We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Baymont Inn & Suites Sandusky
Ranked #24 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We stayed 2 nights and had a positive experience. Room was clean and updated. The staff was wonderful. We left a suitcase on the bed and the cleaning staff left a nice note explaining why the bed wasn't made up. We had a nice breakfast before heading off to Cedar Pt. for the day. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank empb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Sandusky, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2013

The simple fact that you indicated that you'll stay with us again is everything we could hope for! Your great experience with our hotel is the best advertising possible for us. We're elated to hear that you had an enjoyable experience with us and that you found our staff friendly and helpful. We can't wait to be of service to you again in the future. Until then, safe travels!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (375)
There are newer reviews for Baymont Inn & Suites Sandusky
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

261 - 267 of 375 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2013

My husband and I got to have a trip away and we decided on Cedar Point. This place is literally down the road from Cedar Point. The prices were reasonable and the rooms were recently renovated, which is nice. The only down side was that the halls were exterior (not the hotel's fault). We visited in the supreme heat and humidity that is July (our fault). The humidity and bugs, oh god the bugs! So I think that if it hadn't been the height of bug season it would have been perfect. This really is a great place to stay; nice, clean, good breakfast, good prices.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Sandusky, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2013

Oh yes, we're very buggy on Lake Erie! :) Fortunately, these harmless creatures are indigenous to our area and are an important (although pesky) part of our eco-system. On a more serious note, thank you for taking the time to rate and review your recent stay with us. We're thrilled to hear that the accommodations met (and exceeded!) your expectations and that you appreciate all of the recent renovations we've put into this property.

We hope you'll choose to stay with us again on your next trip to Sandusky and Cedar Point!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

First trip to Cedar Point and Sandusky. I was very concerned about the area and the hotel when we pulled up. Just not an area I would normally choose to spend the night. Since we would already be charged for the 1st night, we stayed. The desk clerk was very friendly and helpful. She did put us right be the pool per our request! The room was very clean. Needs updating. Older TV, desk way too big. Mattressess were AWFUL! My husband, son and I all had trouble sleeping and woke up sore. After driving around, we figured out the area was about the same any where near Cedar Point so went ahead and stayed the 2nd night. We did buy air mattresses so we could sleep! Beds that bad. I did spend time out by the pool and felt find during the day while the boys were at Cedar Point. Staff again...very nice, helpful and friendly. If not for the horrible mattressess....I would give higher rating.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VickiMyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Sandusky, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to comment, rate, and review your recent stay with us. As you point out, ALL of our guest rooms have been completely renovated in the past 18 months with new furnishings, bedding, wall treatments, window treatments, etc. We are, however, still in the process of converting all of our older, tube-style TVs to flat panel TVs.

In terms of the mattresses, it's definitely a hard task to please everyone. We've gotten great comments on our mattresses in the past, but then also get comments like yours. I guess the bottom line is that it comes down to personal taste and comfort. Some prefer a softer sleep, some prefer a stiffer mattress. These mattresses were chosen to be a "middle of the road" option to appeal to the widest number of guests possible. I'm sorry they weren't more in line with your comfort preference.

I'm also glad to see that you found our staff friendly and helpful. That certainly is the hallmark of our business and we're very proud of the staff we've built and developed at this particular property!

Thank you again for choosing to stay with us. We hope to be able to service your lodging needs in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

This hotel is close to cedar point which is very convenient and the staff was very nice but other wise no. The hotel shares a parking lot with a neighboring restaurant and bar which is very unsafe for first floor guest being that the doors are right outside. A fence or security guards would make it somewhat safe. The rooms
Were somewhat renovated which was alright but the bathroom was small and dirty. And the room had a smell. And the duvet had spots on it. This bothered us so that we left cedar point at midnight and drove 3 hours to a hotel in pennsylvania because we knew we would be safe and stay in a clean room. Please save your money and stay somewhere else

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KhariJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Sandusky, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2013

Thank you for taking time to rate and review your recent stay with us.

I must apologize for the housekeeping issues that you brought up in your review. This, in no way, meets our extremely high standards of cleanliness as evidenced by the number of outstanding reviews in this area for this particular property.

We DO share a parking lot with a very happening, wonderful, authentic Mexican restaurant. We've heard great reviews regarding this establishment and have actually seen crime and shenanigans DECREASE as a result of them being open. In our eyes, the more activity in our shared parking areas, the better--and that's turned out to be the case.

You are correct in pointing out that all of our guest rooms have been completely renovated in the last 18 months with the most up-to-date furnishings, wall coverings, and window treatments. Renovations on our restrooms are on the list, but just with any small business, it takes time (and LOTS of money) to make all the changes we wish we could make with a snap of the finger.

Thank you again for your input. We hope you'll reconsider and choose staying with us again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Perfect location for this hotel, just around the corner from Cedar Point entrance, in walking distance to The Thirsty Pony a great place to have a great time. Hotel staff friendly and helpful, have an awesome breakfast line up in the morning, very comfortable and cozy rooms. this will be my destination spot next year and every year when we visit Cedar Point. this is the best bang for your buck and would recommend this Hotel to anyone visiting this area. a very special thank you to all the staff for making my family's stay comfortable.

Room Tip: I honestly do not think you could go wrong in any room...I booked 3 rooms for the weekend and they w...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valentino M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Sandusky, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2013

Well, we think YOU ROCK for offering such a positive, thorough review and rating of your recent stay with us. It's great to hear when guests have such a positive experience. Too often, the only people who take the time to comment are those that might have had a problem, etc. It's refreshing to hear when people enjoy themselves and when we could at least be a small part of that enjoyment.

We can't wait to welcome you back again in the very near future. Until then, safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Just stumbled upon this hotel online while booking a last minute trip to Cedar Point. It was excellent value for money and extremely close to Cedar Point. The staff were excellent, friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean, wifi was available, the TV had lots of channels and the breakfast was decent. The pool looked great although we didn't end up swimming in it. Definitely a good place to crash after a full day at Cedar Point.
I wasn't overly enamoured with the breakfast and the breakfast room was crowded but it served its purpose. Overall I think this place was great and would not hesitate to book it again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waterwing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Sandusky, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2013

The fact that you would not hesitate to stay with us again is wonderful to hear. We're glad to have had a successful role in your trip to our area and hope to see you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

The staff was excellent! We got a courtesy call a couple of hours before our extremely late arrival to make sure we needed our double-double room instead of just giving it away and sticking us in a one bed room because we came in late. I've been bumped out of my reserved room at other properties because of late arrival and I REALLY appreciated the phone call and the promise that our room would be there when we arrived, and it WAS! Housekeeping kindly left a hand written note explaining that they couldn't make up one of the beds because we left personal items on it and they don't move personal items. It was a nice touch to get the personal note and we appreciated the no-move policy too...good for both the guest and staff. Plenty of towels and hot water. The shower head had multiple settings so everyone got the water pressure they wanted. The walls were thin and the family next door sounded like they were in the room with us but we didn't spend much time in the room so it wasn't a problem. The light fixtures were unreliable, sometimes they worked, sometimes they didn't. There were a lot of insects swarming the door when we arrived after midnight and a lot of them came in with us when we entered the room. The parking lot lights attracted them. Not an ideal condition, but it's nature. What can you do? ::shrugs:: The AC worked great and I like white noise so when the fan didn't cut off completely after cooling to the set temperature, I was happy. The beds were comfortable and the decor was updated. Overall, this is a great place to stay if you're looking for a budget-friendly location that is convenient to Cedar Point. The excellent customer service definitely makes up for the minor drawbacks.

Room Tip: "Nachos - The Only Authentic Mexican Kitchen" was a fantastic bonus during our trip. Loca...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Akmaia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Sandusky, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2013

I'm thrilled to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and accommodating. They are definitely our best asset and should be for any business! I'm also happy to hear that you noticed the updated and renovated rooms and that you found them to be, perhaps, above your level of expectation. The other thing that's great to hear is that you found the price-point to be customer-friendly. We can't wait to be of service to you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandusky hotels
3.1 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#5 of 35 in Sandusky
358 reviews
0.2 mi away
Magnuson Hotel East Sandusky
1.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn Sandusky - Cedar Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#7 of 35 in Sandusky
374 reviews
0.5 mi away
South Shore Inn
South Shore Inn
#13 of 35 in Sandusky
238 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Rainwater Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baymont Inn & Suites Sandusky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baymont Inn & Suites Sandusky

Address: 1711 Cleveland Road, Sandusky, OH 44870-4305 (Formerly Comfort Inn Maingate)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
Price Range: £74 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Baymont Inn & Suites Sandusky 2*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you arrive at Baymont Inn Sandusky, we want you to relax and feel at home. Our helpful staff is there to welcome you, and you'll find inviting, clean rooms are just ahead. ALL Rooms Renovated in 2012! There's nothing more thrilling than a hotel right in the center of the action and here you are literally a hop, skip and a jump away from the main entrance to Cedar Point Amusement Park. Enjoy a well-appointed guest room and hotel amenities that include free HBO with premium cable TV, free local calls and wireless Internet, an extensive and complimentary breakfast and brand new fitness room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Baymont Inn & Suites Sandusky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Maingate Hotel Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Baymont Inn & Suites Sandusky Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing