available). The meal was excellent. For breakfast we were served homemade scones, porridge, eggs benedict and homemade granola. We will be back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IKE48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We recently spent two nights in the Sinclair croft. It was very clean,had comfortable furniture, a thermostat, two sided fire place and comfortable bed . The crofts are located so that they are very private from the other cottages and have a beautiful woodsy view from the windows, screened in porch and hot tub. We watched chipmunks and deer from our porch. Yes, the inside is not "high end" , especially the bathroom, but it is spotless and truly our croft would be hard to complain about.
The part that makes Glenlaurel so special is the staff . They are so friendly, and treat you like family that has come to dine with them. The food is very good. Being vegetarians I did not have high hopes for our dinner, but everything was delicious. The chef comes out and talks to each table, answering any questions you may have. The tables are candlelit and it is quite romantic. Staff is not intrusive, if you want to talk, they talk. Breakfast was excellent. We had blueberry griddlecakes and a an egg dish that was amazing.
They have several paths for walking that are very pretty and much more private than the state park. We had no complaints and would recommend to all.

Room Tip: They have several different types of rooms available, check them all out.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ipwilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We stayed for two nights at the Mackintosh cottage - spacious, clean, comfortable and well maintained. Used the hot tub - great. Staff was friendly and very helpful, check-in, restaurant/bar and housekeeping. One of our lamps was intermittently turning off and was fixed shortly after we reported it. We plan to go back, probably to a smaller (more economical) croft; they are all very well located, within the forest and with excellent privacy. Only partial disappointment were the dinners: they fall short of similar priced restaurant meals in Columbus; breakfast fare was excellent and more than plentiful

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike_Harriet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We spent two nights in the Douglas Suite at Glenlaurel Inn in celebration of our tenth wedding anniversary. We were satisfied with our experience. The property and facilities are very clean and well-maintained. Though the décor and fixtures were basic for the $250 per night price tag (vinyl floors in the bathroom, resin-type big box store vanity, accordion folding closet-type doors between bed and bathroom providing minimal privacy), the Douglas did have a nice, clean hot tub, (gas) woodstove, kitchenette, and deck. The superb three course breakfast, the beautiful 100+ acre property at peak autumn season, close proximity to astounding Hocking Hills parks, high degree of privacy from other guests, and the friendly service also made the high nightly rate more justifiable. We noticed possible improvements: lack of control over temperature (suite had no thermostat, we had to open windows to cool the room, even when using gas stove minimally on a rather cool weekend), bedclothes were tedious (comforter was sandwiched between two unsecured bed sheets which constantly slipped, exposing the possibly-not-laundered-between-each-guest comforter (easily remedied by addition of buttons or snaps at sheet tops), and one-person shower (not large enough to accommodate two smallish people simultaneously). We consider these shortcomings overlookable, however, in light of all the other lovely amenities. Overall, we would recommend Glenlaurel for a pleasant and memorable getaway.

Room Tip: We liked the Douglas. Though not luxurious, the room was well-furnished, relaxing, and comfortable.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OHARE4ME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

This is our second stay here; the first about 10 years ago, the second one this September. It is not inexpensive, but the staff is very friendly, the surroundings are fantastic, and it's reasonably close to hiking and small towns. A bagpiper came to the clearing in front of the cabins and played pre-dinner; it was very nice. Only negative is that the dinner was too long, too much time between servings.

Room Tip: I don't think there are any bad ones.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doug S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We make an annual trip in October to the Glenlaurel Inn, and this was probably our 7th visit. We stayed in a croft which was very nice as usual but were concerned about the smell of gas with the fireplace. The food was not nearly as good as in the past. The attempt to be gourmet fell short. The food's presentation was lacking as was the taste. For what we paid for the meals, they were very disappointing. We will reconsider eating here on our next visit. The staff was not the usually well trained group that we've seen in the past. They commented that they were short of waiters, and we had the impression that the waiters had been pulled in without training at the last minute.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockbridge
6.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Logan
7.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Logan
15.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Lancaster
Hampton Inn Lancaster
#1 of 5 in Lancaster
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lancaster
15.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Lancaster
21.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Circleville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenlaurel, A Scottish Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenlaurel, A Scottish Inn & Cottages

Address: 14940 Mount Olive Rd, Rockbridge, OH 43149-9736
Region: United States > Ohio > Rockbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Rockbridge
Price Range: £140 - £258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A visit to Glenlaurel is laced with romance; from the moment the Manor House comes into view at the driveway entrance until it fades into the tree line from the rearview mirror at departure...the warm welcome at the front door feels like arriving at the stately home of a distant but approachable relative where the children are all grown or away for the weekend. Welcome into the Legend...the Legend of Glenlaurel. Experience the look of the Scottish countryside and the feel of times gone by at our luxurious Hocking Hills accommodations (rooms, suites, crofts, and cottages) that are perfect for romantics and dreamers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glen Laurel Hotel Rockbridge
Country Inn Rockbridge
Rockbridge Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing