We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine but not fabulous”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Sandusky
Ranked #16 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
243 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Fine but not fabulous”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

We stayed at the Fairfield as it was rated #1 with Trip Advisor. The room was nice but not particularly large or beautiful. The outside seemed very plain for a Marriott property, but certainly clean and well maintained. Breakfast was above average for chains of this caliber as it featured Jimmy Dean breakfast sandwiches. Also had really nice pastries. The breakfast attendant was very friendly and helpful. Front desk staff were pleasant and efficient and offered to call a cab to get us to the train depot in the early morning. The rates at this Fairfield were $30-$40 higher than the Comfort Inn that we stayed at in Sandusky on this same trip. Although the bed and the breakfast was nicer, I'm not sure that overall the Fairfield was significantly nicer. I should add that the reason we didn't stay the entire trip at the Fairfield was because of a rate question. I had originially booked a two night stay, then decided to come in a day early. When I called the hotel two days prior to our projected arrival,(Sandusky number, not the 800 number,) I was told that there was a room available, but that rates changed daily. For this reason, the desk person could not tell me what rate I'd pay for that additional night. She said it was "hotel policy," not to give the rate. I asked at what point I would know what rate I would pay, and was told that I wouldn't know the rate until I actually checked in - by that time it would be too late to cancel. Because of my discomfort with agreeing to reserve a room without knowing the rate, we stayed our first of three nights in Sandusky at the Comfort Inn.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nomad062_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    134
    76
    19
    11
See reviews for
190
62
18
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

Stayed here on Easter Sunday. Staff was very pleasant. Hotel was very clean, and up to date. They offer cookies and popcorn in the lobby which was fun. Comfortable beds and comforters. Free breakfast with a nice selection, and complimentary roll-away bed. Room was a little on the smaller side, but not that big of a deal. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick6212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
121 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012 via mobile

Arrived at check-in time and no one at desk. The desk clerk was on the Internet at what I guess is the guest's computer station. We were not given the higher floor as we had requested in our reservation. Instead, we were put in a room across from the housekeeping supplies and by the stairs. The hotel was nearly empty and we wanted the higher floor for quiet but decided not to bother asking to be moved since there were so few other guests. Big mistake. Heard walkie talkies and other employees in the hallway often. Beds were so soft that it felt like you would fall out. Worst lodging we have stayed at in years. The next time we have to travel to family that direction, we will look for somewhere else. Only positives: free wifi and decent breakfast.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank J G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

No towels. Rude front desk. They threatened to call the police on our children for having too much fun. Locked us out of the breakfast room. Had to socialize with our friends in the freezing cold lobby. Terrible, the worst service ever. I will never stay there again. Not enough food or microwaves for the free breakfast. Housekeeping overheard discussing their lack of tips. Service people overhead discussing a guest would "just have to wait" for hot water for hot chocolate. Just awful.

Room Tip: Go to another facility.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Carla127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
180 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

Stayed here with the family for 2 nights. The room itself was comfortable but the bathroom was in serious need of a make-over with peeling, old caulking & a tub that was so old it was permanently stained. Needless to say, we didn't feel very comfortable using it.

The front desk was also not very helpful or friendly. We asked for a print out of directions for our destination & they flat out refused. We never had a problem requesting this in other hotels.

The breakfast was also of poor quality with microwable sausages and not much selection.

We've stayed at variuos Marriott hotels and this was not the quality we have learned to expect from such a well-know chain.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kai-HT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

... I'm a little behind posting my reviews ...

Our family (our three grown kids, my wife and I) stayed in this Fairfield Hotel in July 2011. We usually organize our trips to Cedar Point in such a way that we avoid staying in Sandusky, because the lodging can be expensive and, ummmm, a bit tired. Nonetheless, we decided to give Sandusky hotels another chance. The Fairfield in Sandusky was a very pleasant surprise. Naturally, the price was a tad toward the high'ish end; that's the norm in Sandusky during the summer. Overall, though, we'd gladly stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Dacamic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perrysburg, Ohio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

Room was very clean and very comfortable. Staff was friendly and helpful. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FamilyL0vesT0Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandusky hotels
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#4 of 35 in Sandusky
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
0.6 mi away
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Sandusky-Central
0.7 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#7 of 35 in Sandusky
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
3.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Rainwater Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Sandusky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Sandusky

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Sandusky
Address: 6220 Milan Rd, Sandusky, OH 44870-9000
Region: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Sandusky 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Fairfield Inn & Suites, located in beautiful Sandusky, Ohio. Our hotel is conveniently situated on Route 250, within a short drive of local attractions including Cedar Point Amusement Park, Sandusky State Theater, Kalahari Water Park, and various shopping, dining, and nature trails along unforgettable Lake Erie. We offer various room sizes to accommodate travelers for leisure and business alike. We want you to work well, eat well, rest well, and be well, so at our hotel you can stay connected with free high speed internet, start your day with our complimentary hot breakfast, work out in our fitness center, relax in a heated indoor pool, sleep soundly in luxury bedding, and enjoy flat screen televisions with newly added HD channels. Come and see how Fairfield has what you need to be at your best during your travels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Sandusky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Sandusky Hotel Sandusky
Fairfield Sandusky
Sandusky Fairfield Inn
Fairfield Inn & Suites Sandusky Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing