We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Drop dead gorgeous carousel animals.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Merry-Go-Round Museum

Merry-Go-Round Museum
Ranked #5 of 37 things to do in Sandusky
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
131 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Drop dead gorgeous carousel animals.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

Highlight of our visit to Sandusky was a trip to the Merry-Go-Round Museum where expert woodsmiths and painters painstakingly and lovingly restore some of these past relics to better than new condition. Did you know there are three distinctly different kinds of merry-go-round horses? With a working carousel in the center of the museum, anyone who appreciates the memories of these fun rides is certain to love a slow wander around the dozens of pieces collected here.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank TravelWriterDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    53
    7
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
44 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“So very cool”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Never thought a Merry-go-Round museum would be worth looking at but I was completely wrong. They have a huge history about them. More than you would ever think existed.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Travalar_X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Less of a museum, more like an art gallery.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

The Museum had some interesting and beautiful carved carousel animals. My main complaint is that the museum did not actually include much history about Merry-Go-Rounds. When did Merry-Go-Rounds start ? It told you the names of the artists that carved the animals but nothing else about the industry. It was a small museum and a little pricey for what was exhibited. I would have liked a little more history with the beautiful art work.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank PghCondor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A hidden GEM!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

We went on Rainy day on a whim, we stayed for 2 hours and really learned a lot, spoke with passionate staff, and cannot wait to go back! A great history, engaging tourguide, and collection and a professional carver to answer questions.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
161 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Awesome side trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

90 minutes of a unique experience for the kids and us. Around 100 piece form over a century ago, a working merry-go-round with the Wurlitzer playing the tunes.. a great treat... the wood carving station adjacent to the exhibit is staffed throughout the week, and the gent we talked with was kind to the kids, very knowledgeable, friendly, and interesting. Definitely a must stop for all ages!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Merry-Go-Round Museum also viewed

 

Been to Merry-Go-Round Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing