We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Birthday getaway"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glenlaurel - A Scottish Inn & Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rockbridge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Glenlaurel - A Scottish Inn & Cottages
Ranked #1 of 1 Rockbridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Avon Lake, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“"Birthday getaway"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

The location is very beautiful and private. We were in the Drummond Croft. It was very nice with a warm and cozy fireplace between the livingroom and bedroom. There is a hot tub on the deck to enjoy also. It was my birthday so we went and celebrated a great romantic getaway. We were snowed in and so we stayed another night. It was beautiful with the snow on the rolling hills. The breakfast was very good. At night it was nice to mingle with the other guest in the pub. They had nice appetizers and drinks. The dinner was fine dining and the dining room had candles on every table. You have your own private table for two and with the candles on the table it made the ambiance just right. It was a great experiance for us and I hope it will be for you too.

Room Tip: The Cabins and Crofts would be much more private on heavily wooded area than the Manor house. The M...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HAPPYDAY62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenlaurelInn, General Manager at Glenlaurel - A Scottish Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thank you for celebrating your birthday with us; we are honored! I'm glad you made the decision to stay another night and not risk the drive back north. I hope your travels home were uneventful and as stress free as your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    34
    18
    4
    0
See reviews for
7
204
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Venice
Level Contributor
176 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

Over the years, we have stayed here numerous times. We have not visited in over 6 years, so we knew we were overdue for a night away.

We were warmly greeted and received our room keys quickly. In advance, we had ordered the in-room dining option. It was already in our croft refrigerator when we arrived. We had a delicious chicken chowder, salad and yummy cheesecake. The meal exceeded our expectations.

The Sinclair croft was exceptionally clean. This is critical! The hot tub on the deck was delightful. I do however like staying in crofts closer to the main office. The decks of those crofts seem more private than the Sinclair deck.

We had breakfast in the Inn. It was delicious. Service was a bit slow but we were patient. The grammar of some of the wait staff was lacking but we considered the location and smiled.

Overall, this is a lovely place to escape from the world. If you want TV access and lots to do, this is not the place for you.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Venice245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sabrina M, Manager at Glenlaurel - A Scottish Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
We are so delighted you came back to us for your anniversary at the "Midwest's premier luxurious romantic getaway" and took advantage of our anniversary club with discounts and special hand crafted anniversary plates. Although we are known for our fine 6 and 7 course dining I'm glad you enjoyed your in room dinner next to your glowing fireplace and steps away from your private hot tub.We look forward to seeing you on your next anniversary celebration. Many thanks and happy holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ohio
Level Contributor
112 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

The 4-person administrative team of our company goes away periodically to do strategic planning. My wife and I had visited Glenlaurel once before and found the atmosphere, service and food very satisfying. The grounds are beautiful, reminiscent of what I believe Scotland is like. Accommodations include rooms in the "manor " house and cottages of various sizes. An overnight stay includes a charming breakfast in the manor house. The restaurant/pub serves dinners, at additional cost, but worth the price, in my opinion. During the Christmas, there is a Dickens-themed dinner available certain evenings, with a room discount available for the night a dinner is booked. The staff are gracious and welcoming. This a great place to get away. Hocking Hills is an amazing area, an hour from Columbus, Ohio.

Room Tip: Choose an accommodation to fit your needs and budget. Try to include one of the special dinners if p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sabrina M, General Manager at Glenlaurel - A Scottish Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
I am so glad you got to enjoy our "A Taste of Dickens Dinner"; it does make for a festive holiday dinner with excerpts of "A Christmas Carol" read between courses. As you so kindly mentioned we are a relaxing luxurious getaway as well as a one stop destination for company retreats or meetings. We look forward to hosting you again soon! Thank you for writing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

The location is tops. Beautiful, beautiful location. The setting can't be beat and the main inn was quaint, well decorated, with a warm cozy fireplace. The bar area was homey. Really relaxing. We stayed in the Sinclair Croft - adorable! Our only complaint with the croft was the bed. Queen size but had a mattress cover or padding that was smaller than the mattress, and seemed to take about 2" off both sides. All night long, we'd wake up feeling like we were going to fall out of bed. Our disappoint came with the Dickens dinner we paid for. (By taking part in the Dickens evening (a "6-course" meal and a reading of Dicken's "A Christmas Carol", the price of our room was cut in half. The cost of our room was $275/night for a final cost of $310.75 and a final credit of $168.95-not exactly half, but still a good deal.) The dinner was $49 plus tax per person-final price was $104.86 with tax plus $25 for a tip, which we again thought was reasonable thinking the food would be good and of reasonable quantity. What a HUGE and costly disappointment! Rather than go into minute detail, I'll just say we thought the quantity and quality left a LOT to be desired. Our table had selected three different entrees, the chicken, pork and duck. The duck seemed to be the only entrée that was prepared to perfection. It was noted that the pork was tasteless and the quantity sparse-lots of bone; the chicken was similar to what might be served at a banquet - mass produced and tasteless. Okay, lesson learned...don't partake of the Dickens special. Unfortunately, disappointment continued with breakfast. Sheared eggs (aka baked) were undercooked...not good and one serving was sent back uneaten. One party had the crepes which were filled with diced apple and "some sort of cheese." Very little filling and the crepes were described as eating two paper thin pancakes that were folded in quarters. You were given a small "portion" of a scone and two thin slices of Canadian bacon. Our main surprise came when we reviewed our bill...we were charged $25.68 for breakfast! Glenlaurel advertises as a B&B...apparently "B" does not mean breakfast. When questioned about this charge, we were told it was part of the lodging bundle (which was indicated on the receipt). Sorry...it's either lodging or breakfast, how can it be both? We talked it over and decided it was their way of recovering part of the "half-price" deal for the room. This was not our first visit to Glenlaurel, it was our third. But it was the first time we had dinner there. We do not plan to return since there are so many other B&B's in the area.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kathleen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenlaurelInn, General Manager at Glenlaurel - A Scottish Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay. We are blessed with a beautiful location and glad you enjoyed the warm and cozy Manor House.I have addressed your issue with the bed with our housekeeping staff; thank you! It was disheartening to read that you found your dinner and breakfast to be disappointing; we are known for our fine cuisine and would have loved to created something different for you for breakfast. I realize your final bill is confusing; as Guest Services explained we back out the breakfast to save our guests taxes so indeed your lodging was 50 % discounted. Should you need further explanation of this please feel free to call me.
Happy Holidays to you both!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akron, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

We stayed here for a Dicken's evening with a 6 course dinner. The croft (cabin) was great--very nice with lots of amenities. The Dicken's part of the evening was very nice BUT the dinner was NOT worth $49 per person. The courses were very small and the entrees (chicken, pork & duck) were average. The dessert was a poached pear with marscapone (SP?) cheese. It looked and tasted like a canned pear with cream cheese. There were 4 of us and we were all very disappointed. The breakfast was again OK but nothing special. Also, we had a terrible time getting there and getting around once we were there. They don't take care of the roads around the inn and we slipped and slid all over the place. Won't be going back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Connie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenlaurelInn, General Manager at Glenlaurel - A Scottish Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
We are sorry to hear that although you enjoyed your croft accommodation you were not pleased with our fine dining. Being 6 courses we do try to make portions substantial enough but not overwhelming. The pears for the dessert were fresh; they were poached in red wine that day and indeed it was mascarpone cheese. I realize it was very frustrating after making your long trip on that wintry day to have difficulties maneuvering our beautiful rolling hills. Our Operations Manager, on his day off, did contact the township garage and Sheriff's office to tend to the roads which were salted within an hour, but I understand how trying that can be to wait. Thank you for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holland, Michigan
Level Contributor
248 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

Celebrated my wife's birthday at GL and took advantage of the Dicken's themed dinner package. We stayed at Bruce Cottage tucked away in the back of the property. The cottage was very clean, bedding comfortable and all the amenities were top drawer. Free WiFi is included and your TV has access to Netflix and other web-based services. However, we never turned on the TV...just listened to CDs and enjoyed the hot tub. PERFECT place to chill and relax. The dinner was excellent which featured a 6 course meal that included duck and quail (other options available). The meal was excellent. For breakfast we were served homemade scones, porridge, eggs benedict and homemade granola. We will be back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IKE48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canton, ohio
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

We recently spent two nights in the Sinclair croft. It was very clean,had comfortable furniture, a thermostat, two sided fire place and comfortable bed . The crofts are located so that they are very private from the other cottages and have a beautiful woodsy view from the windows, screened in porch and hot tub. We watched chipmunks and deer from our porch. Yes, the inside is not "high end" , especially the bathroom, but it is spotless and truly our croft would be hard to complain about.
The part that makes Glenlaurel so special is the staff . They are so friendly, and treat you like family that has come to dine with them. The food is very good. Being vegetarians I did not have high hopes for our dinner, but everything was delicious. The chef comes out and talks to each table, answering any questions you may have. The tables are candlelit and it is quite romantic. Staff is not intrusive, if you want to talk, they talk. Breakfast was excellent. We had blueberry griddlecakes and a an egg dish that was amazing.
They have several paths for walking that are very pretty and much more private than the state park. We had no complaints and would recommend to all.

Room Tip: They have several different types of rooms available, check them all out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ipwilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockbridge
6.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Logan
6.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Logan
15.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Lancaster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Lancaster
Hampton Inn Lancaster
#1 of 5 in Lancaster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Inn & Spa at Cedar Falls
13.9 mi away
Ravenwood Castle
Ravenwood Castle
#1 of 1 in New Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenlaurel - A Scottish Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenlaurel - A Scottish Inn & Cottages

Property: Glenlaurel - A Scottish Inn & Cottages
Address: 14940 Mount Olive Rd, Rockbridge, OH 43149-9736
Region: United States > Ohio > Rockbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Rockbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A visit to Glenlaurel is laced with romance; from the moment the Manor House comes into view at the driveway entrance until it fades into the tree line from the rearview mirror at departure...the warm welcome at the front door feels like arriving at the stately home of a distant but approachable relative where the children are all grown or away for the weekend. Welcome into the Legend...the Legend of Glenlaurel. Experience the look of the Scottish countryside and the feel of times gone by at our luxurious Hocking Hills accommodations (rooms, suites, crofts, and cottages) that are perfect for romantics and dreamers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glen Laurel Hotel Rockbridge
Country Inn Rockbridge
Rockbridge Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing