We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cedar Point's Sandcastle Suites
Ranked #16 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
Bellefontaine, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Staying at this "resort" is strictly about location. You can park and walk or ride shuttles to anywhere on the Cedar Point property. The rooms are dated and small for the number of people they claim can reside in them. The room was reasonably clean and well maintained. Staff was helpful and polite. If you can book into the Hotel Breakers also on the property it is about 1/3 the walk to the amusement park that Sandcastle Suites is.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shawn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TyleratCP, Manager at Cedar Point's Sandcastle Suites, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    150
    118
    73
    77
See reviews for
352
47
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
217 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We stayed at Sandcastle suites in July 2013 with 6 people in our room. The room was adequate for 6 people but sharing one bathroom can be a challenge with that many people in the room. The room was clean and comfortable. Our kids slept on the Queen beds in the bedroom and my husband and I slept on the sofabed.

I was concerned staying here because other reviews said the sofabeds were not comfortable, but we had no problems crashing for the night and woke up ready to go the next a.m.

The best thing about this hotel is the location. It is close to Soak City and the Resort Entrance to Cedar Point - it's about a 5 minute walk. If you want to enter the park thru a differnet entrance, they have a shuttle that picks you up at the hotel and will drop you at any entrance. We used this multiple times and it worked great. Sometimes you are just too tired after a day in the park to think about walking back and this was the perfect solution.

Combine the location with the early entry to the park (we were walking on the popular rollercoasters the first 45 minutes) and Sandcastle suites can't be beat.

The kids were able to go back to the hotel anytime they wanted...which was very convenient and they couldn't have done that if we stayed off property.

The downside? No free breakfast offered - but there is a fridge in the room and we brought our own milk, cereal, granola bars, fruit, etc and had breakfast in our room before we headed out for the day.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TyleratCP, Manager at Cedar Point's Sandcastle Suites, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Thank you, we hope you will stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mantua, Ohio, United States
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2013

The room was clean and comfortable, a little on the small side though. We rode the shuttle to the gate. Made the mistake of walking back to the hotel. It is quite a walk when you are tired. The balcony was the only thing I did not like. The floors are wood like a deck. You can see through the spaces to the balcony above or below you. Not really very private. Overall we had a great stay if you don't count the flat tire we had. It is a little pricey but you are at a lakefront hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TyleratCP, Manager at Cedar Point's Sandcastle Suites, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
I'm sorry to hear about your flat tire but glad that you enjoyed your stay overall. Thank you for coming.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

The good: Short walk to both the water park and Cedar Point. As a family of 5, we appreciate the fold out couch. Most places only accommodate 4 people and want to charge you for two rooms if you have more than 4. You can head back to the room for a nap or an inexpensive lunch when you stay here and with cheese burgers at $9 in the park, a picnic in the room starts to make sense. The bathrooms are nicer than the last time we were here and the carpet was in better shape.
The not-so-good: Little pricey, rooms a bit small and you can hear every door slam and every kid that wins a basketball at CP as they dribble them back to their rooms. CP hires a lot of college students and more and more of them don't speak or understand English very well so questions sometimes don't get answered.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank T H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TyleratCP, Manager at Cedar Point's Sandcastle Suites, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Your review was very helpful. Thank you for taking the time to provide it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

The hotel is a great location, however the room was pretty jammed for 6 of us. The rooms are out of date and need updated. The hotel hot tub was gross and has not been cleaned all summer we could write on the sides of it ew!!!

Room Tip: If there are only four of you id stay here but six is too much! The view is really pretty though!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kamie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TyleratCP, Manager at Cedar Point's Sandcastle Suites, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Thank you for letting us know about the hot tub, we will check on this right away.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2013

If you are willing to spend a bit more money, staying on grounds is real convenient. Particularly if the teenagers wear out the parents who can retreat to the hotel for a few hours. You get 1 hour early entry, which helps you avoid real long lines, at least until the general public arrives.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Rick s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TyleratCP, Manager at Cedar Point's Sandcastle Suites, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
It's to good to hear we could provide some relaxation. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We had beautiful accommodations. They had many shuttles to the park. The hotel was great. It was VERY clean, the staff was very friendly and helpful and knowledgeable. Except for the price of the fast passes, (u couldn't ride without them or u would wait 2 or more hrs without them), they added $500.00 to our vacation. I would DEFINATELY tell my friends to go and stay @ Sand castle suites. Thanks for the good time. Terrie from NY

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Twilcox31196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TyleratCP, Manager at Cedar Point's Sandcastle Suites, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Thank you for the recommendation to your friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandusky
4.3 mi away
South Beach Resort Hotel
South Beach Resort Hotel
#2 of 3 in Marblehead
279 reviews
13.4 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#10 of 17 in Port Clinton
66 reviews
6.4 mi away
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Cedar Point's Express Hotel
0.5 mi away
Cedar Point's Hotel Breakers
5.5 mi away
Great Wolf Lodge
Great Wolf Lodge
#6 of 35 in Sandusky
2,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Point's Sandcastle Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Point's Sandcastle Suites

Property: Cedar Point's Sandcastle Suites
Address: 1 Cedar Point Dr, Sandusky, OH 44870-5259
Region: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cedar Point's Sandcastle Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close enough to the fun, yet secluded and relaxing, Sandcastle Suites has something for every member of your family. This all-suite hotel offers rooms with the features families want: flat-panel TVs, refreshed rooms, and screened in balconies. Situated at the tip of the Cedar Point Peninsula, Sandcastle Suites brings you dramatic views of Lake Erie and Sandusky Bay. Its 187 suites are equipped with conveniences like microwave ovens, coffee makers, hair dryers, irons, and refrigerators. Three of the suites are Grand Vista Suites, with Jacuzzis and wraparound decks or patios. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Cedar Point's Sandcastle Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandcastle Hotel Sandusky
Sandcastle Resort Sandusky
Cedar Point's Sandcastle Suites Sandusky, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing