We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointment.”
Review of Sleep Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sleep Inn
Ranked #5 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Disappointment.”
Reviewed 3 July 2013 via mobile

Of the three years ive visited this hotel for vacationing at Cedar Point this by far has been the worst experience. VERY NOISY, all day & night. Room had no fridge or microwave, the WIFI SUCKED & the overall quality of the hotel has decreased. I wont be staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wms06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    88
    40
    29
    18
See reviews for
153
99
9
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wichita, Kansas
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

This was one of the nicer hotels in Sandusky. Close to the famous Cedar Point attraction and a number of other points of interest in the Lake Erie area. This was affordable and had all the amenities that you would expect from a Sleep Inn. The only issue was the shower head in our room was a bit clogged from calcium buildup. I informed the front desk and they indicated they would look into it, but we checked out prior to seeing if they fixed it.
Chris the night desk staff was extremely helpful when I had to request his assistance one evening, he went above the usual customer service levels. I would stay again when I travel to the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dvldog3051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa City, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Stayed a couple days for a Cedar Point visit and had no major complaints. This is a typical Sleep Inn with the addition of a pool. I was in a King room that also had a refrig. and microwave, Unit had a newer flat screen TV with a decent choice of channels and accessible inputs which is a plus.
My only minor complaint, and it really wasn't a problem for me, was that I got back to the room at 5:30 pm on the second day of my stay and housekeeping hadn't touched the room. They did come by a little after 6pm but at that point I told them not too bother, Plenty of shopping and restaurant choices nearby.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BWG1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

The Sleep Inn Sandusky provided a great value & was very close to shopping & Cedar Point. Rooms were nice but are starting to show their age. Our room had a microwave & fridge, simple yet functional units. Flat screen TVs were a nice touch with plenty of cable channels to choose from. Breakfest bar was overhauled recently with fresh fruit, yogurt & the return of the waffle maker. Daily paper deleivered to your door is a nice touch & staff were always friendly. Pool area was crowded & noisy but other areas were always quiet. Beds, towels & linens were of very good quality & plenty of water pressure in the shower. Overall a great value.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Apxcentral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012 via mobile

If your just looking for a place to stay overnight, it's ok. The beds are poor quality but the rooms are relatively clean. The breakfast is your standard offered. Tv's are old, showers have mold/ mildew in the cracks. The hotel could be decent but it would take a big investment.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OhioGuy34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delaware, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

My son's sports team spent a weekend here while playing in a local tournament. The hotel staff was pleasant to work with making the group arrangements. They were great to work with during our stay. If you're looking for a less expensive option (with a few dents and scuffs) in Sandusky, OH, this is for you.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bucksouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campbellsville, Kentucky, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

I spent 2 nights here,2 rooms with my family. It was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was good, cereal, fruit, bagel, donuts and more. Not the expanded breakfast, but still we were all satisfied even our 2 teenage grandsons. I would stay here again. We booked in advance and paid a higher price than an individual, walk-in. I spoke to the desk clerk as we were about to pay our bill, and she was very nice, and made an adjustment, bringing the price down to the walk in. I was more than pleased and very satisfied.

Room Tip: We asked for adjoining rooms and they obliged.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandusky hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#7 of 35 in Sandusky
365 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites
2.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn Sandusky - Cedar Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Cedar Point's Express Hotel
0.1 mi away
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Sandusky-Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn

Property: Sleep Inn
Address: 5509 Milan Rd, Sandusky, OH 44870-5858
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sleep Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Hotel Sandusky
Sleep Inn Sandusky, Ohio
Sandusky Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing