We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent as always” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glenlaurel - A Scottish Inn & Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rockbridge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Glenlaurel - A Scottish Inn & Cottages
Ranked #1 of 1 Rockbridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent as always”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Stay 5/22/14. This is our 3rd visit. Dinner (Filets) was excellent. Breakfast was very good. Room as always was very clean except the bedside table drawer had a bottle of "Trojan Sex Lube" left behind, unless all rooms come so equipped. We trashed it. Perhaps a cleaning checklist needs to be followed,

Room Tip: Wife and I celebrated anniversary at Glen Laurel last week. Third time visitors. Stayed in Bruce Cro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenlaurelInn, General Manager at Glenlaurel - A Scottish Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
We do have procedures in place so I am so sorry for that little "slip up"; no, our accommodations do not come equipped with such products but we can provide the more traditional toothbrushes and toothpaste! Thank you for alerting us and for you continued visits!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    34
    18
    4
    0
See reviews for
7
206
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

After following Glenlaurel Inn for about a year via their newsletter we finally visited for our anniversary. We made reservations in August and loved every aspect of our visit. Being just an hour from Columbus, OH it's both a great escape and extremely luxurious accommodations. The food is outstanding and certainly more than expected at an inn in the Hocking Hills. Walking trails and gold on property were an unexpected find.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidSey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenlaurelInn, General Manager at Glenlaurel - A Scottish Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are proud of our 6 and 7 course fine dining here in the heart of Hocking Hills. And as you referenced, Glenlaurel is an easy drive but worlds away from the hustle and bustle of cities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stayed in Gordon Croft and loved our stay. It was pleasant, peaceful, romantic and a perfect getaway. Superzip at Canopy Tours was a wonderful experience. Spa massage for couples was truly fantastic. Staff was great,helpful and courteous.
Thank you so much Glenlaurel .....for the Anniversary gift and a beautiful stay. We are definitely coming back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SNEH J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sabrina M, General Manager at Glenlaurel - A Scottish Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Your description of your stay is what we tell everyone they will experience: peaceful and romantic but with thrilling activities and spa services to unwind with. Thank you for your kind words. We look forward to hosting you for your next anniversary or perhaps a birthday or two!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

This was a surprise trip for my girlfriend and it was amazing.
Arrival: quaint check in. The lobby has a great lit tile gift shop. Receptionist was welcoming and gave us an easy to navigate map to our cabin.
At cottage: simply breath taking like something out go hansel and gretel book. It had everything we wanted. Kitchen, two gas fireplaces, beautiful views of the woods, king bed, and a very roomy bathroom, and best of all a outdoor hot tub! I suggest staying at the McLeod cottage. It was secluded and easy to get to.
Dinner: you'll begin your dinner in the pub downstairs from the dining room. Great place to have a quick drink, it offers a nice selection of wine but does not serve martini's. They do offer a nice cheese and cracker plate. Btw there is a strict no smoking policy here.
Meal: fantastic. We had steak. It was perfect. It came with a unique small salad, and orange sorbet. The dessert that night was not our favorite.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenlaurelInn, General Manager at Glenlaurel - A Scottish Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
I loved your description of your MacLeod cottage; it tis a wee bit like Hansel and Gretel in the hills of Scotland (aka Hocking Hills!). We do offer a full service bar (except for blender drinks) so I was surprised about you not getting a martini. So glad you got to enjoy our 6 course fine dining with the filet of beef; our sorbets are made every day here at Glenlaurel.Thank you for celebrating Valentine's Day at Glenlaurel; maybe your next visit could be a proposal or even a wedding!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avon Lake, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

The location is very beautiful and private. We were in the Drummond Croft. It was very nice with a warm and cozy fireplace between the livingroom and bedroom. There is a hot tub on the deck to enjoy also. It was my birthday so we went and celebrated a great romantic getaway. We were snowed in and so we stayed another night. It was beautiful with the snow on the rolling hills. The breakfast was very good. At night it was nice to mingle with the other guest in the pub. They had nice appetizers and drinks. The dinner was fine dining and the dining room had candles on every table. You have your own private table for two and with the candles on the table it made the ambiance just right. It was a great experiance for us and I hope it will be for you too.

Room Tip: The Cabins and Crofts would be much more private on heavily wooded area than the Manor house. The M...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HAPPYDAY62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenlaurelInn, General Manager at Glenlaurel - A Scottish Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thank you for celebrating your birthday with us; we are honored! I'm glad you made the decision to stay another night and not risk the drive back north. I hope your travels home were uneventful and as stress free as your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice
Level Contributor
176 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

Over the years, we have stayed here numerous times. We have not visited in over 6 years, so we knew we were overdue for a night away.

We were warmly greeted and received our room keys quickly. In advance, we had ordered the in-room dining option. It was already in our croft refrigerator when we arrived. We had a delicious chicken chowder, salad and yummy cheesecake. The meal exceeded our expectations.

The Sinclair croft was exceptionally clean. This is critical! The hot tub on the deck was delightful. I do however like staying in crofts closer to the main office. The decks of those crofts seem more private than the Sinclair deck.

We had breakfast in the Inn. It was delicious. Service was a bit slow but we were patient. The grammar of some of the wait staff was lacking but we considered the location and smiled.

Overall, this is a lovely place to escape from the world. If you want TV access and lots to do, this is not the place for you.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Venice245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sabrina M, Manager at Glenlaurel - A Scottish Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
We are so delighted you came back to us for your anniversary at the "Midwest's premier luxurious romantic getaway" and took advantage of our anniversary club with discounts and special hand crafted anniversary plates. Although we are known for our fine 6 and 7 course dining I'm glad you enjoyed your in room dinner next to your glowing fireplace and steps away from your private hot tub.We look forward to seeing you on your next anniversary celebration. Many thanks and happy holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ohio
Level Contributor
112 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

The 4-person administrative team of our company goes away periodically to do strategic planning. My wife and I had visited Glenlaurel once before and found the atmosphere, service and food very satisfying. The grounds are beautiful, reminiscent of what I believe Scotland is like. Accommodations include rooms in the "manor " house and cottages of various sizes. An overnight stay includes a charming breakfast in the manor house. The restaurant/pub serves dinners, at additional cost, but worth the price, in my opinion. During the Christmas, there is a Dickens-themed dinner available certain evenings, with a room discount available for the night a dinner is booked. The staff are gracious and welcoming. This a great place to get away. Hocking Hills is an amazing area, an hour from Columbus, Ohio.

Room Tip: Choose an accommodation to fit your needs and budget. Try to include one of the special dinners if p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sabrina M, General Manager at Glenlaurel - A Scottish Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
I am so glad you got to enjoy our "A Taste of Dickens Dinner"; it does make for a festive holiday dinner with excerpts of "A Christmas Carol" read between courses. As you so kindly mentioned we are a relaxing luxurious getaway as well as a one stop destination for company retreats or meetings. We look forward to hosting you again soon! Thank you for writing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockbridge
6.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Logan
6.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Logan
15.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Lancaster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Lancaster
Hampton Inn Lancaster
#1 of 5 in Lancaster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
15.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lancaster
6.8 mi away
The Inn & Spa at Cedar Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenlaurel - A Scottish Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenlaurel - A Scottish Inn & Cottages

Property: Glenlaurel - A Scottish Inn & Cottages
Address: 14940 Mount Olive Rd, Rockbridge, OH 43149-9736
Region: United States > Ohio > Rockbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Rockbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A visit to Glenlaurel is laced with romance; from the moment the Manor House comes into view at the driveway entrance until it fades into the tree line from the rearview mirror at departure...the warm welcome at the front door feels like arriving at the stately home of a distant but approachable relative where the children are all grown or away for the weekend. Welcome into the Legend...the Legend of Glenlaurel. Experience the look of the Scottish countryside and the feel of times gone by at our luxurious Hocking Hills accommodations (rooms, suites, crofts, and cottages) that are perfect for romantics and dreamers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glen Laurel Hotel Rockbridge
Country Inn Rockbridge
Rockbridge Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing