We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing for part of the Marriott family”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Sandusky
Ranked #16 of 34 Hotels in Sandusky
Reviewed 29 August 2014

I understand that Fairfield Inn is the budget branch of the Marriott family however I still have certain expectations. We arrived to check in and had to yell to get service at the desk. The auto doors openes so I knew somone heard us, we waited, nothing. I called out hello, nothing. I believe it was on my third hello that a woman finally made her way to the desk, very slowly. She said she didn't hear us??? The property only had handicap accessible rooms when we booked and that should be fine but the bathroom was completely outdated. The grout was all dark and dirty looking, and there was peeling wall paper in the bathroom. The bed was clean but it has a foam layer on the top and it was very uncomfortable. It was too soft and not supportive. To me it seemed like a cheap version of a pillow top. There was a small fridge and microwave which was nice.

Breakfast was included but disappointing. The sausage looked super greasy and wet at the same time. The eggs were bland and gross. The muffin selection was sad.

Overall I was very disappointed. The price is not cheap and still about 15 minutes to Cedar Point. I would suggest you stay some place closer to the park or someplace nicer if you are going to do the drive.

Room Tip: Ask if they have any updated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travelbugsforlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WendyWoodsKaneakua, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Sandusky, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know how we are doing at the Fairfield Inn. I was very sad to hear that your experience with us was unpleasant. In order to address the concerns you have brought up, I would truly appreciate more information about the time of your stay so that I can bring these concerns up with the appropriate individuals to ensure that this will not happen again in the future. If I may kindly ask you to send me a personal message identifying the night of your stay so that I can do the appropriate research into the cause of your uncomfortable experience? Our staff takes great pride in providing exceptional customer satisfaction and I'd like to make sure that I am holding each staff member accountable to these expectations. Thanks again, and I look forward to your response, at your convenience.

Sincerely,

Wendy Woods
General Manager
Fairfield Inn and Suites
Sandusky, Oh
wendy.woods@marriott.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (377)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 377 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2014

Was a bit disappointed that they removed the hot tub from the swimming pool area and the work out area was a bit small. We did however get upgraded to a suite which was nice. Breakfast was good although they did not change the menu over the 3 mornings that we were there. All in all a good stay and the staff were quite friendly.

Room Tip: The suites are a bit more roomy but not worth the extra cost. Ask for a free upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank GMKISOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WendyWoodsKaneakua, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Sandusky, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Please accept my appreciation for your review of the Fairfield Inn and Suites! Yes, we were also very sad to see the whirlpool removed, but we are very fortunate in still having the spacius and comfortable jaccuzzi tubs in select rooms in the hotel for those who will miss the whirpool as much as we do! It is a pleasure to know that we were able to accomodate your stay and we hope you will visit us again soon!

Sincerely,

Wendy Woods
General Manager
Fairfield Inn and Suites
Sandusky, Oh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

The front desk staff was very polite, friendly and helpful. The room was very clean, comfortable, modern, we had a king bed, there is a safe, microwave, small fridge, free wi-fi, nice size tv, very nice. They have a pool that we did not use. Breakfast was included and extremely nice - they had sausage, bacon, eggs (scrambled and hard boiled), yogart, mixed fruit, cold cereals, oatmeal, toast, bagels, muffins, waffles, juice, coffee, tea, milk (sorry if I forgot anything). I would stay there again. Kudos Fairfield Inn - thanks for doing such a great job!

Room Tip: We requested a room with a king bed, it was comfortable, spacious, great air conditioning. We were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank sandrahaaspiper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WendyWoodsKaneakua, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Sandusky, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Thank you so much for your review of how we are doing at the Fairfield Inn! We are very happy to have been able to provide you with the exceptional service and quality that you deserve, and we look forward to seeing you next time!

Sincerely,

Wendy Woods
General Manager
Fairfield Inn and Suites
Sandusky, Oh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We were traveling and needed a room for a one night stay. The clerk and other employees that we spoke with were friendly and helpful in answering our questions. The room was clean and beds were comfortable. Nice breakfast bar with eggs, waffles, bacon, plenty of fresh fruit, cereal.
No complaints about this hotel and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank DKK515251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WendyWoodsKaneakua, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Sandusky, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about our hotel! We take great pride in knowing that we were able to provide you with a comfortable and relaxing stay. We hope to see you again on your next visit to the area.

Sincerely,

Wendy Woods
General Manager
Fairfield Inn and Suites
Sandusky, Oh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

The workout room leaves something to be desired, but I suppose I'm not really here to workout anyway . . . Rooms were clean, staff was friendly, and it was reasonably quiet. We had a couple rooms on the backside of the facility and had pretty good sleep.
It's a few miles from cedar point so the location is convenient, plus there are plenty of places to get food and supplies within relatively short distances.
They don't have many full service hotel amenities, and the 'market' that they have made me giggle (read: old mother Hubbard), but overall it was pleasant. We would stay there again, with our expectations set accordingly.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank CSDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WendyWoodsKaneakua, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Sandusky, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about our hotel! Please accept my apologies for the market being bare while you were staying with us, and I hope you'll come back again soon so that we can provide you with a treat from our current selection. Thanks again, and we look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Wendy Woods
General Manager
Fairfield Inn and Suites
Sandusky, Oh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed here in July 2015 for a trip to cedar point. As a platinum marriot rewards member I must say this hotel is the worst I've experience. The hotel staff was unfriendly and slow. The room (2 double beds) had cob webs on the ceiling. The bathroom had hair everywhere. I requested extra towels and pillows, I got neither. For the price I will NEVER stay here again. Also think I should mention that I am in no way affiliated with this or any other hotel.

Stayed: July 2014
4  Thank Bobby G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WendyWoodsKaneakua, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Sandusky, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Fairfield Inn & Suites Sandusky. Please accept my sincere apology that your recent stay was so far below your - and our - expectations.

You’re a valued customer, and the feedback has certainly proved valuable in holding our staff more accountable for their work. Please be assured that we are taking immediate corrective steps to avoid such problems in the future.

If you would like to discuss your experience further, please feel free to contact me directly at the phone number listed below. Once again, please accept my apology. We would like to regain your trust and we hope you will allow us an opportunity to provide you with an exceptional guest experience when your travels bring you back to this area.

Wendy Woods
General Manager
Sandusky Fairfield Inn & Suites
ffi.clesd.gm@marriott.com
419-621-9500

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

For $180 a night, you'd think it'd be a relatively decent hotel... however, it really was far from. First of all, everything in this hotel is built for children. I'm 5'11", so it's not like I'm a tall guy or anything, but everything in this hotel seems to be too small. The toilet, vanity area, tub, desk, and bed (my feet were actually hanging off the edge) were all child sized. Outside of the room, the fitness center which seems to have been thrown together last minute had 1 treadmill which seemed to always be used. It is a shame that a hotel that claims to be a 6 on the Marriott scale can't even beat the Best Western's fitness center next door. The hotel is also about as far away from Sandusky as a hotel in Sandusky can be. I think the only hotel farther is the Kalahari which as onsite restaurants, shops, and a much larger fitness center. In addition, the breakfast, though with variety was in a child sized rooms where it was impossible to find a table almost all of the time. As for the advertised market, it was nonexistent. All and all, though the beds were comfy for the price paid, the hotel was definitely not worth it (unless you are a child or short person.)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank UsaLake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WendyWoodsKaneakua, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Sandusky, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Fairfield Inn & Suites Sandusky.

You indicated in your response that the size of the hotel was unsatisfactory. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced. We take great pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your—or our own—expectations. In regards to the market, at the time of your stay we were focusing on renovating the market items and so your stay had unfortunately coincided with our efforts to start with a fresh selection and new shelves. Our goal is to address your concerns so that we can ensure you have an exceptional experience on your next visit so we will certainly take more care to expedite our renewal processes.

You’re a valued customer; everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience. We would like to regain your trust and hope to serve you again in the future. If I may be of assistance, please don’t hesitate to contact me.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandusky hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#7 of 34 in Sandusky
385 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Sandusky-Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn Sandusky - Cedar Point
0.7 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#5 of 34 in Sandusky
363 reviews
0.6 mi away
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Sandusky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Sandusky

Address: 6220 Milan Rd, Sandusky, OH 44870-9000
Region: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 34 Hotels in Sandusky
Price Range: £73 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Sandusky 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Fairfield Inn & Suites, located in beautiful Sandusky, Ohio. Our hotel is conveniently situated on Route 250, within a short drive of local attractions including Cedar Point Amusement Park, Sandusky State Theater, Kalahari Water Park, and various shopping, dining, and nature trails along unforgettable Lake Erie. We offer various room sizes to accommodate travelers for leisure and business alike. We want you to work well, eat well, rest well, and be well, so at our hotel you can stay connected with free high speed internet, start your day with our complimentary hot breakfast, work out in our fitness center, relax in a heated indoor pool, sleep soundly in luxury bedding, and enjoy flat screen televisions with newly added HD channels. Come and see how Fairfield has what you need to be at your best during your travels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Sandusky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Sandusky Hotel Sandusky
Fairfield Sandusky
Sandusky Fairfield Inn
Fairfield Inn & Suites Sandusky Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing