We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Family Stay!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cedar Point's Sandcastle Suites
Ranked #17 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
1 review
“Fantastic Family Stay!!!”
Reviewed 2 August 2013

The Sandcastle Suites were amazing from Check-in to Check-out!!! We were a group of six and the suite provided plenty of room for everyone! The staff were all very kind and super polite. And plus all the perks with the package, including the following; Early Admisssion, Shuttle, and Discount Admission were all very appreciated for our trip. The grounds of the pool were very well maintained and it just made our experience swimming there all the more enjoyable. It felt that we didn't need to leave Cedar Point Property since it seemed that all of our needs were met with the Resturants, Shopping, The Park itself, The Beach and so many other activities that would keep even the liveliest of families busy. The beauty of the view of Lake Erie is something I will never forget and will hold dear as a treasured memory of one of the best summer trips that our family has ever had. The Sandcastle Suites, you can't ask for anything more :)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shari1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TyleratCP, Manager at Cedar Point's Sandcastle Suites, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
We're pleased to hear we could be a part of such a memorable trip for your family. Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    150
    117
    73
    77
See reviews for
352
46
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Stevensville, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Suite with 2 double beds and a fold-out was a bit small, but clean and comfortable. Not many places have room for 6. Discounted tickets and early entry to park are a big plus. Convenience was also worth a lot. Shuttles are very handy and I was able to leave my car at the resort while we enjoyed the park.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Charles P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TyleratCP, Manager at Cedar Point's Sandcastle Suites, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
We're glad to hear this worked for your family. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

I stayed here with some family members back in June 2013. Overall perks: the shuttle bus to the park, the early entry the next morning, and the DEAL on the park entry fee.

The room: our room was very clean, with a cute balcony that was great for relaxing with a cup of tea at the end of the day. The fridge was also very handy for keeping extra bottle of water cool for the next day. The room was also a great size - more than enough room for four adults. The bathroom was very clean. Our room had a separate area for the "living room" and "bedroom" which was perfect for sleeping and getting ready in the morning. Same with the separate sink from the toilet/shower.

Great stay - I'd highly recommend the Sandcastle Suites.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TB3410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TyleratCP, Manager at Cedar Point's Sandcastle Suites, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Thank you, we appreciate your recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mulberry, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Sand Castle hotel is terrible. My husband and I and a 14 years old brother stayed at Sand Castle for four nights. There are so many flies in the room. The room is very dirty. The sink and the bath tub are not draining. We addressed to the front desk. They took no actions.
Every day there is no housekeeping. I waited in the room after our second night stay to wait for them to clean our room. Nobody came until 5pm. The house keeping ladies gave me some new towels and I asked, "Could you guys clean our room?" One of them told me "No, it's after five pm now. We don't do any cleaning."
I was totally shocked. With average, I paid US$400/ night, total US$1700 for four nights stay and I didn't get any cleaning.
It was absolutely disgusting. The housekeeping ladies are rude. Then, my husband and I went up to the front desk and addressed the housekeeping issues and the sink and tub not draining. The front desk ladies just laughed and said, "Oh, I am sorry. We couldn't do anything about it. And about housekeeping, we have no control over them. They clean or not. It is totally up to them."
What even worse is that the house keeping ladies forced me to sign a paper stating that I am satisfied with their service after they gave me the towels without doing any work to my room. My husband had to take the trash out himself and I had to pick up all the towels to give to them.

Flies everywhere in the room.
Terrible stay.
Better stay away.
Also, it is 10 minutes walk to the park.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank c_callyS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TyleratCP, Manager at Cedar Point's Sandcastle Suites, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
I'm sorry to hear about your experience with us and how it was handled. So that we can look into this more, please contact Paul, the hotel manager, at 419-609-2024. We appreciate the opportunity to correct this for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sandusky hotels

Bellefontaine, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Staying at this "resort" is strictly about location. You can park and walk or ride shuttles to anywhere on the Cedar Point property. The rooms are dated and small for the number of people they claim can reside in them. The room was reasonably clean and well maintained. Staff was helpful and polite. If you can book into the Hotel Breakers also on the property it is about 1/3 the walk to the amusement park that Sandcastle Suites is.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shawn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TyleratCP, Manager at Cedar Point's Sandcastle Suites, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
217 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We stayed at Sandcastle suites in July 2013 with 6 people in our room. The room was adequate for 6 people but sharing one bathroom can be a challenge with that many people in the room. The room was clean and comfortable. Our kids slept on the Queen beds in the bedroom and my husband and I slept on the sofabed.

I was concerned staying here because other reviews said the sofabeds were not comfortable, but we had no problems crashing for the night and woke up ready to go the next a.m.

The best thing about this hotel is the location. It is close to Soak City and the Resort Entrance to Cedar Point - it's about a 5 minute walk. If you want to enter the park thru a differnet entrance, they have a shuttle that picks you up at the hotel and will drop you at any entrance. We used this multiple times and it worked great. Sometimes you are just too tired after a day in the park to think about walking back and this was the perfect solution.

Combine the location with the early entry to the park (we were walking on the popular rollercoasters the first 45 minutes) and Sandcastle suites can't be beat.

The kids were able to go back to the hotel anytime they wanted...which was very convenient and they couldn't have done that if we stayed off property.

The downside? No free breakfast offered - but there is a fridge in the room and we brought our own milk, cereal, granola bars, fruit, etc and had breakfast in our room before we headed out for the day.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TyleratCP, Manager at Cedar Point's Sandcastle Suites, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Thank you, we hope you will stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mantua, Ohio, United States
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2013

The room was clean and comfortable, a little on the small side though. We rode the shuttle to the gate. Made the mistake of walking back to the hotel. It is quite a walk when you are tired. The balcony was the only thing I did not like. The floors are wood like a deck. You can see through the spaces to the balcony above or below you. Not really very private. Overall we had a great stay if you don't count the flat tire we had. It is a little pricey but you are at a lakefront hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TyleratCP, Manager at Cedar Point's Sandcastle Suites, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
I'm sorry to hear about your flat tire but glad that you enjoyed your stay overall. Thank you for coming.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandusky
4.3 mi away
South Beach Resort Hotel
South Beach Resort Hotel
#2 of 3 in Marblehead
278 reviews
13.4 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#10 of 17 in Port Clinton
66 reviews
6.4 mi away
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Cedar Point's Express Hotel
0.5 mi away
Cedar Point's Hotel Breakers
5.5 mi away
Great Wolf Lodge
Great Wolf Lodge
#6 of 35 in Sandusky
2,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Point's Sandcastle Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Point's Sandcastle Suites

Property: Cedar Point's Sandcastle Suites
Address: 1 Cedar Point Dr, Sandusky, OH 44870-5259
Region: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cedar Point's Sandcastle Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close enough to the fun, yet secluded and relaxing, Sandcastle Suites has something for every member of your family. This all-suite hotel offers rooms with the features families want: flat-panel TVs, refreshed rooms, and screened in balconies. Situated at the tip of the Cedar Point Peninsula, Sandcastle Suites brings you dramatic views of Lake Erie and Sandusky Bay. Its 187 suites are equipped with conveniences like microwave ovens, coffee makers, hair dryers, irons, and refrigerators. Three of the suites are Grand Vista Suites, with Jacuzzis and wraparound decks or patios. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Cedar Point's Sandcastle Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandcastle Hotel Sandusky
Sandcastle Resort Sandusky
Cedar Point's Sandcastle Suites Sandusky, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing