We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for what you are there for”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cedar Point's Sandcastle Suites
Ranked #16 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
London, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect for what you are there for”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We stayed for two nights with 3 teenagers, 2 adults. The hotel is very close to the park, it was a nice 10 min (max) walk so we could go back and forth all day. The rooms were decent, clean and good for what we were there for, which was sleep, eat and shower. The kids enjoyed the separate "living room" to have a tv to themselves. The air conditioners worked really well - the room was chilly sometimes, the fridge worked and the hot water was exactly that.

We stocked up on pop, water and beer at the store and ordered pizza from the hotel restaurant which was very good and inexpensive.

The hotel is older and not fancy by any stretch of the word, but we thought it was great to not have to fight traffic or the parking lot each day. It was nice that our kids could walk to the park themselves if we didn't want to go. Great family time and we would stay there again

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank graceyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TyleratCP, Manager at Cedar Point's Sandcastle Suites, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
Thank you for making us part of your family's visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    153
    118
    74
    78
See reviews for
356
47
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Piqua, Ohio, United States
1 review
Reviewed 10 August 2013

I was very happy with the stay here! spent 2 nights and the convenience to not have to fight traffic along with the early entry to the park was great! I read in some other reviews that they thought the rooms were to small and some said they were dirty, I thought the room was just fine for 5 of us as far as size and our room was very clean! No this is not a room at the Hilton but I thought it was just fine! Others complain about the price, yes it is expensive but it is a part of staying in Cedar Point, everything is expensive! The kids loved the experience so it was worth every penny!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TyleratCP, Manager at Cedar Point's Sandcastle Suites, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
Thank you for staying with us. We're glad the kids are happy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We stayed at the sandcastle suites because it is marketed as a cedar point resort hotel and as a 'suite'. The hotel is run down and a a 15 - 20 minute walk to the rear park entrance. In our particular room the (dorm size) refrigerator was not working so all the perishable items we brought spoiled. There is a shuttle to the park, but on every occasion we called for it it was at least a 30 minute wait (the shuttles do not run continuously and you cannot ca for one to be waiting, you have to physically be there to order the shuttle). Also the A/C in the room was inadequate, and it was in the 70s (day) and 60s (night) yet still difficult to cool the room. The staff at the hotel was friendly enough, it just seems that the Cedar Point management has forgotten this hotel and is allowing it to run into the ground. I would recommend a different property for your stay in this area.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pilotnwv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TyleratCP, Manager at Cedar Point's Sandcastle Suites, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
Thank you for letting us know about the issues you encountered during your stay. I apologize for any inconvenience. We take guest feedback seriously and we will review the situations you mentioned.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio, United States
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

I booked a one night stay here for my best friend's bachelorette party. We arrived at 9:30 AM knowing that our room wouldn't be ready. A friendly girl at the front desk greeted us and even acknowledged the note about the upcoming wedding I wrote on the reservation. She gave us our tickets and was very helpful. We got a text halfway through our day at the park letting us know our room was ready. I was pleasantly surprised with the room arrangements. I was a little worried that we'd feel cramped with 6 of us, but that wasn't the case at all. The decor was very modern and the room was spotlessly clean. We called the front desk to request more towels and they brought them up to us within minutes. The beds were clean and comfortable. The next day, we used the pool and hot tub after we checked out. I must say that I have never seen lifeguards do their job as well as these two ladies did. They were alert and constantly scanning the waters, even when no one was in the pool. Overall, a perfect weekend. We usually stay at the Breakers but we will use Sandcastle Suites from now on. Excellent!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ainsleyk13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TyleratCP, Manager at Cedar Point's Sandcastle Suites, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
Thank you for the awesome review of Sandcastle Suites!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kokomo
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

I've stayed at Hotel Breakers every time I've gone to CP, so this is the first time I've stayed at Sandcastle. It's a lot more quiet than Breakers and the pool looks like It's never used by very many people. I just loved the fact that there were people smoking right behing the lobby by the pool right next to the NO SMOKING signs. The lobby is nice, but the gift shop is quite small. The one in Breakers is much better. One thing is that don't let the picture on their web site fool you. The room is much more smaller than it appears, but who cares really. You're only there to sleep. The Breakwater Cafe next to the hotel has a breakfast buffet and only my oldest son ate there. He said the food is better than most Hotel breakfast buffets, but he wasn't sure if it was worth $12. I walked in there to see how he was doing and there were hardly any people in there. I didn't really like the fact that the wings are separate from the lobby. It made it feel like I was in a motel instead of a hotel. In summary, if you like peace and quite, this is the place to stay. If you like to socialize and be around a lot of people, then Breakers is a better hotel. You can't swim in the lake by Sandcastle, but you can just walk down to Breakers.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Richard B R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TyleratCP, Manager at Cedar Point's Sandcastle Suites, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
Thank you for providing a review of your visit. We appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haslett, MI
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

My son and I usually stay at Lighthouse Point. For some reason, the computer did not have our reservations, even though I had made them in March. The employee at the campground did all she could to help, but she was unable to find the reservation. She said that Sandcastle Suites had vacancies, even though it cost more. We decided to pay the extra, instead of look for a motel off grounds. Sandcastle Suites was well worth the money. We enjoyed being so close to the park. We also enjoyed the swimming pol.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank WildBappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TyleratCP, Manager at Cedar Point's Sandcastle Suites, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
I apologize for the confusion with your reservation but I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your visit. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Rooms were clean. Slept 2 adults and 4 teens comfortably. Location was great. Only negative was the front desk told us we could exchange are fast pass vouchers at any merchant in the park and they were wrong. We ended up having to walk all the way back to the entrance to exchange. Quite an expensive trip when u figure hotel, park tickets, fast passes, gas, and food for six but nothing's cheap anymore.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gigisue15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TyleratCP, Manager at Cedar Point's Sandcastle Suites, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your visit. We appreciate your comments and will take a look at the FastLane redemption process.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandusky
4.3 mi away
South Beach Resort Hotel
South Beach Resort Hotel
#2 of 3 in Marblehead
282 reviews
13.4 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#10 of 17 in Port Clinton
66 reviews
3.2 mi away
Cedar Point's Express Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
0.5 mi away
Cedar Point's Hotel Breakers
5.5 mi away
Great Wolf Lodge
Great Wolf Lodge
#7 of 35 in Sandusky
2,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Point's Sandcastle Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Point's Sandcastle Suites

Property: Cedar Point's Sandcastle Suites
Address: 1 Cedar Point Dr, Sandusky, OH 44870-5259
Region: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cedar Point's Sandcastle Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close enough to the fun, yet secluded and relaxing, Sandcastle Suites has something for every member of your family. This all-suite hotel offers rooms with the features families want: flat-panel TVs, refreshed rooms, and screened in balconies. Situated at the tip of the Cedar Point Peninsula, Sandcastle Suites brings you dramatic views of Lake Erie and Sandusky Bay. Its 187 suites are equipped with conveniences like microwave ovens, coffee makers, hair dryers, irons, and refrigerators. Three of the suites are Grand Vista Suites, with Jacuzzis and wraparound decks or patios. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Cedar Point's Sandcastle Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandcastle Hotel Sandusky
Sandcastle Resort Sandusky
Cedar Point's Sandcastle Suites Sandusky, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing