We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A new home away from home”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rockbridge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Glenlaurel, A Scottish Inn & Cottages
Ranked #1 of 1 Rockbridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 September 2004

I arrived without even realizing how stressed I had become from corporate work and from parenting an infant and toddler. I left full of energy, peace, and a renewed appreciation of life. How could a one night stay make this change? Glenlaurel is nothing short of amazing. When I unlocked our cottage, there was Irish folk music playing and a welcome basket of snacks. The Egyptian cotton robes were waiting and hot tub was calling our names. Later in the afternoon, I read a book from one room while my best friend watched a DVD from the other room. What could be better? Well, it did get better. Dinner was spectacular. There is a professional chef who prepares one standard dish along with special requests for allergies or food preferences. The Inn Keeper welcomes guests, serves them in the bar for coctails (BYO wine bottles as this is a dry county) and appetizers. You are then seated in one of many small, intimate rooms. You will be greeted at your table with a welcome card with your names, menu, and kind words. Following dinner, my friend and I went upstairs to look through scrap books and letters left by guests.

We stayed in a cottage which is quite pricey (did so because we were able to have separate sleeping quarters this way) but we looked at the suites and rooms and they were just as beautiful and almost as large. The only difference is that the large cottages have an outdoor four person hot tub and private large deck. Suites have indoor one person jacuzzi tubs. There is something called a croft, which is like a cottage but just a little smaller. All have small refrigerators and the cottages/crofts have small kitchens. There is a separate living room, bedroom, and dressing room. This is not anything like a hotel but a retreat with many more amenities and personal attention. No children or smoking allowed - they are serious about this. The inn runs specials each month (except October) and offers terrific prices for those who have visited before. A full breakfast is included and is almost as wonderful as dinner. Probably the only down side is that weekends require a two night minimum; however, I called two days prior and was able to stay for one night because they were not booked. In summary, this is a retreat, a renewal, and a gift to give yourself or your spouse. My husband and I are returning in December. Enjoy. It is worth the drive for a honeymoon, anniversary, special occassion, or no particular reason at all.

  • Stayed: September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank pharmgirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (281)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

276 - 281 of 281 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Vienna, WV
15
Reviewed 16 June 2004

We have been to this Inn about 9 times and we are never disappointed. We stay in the crofts, which all have out door private hot tubs, miniature refrigerators, two person showers, fireplaces and are decorated in the Scottish theme.

The grounds are incredible, with hiking trails and plenty of PRIVACY. Children are not allowed, cell phones will not work and while there is an excellent stereo system as well as DVD player there is no cable. It is truly bliss. Agreat place to spend anniversary's or just reconnect time.

I have traveled extensively through-out the carribean and the U.S. this is my favorite place and it is only an 1 1/2 away.

5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
west salem, ohio
121
Reviewed 22 April 2004

The cottage, food, and service all exceeded our expectations on our 15th Anniversary; however, we were very upset to receive a letter in the mail 4 days after our departure advising us that our credit card was being billed $100.00 for violating the no smoking rules. With this letter was a gift certificate for $50.00 to be used on a future return. Neither I nor my wife smoke, nor will be returning!

21  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
426
Reviewed 3 February 2004

Tucked away in South East Ohio's rolling mountain scape, Glenlaurel is a wonder! The setting, the facility and hospitality were all warm and enveloping. The food was some of the best I've experienced. It is a treaure!

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Cincinnati, OH
16
Reviewed 13 May 2003

This is the most wonderful and magical place. We booked without really knowing what to expect but we were truly blown away by the staff, by the place itself, and by the atmosphere. Rarely have we been to a place that actually exceeded our expectations, but this one surely is it, and we will be going back over and over again. We loved the Glenlaurel, and recommend it to anyone looking for romance.

6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Mason, OH
14
Reviewed 11 April 2003

We stayed at the Glenlaurel in Oct 2002 for our anniversary in the MacBeth Croft. What an awesome experience. The Croft is a small 2-person cottage, each decorated and named differently. They have a private hot tub outside, fireplace by the king size bed, and large bathroom w/2-person shower. Very clean and well-kept! You should go to the Inn for dinner at least one night as it's like truly being in Scotland with the downstairs pub atmosphere and the bagpipes. The meal was fabulous. The staff is very friendly and will treat you very well. It is in the middle of some beautiful areas for hiking or just quiet walks in the woods. We plan to make this an annual visit now!

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockbridge
6.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Logan
7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Logan
6.8 mi away
The Inn & Spa at Cedar Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Cherry Ridge Retreat
Cherry Ridge Retreat
#1 of 3 in New Plymouth
331 reviews
20.9 mi away
The Mitchell House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenlaurel, A Scottish Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenlaurel, A Scottish Inn & Cottages

Address: 14940 Mount Olive Rd, Rockbridge, OH 43149-9736
Region: United States > Ohio > Rockbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Rockbridge
Price Range: £142 - £261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A visit to Glenlaurel is laced with romance; from the moment the Manor House comes into view at the driveway entrance until it fades into the tree line from the rearview mirror at departure...the warm welcome at the front door feels like arriving at the stately home of a distant but approachable relative where the children are all grown or away for the weekend. Welcome into the Legend...the Legend of Glenlaurel. Experience the look of the Scottish countryside and the feel of times gone by at our luxurious Hocking Hills accommodations (rooms, suites, crofts, and cottages) that are perfect for romantics and dreamers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glen Laurel Hotel Rockbridge
Country Inn Rockbridge
Rockbridge Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing