We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice break from the park” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Famous Dave's

Famous Dave's
Ranked #6 of 180 Restaurants in Sandusky
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, View, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ashtabula, Ohio
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice break from the park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Went to Famous Dave's for dinner. Nice hour of relaxing and a great meal. The wait was estimated at 30-35 minutes for a table but we only waited 10 minutes for a table for four. Good food and the price was better than TGIFridays at hotel breakers in the lark.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stez11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    128
    44
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clover, South Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Chow after the thrill of Cedar Point.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

this particular Famous Dave's is part of the Cedar Point Amusement Park in Sandusky, OH. Have been there several times when we go to Cedar Point and love the menu. Especially, the "Rack of Ribs'. The service is excellent and you'll have a difficult time in beating the price for where it is and what it is. .Nothing like sitting down to a wonderful meal after a long day, (0900 until 1900 hours for the dates we are at Cedar Point. The only complaint we really have with it is that when the Park closes the restaurant closes. Appears to me it would be better if it stayed open for approximately 2 hours after the close of the park. So next year (2014), from about the Tuesday before the Memorial Day opening of the Park until Friday just before the Park opens we'll see you at, "Famous Dave's.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank harveyc44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwich, New York
Level Contributor
106 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good meal - Good prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

I visited famous Dave's while visiting Cedar point amusement park with my family. First it is great to be able to walk just outside the park to have a sit-down meal overlooking a marina. They are mostly barbecue, but they have a variety that covers the "picky kids" like mine. The prices were fair, especially being so close to the park. When I visit the park again I will visit Dave's.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank stiffishnickel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
90 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Finger Linkin Good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

We enjoyed the food while staying on Cedar Point property on vacation. We had a variety of foods and even had to get carry out boxes. The food was plentiful and the bbq was delicious. The location is very nice right on the marina.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank 4realguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
“Very disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

We had read good reviews about the food at Famous Dave's and decided to try it on an overnight getaway to Cedar Point. We were very disappointed with our experience. We chose a seat outside on the deck overlooking the marina. The service was extremely slow, but that wasn't the worst of it. Our food took over 45 minutes and when it arrived, my husbands sandwich and fries were cold and my salad, which was supposed to have pulled pork on it, was also cold. What made matters worse is that our waitress took both plates back to the kitchen, all to return 5 minutes later to bring my salad back to me saying that it was 'correct.' I told her to take it back and I wanted warm meat as the menu stated. When she returned with both of our meals, she notified us that the original sandwich was wrong and that it was now corrected. Needless to say, we waited over an hour for food that wasn't award winning by any means. We each had a beer and our bill was over $60 -- so not worth it. We will not come back to this restaurant next year.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank SDog36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Famous Dave's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing