We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A neat find in Hocking Hills for a weekend get-away”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rockbridge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Glenlaurel, A Scottish Inn & Cottages
Ranked #1 of 1 Rockbridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ohio
Level Contributor
132 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
“A neat find in Hocking Hills for a weekend get-away”
Reviewed 16 September 2008

We celebrated our anniversary here last month. Overall we were extremely impressed but there are places that can be improved upon, we felt, for the prices that were chaged.

We stayed in the MacBeth croft and it was lovely and relaxing. From the moment we stepped through the doorway and heard the soft, romantic Scottish music, to the clean and well maintained hot tub on the deck, we relaxed. I brought some crackers, cheese, fruit and beverage and stored them in the room's refridgerator which also had a microwave and toaster oven as well as a few supplied snacks and waters. Comfy robes were also supplied. Overall we found this croft delightful and a pleasure to be in.

We took advantage of the spa and had a couples massage. The spa staff were nice and polite but we felt that this area needed to be improved to be more in line with other facilities on the property. The spa is in a converted mobile home and it just needs to be spruced up to feel more like a spa. Having the staff wear matching shirts to having softer blankets and Glenlaurel socks upon arrival would go a long way to creating a better impression.

We found the dinner and breakfasts overall very nice. I knew my husband would not like the Friday night fish so I had ordred chicken for him. Good thing I did as I found the fish dry and bland. His chicken was delightful. We had a wonderful appetizers, a cold melon soup which isn't my cup of tea but others may like it, delightful salad, entree and great dessert. Overall we were very pleased with the cost and timeliness of service. We never waited an abnormal time during courses which we have done before at other mult-course dinners. A personalized card was on our table upon arrival at dinner which was also very nice. It is also nice to be able to bring your own wine because my husband and I enjoy fine wines so we could bring one from our wine cellar and enjoy it with the meal for no corkage fee.

I also forgot to mention that a small gift was in our room upon our arrival for our annivesary which I thought was excellent in their attention to detail.

There is NO TV and so if you want to watch anything in the evening you'll need to bring your own movie for the DVD player or borrow one from the reception area.

The place was designed for relaxation and I think they have accomplished this very well. I'd love to go back in the winter! It is a place I'd return to because it is a short drive from our city to just get away from it all for a day or two.

  • Liked — The individual crofts didn't feel like a cottage but more of a quaint, little home.
  • Disliked — The spa just needs to feel more like a spa and look more like the rest of the property.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank AJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    34
    18
    4
    0
See reviews for
7
213
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2008

We stayed at Glenlaurel for our anniversary celebration. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The property was well landscaped and maintained. The idea of individual cottages and crofts is great and all of these come with their own private hot tubs which we did enjoy.

We were disappointed with the appointments in the cottage. The quality of the furnishings and bathrooms were in keeping with a mid level hotel chain. We expected more.

We were also disappointed with the dinner selection each night - one. We felt that there should be options available. One of the nights there was not one item on the menu that we would have ordered if we had a choice. The breakfast selections included two or three menu options. We did not understand why for dinner there was only one option nightly. The quality and presentation of the food was very good.

We did take advantage of the Spa with a message and a yoga class. The staff at the Spa was great and comes highly recommended. However, the Spa facility is located in a converted house. It totally lacks any ambiance or treatment rooms that we have come to expect in current Spa facilities. Once again, we expected more of the Spa facility with the price of the Spa treatments being equivalent to a 4 or 5 star resort with state of the art Spa facilities.

While there are things we would like to see improved we did enjoy our stay at Glen Laurel. We were able to totally relax and enjoy our anniversary celebration.

  • Liked — Indiviudal Cottages
  • Disliked — Spa Facility and no internet service
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank TQuayle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, OH
Level Contributor
57 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2008

Everyone writes excellent reviews for a reason, since there is nothing that is not outstanding. Make sure you also hike on their private trail to the gorge. The price of the lodging is expensive, but worth it for a special occassion.

  • Liked — Private cottage
  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carrotop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2008

My girlfriend and I just returned from a great weekend getaway at Glenlaurel. We stayed in a croft, which was just perfect for us. Everything at the resort was first class and well done! The service and attention to detail was refreshing. The room was very comfortable and clean and my girlfriend loved the Scottish music that was playing when we entered our croft. While there is no network TV, there is a very nice sound system and they have CDs to choose from. Also, you can bring DVDs if you choose. You can even pipe music outside onto your private deck/hot-tub, which we did.

The food at this resort is truly spectacular and well done for both breakfast and dinner. As it is a dry county we brought plenty of our own wine and beer for our stay and they were happy to serve it to us during the social time before dinner and also during dinner. Our main featured meals were halibut on Friday evening and a 7-course meal featuring lamb on Saturday. ALL COURSES WERE TRULY EXCEPTIONAL!

We were a little bit on the younger side and most other couples were married (many celebrating anniversaries and special occasions). We have only been dating 5 months or so, and were a little different from the usual people staying at Glenlaurel as we were not looking to reconnect, but rather just spend quality and relaxed time together. We went hiking all day on Saturday in the Hocking Hills and that was very enjoyable. We especially enjoyed Old Man's Cave! The resort itself is not loaded with activities so if that is what your are looking for Glenlaurel is not for you. However, if you are looking to relax and spend time together, have good meals and explore the hocking hills (hike, canoe, zipline, etc.) this place is a real gem!

  • Liked — Service, Food and attention to detail!
  • Disliked — A little pricey but worth it!
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank fletch173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OH
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2008

Stayed here for a w/e with 9 girlfriends to celebrate one of the girls getting married. I organised the stay for everyone, the staff could not have been more accomodating. It was a short drive from Columbus. We had pizza the first night, next time I would come earlier and dine in the main house where the food was excellent. We had a WONDERFUL stay at Glenlaurel and now I would like to go back with my husband and experience a different season. When we went there was snow so it was really beautiful.

I have stayed at Nemacolin in PA before, but I feel for a more rustic and relaxed w/e, at a better value Glenlaurel fits the bill.

  • Liked — Cozy
  • Disliked — Having to leave!
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blondieoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2008

Romantic, Cozy, Comfy, Serene, Beautiful Wooded Setting, No TV, No Distractions...that's just a partial list to describe GlenLaurel. We had one of the best weekends of our lives together and can't wait to return in another season to see it from a different perspective. The staff is friendly and courteous, the amenities are great...the food is top rate...If you want to do nothing but hang out in a hot tub you can do that...If you want to be pampered with a massage, that's there too...if you want to hike to the nearby gorge, you can do that. If you want to get in your car and explore the nearby National Park, there are lots of trails, waterfalls and caves to be discovered. Is it expensive? A little. Is it worth it? Every penny! Kudos to Greg and Kelly and their staff...this place is an absolute gem...the kind you don't want others to miss out on but yet kinda want to keep to yourselves. :-)

  • Liked — the feeling that it was our own little cottage in the woods
  • Disliked — can't think of a thing
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marleypoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington, West Virginia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2007

My wife and I booked a short getaway at Glenlaurel after having it highly recommended by friends. Their descriptions were right on target.

We arrived in this rural SE Ohio location and were greeted by friendly staff. After a short time we were escorted to our cottage. There are several of these buildings in a country setting.

The cottage was spotless and tastefully decorated. There a kitchen, spacious living room with fireplace, bedroom with a king-size bed and fireplace and a large bathroom with a shower and separate dressing area. Outside featured a private deck with hottub. A walkway from the backyard led to a wooded area with a hammock. The area was extremely clean and quiet.

A walking trail through a gorge is on-site and should not be missed. Deer, squirrels and lots of birds can be seen in the trail area.

Dinner was a sumptuous affair. It was superbly presented and service was exceptional. The daily breakfast was served outside on a deck at the Manor House and was excellent as well.

This is a top-shelf property with top-shelf service. It is far from the ordinary B and B and is certainly a great value, albeit a pricey one. It is in a nice location for exploring the Hocking Hills.

  • Liked — Privacy and cleanliness.
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cburley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockbridge
6.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Logan
6.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Logan
15.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Lancaster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Lancaster
Hampton Inn Lancaster
#1 of 5 in Lancaster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
15.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lancaster
25.0 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chillicothe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenlaurel, A Scottish Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenlaurel, A Scottish Inn & Cottages

Property: Glenlaurel, A Scottish Inn & Cottages
Address: 14940 Mount Olive Rd, Rockbridge, OH 43149-9736
Region: United States > Ohio > Rockbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Rockbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A visit to Glenlaurel is laced with romance; from the moment the Manor House comes into view at the driveway entrance until it fades into the tree line from the rearview mirror at departure...the warm welcome at the front door feels like arriving at the stately home of a distant but approachable relative where the children are all grown or away for the weekend. Welcome into the Legend...the Legend of Glenlaurel. Experience the look of the Scottish countryside and the feel of times gone by at our luxurious Hocking Hills accommodations (rooms, suites, crofts, and cottages) that are perfect for romantics and dreamers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glen Laurel Hotel Rockbridge
Country Inn Rockbridge
Rockbridge Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing