We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hampton Inn, Sandusky Ohio”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn Sandusky-Central
Ranked #2 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
Certificate of Excellence
Beamsville, Canada
1 review
“Hampton Inn, Sandusky Ohio”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Great location, very close to Kalahari Water Park and lots of restaurants and shopping. Good value. Comfortable rooms, comfortable beds. Very nice breakfast area, with a generous breakfast offering (great coffee). Very helpful staff.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    114
    51
    17
    10
See reviews for
185
75
10
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Medina, OH
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Stayed at this Hampton Inn as it was close to Sawmill Creek where we were attending a convention, and the price was less than the convention rate at SMC. Tack on free breakfast & Hilton Honors points & it was a no-brainer! So glad I decided the 5 min. drive was worth the savings, because this is a great little Hampton Inn! We even talked a friend into booking a room there instead of driving home.

Rooms were clean & comfortable. They provided us with a toothbrush that one of us forgot to pack, and the cookies & donut holes they set out in the afternoon & evening were very tasty! The pool was on the small side, but the area was clean. Besides some annoying kids in there at the same time, and the tiny towels they set out to use, the kids enjoyed the pool & hot tub.

The free breakfast was wonderful! Plenty to choose from and everything was fresh. Staff was helpful at all times. The heating system in the room was nice & quiet. We heard a few doors close a bit loudly, but requested top floor (3rd) so as not to hear anyone above us.

Room Tip: I always ask for a room on the top floor. Have learned my lesson in the past!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dssmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goshen, United States
1 review
Reviewed 3 November 2013

My wife organized a weekend trip to Cedar Point over Halloweekends just before our anniversary trip to Mexico, and this is the hotel that she found for us to stay in after a day on the roller coast. It can be a bit dicy when it comes to Sandusky hotels, but this one is above reproach. Great value. Clean. Great staff. Good breakfast. Secure.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Janie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rochester, ny, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

This hotel was fantastic!! The front desk staff was helpful and welcoming. There was a lady single handedly running the breakfast, keeping everything well stocked and as well as helping people to make waffles. At night games were set up in the lobby with fresh popcorn. There were even to go bags with breakfast for those who did not have time to sit down. The cleanliness of the entire property was impeccable.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
2 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Fitness center too small and too close to the pool. Service is good. Room is OK, carpet a little dated, Security is good. Staff is friendly. Free coffee is always a bonus. Location is close to shopping and resturants.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Marko S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We stayed 1 night for halloweekends at Cedar Point. We played at the park all day, and checked in around 10pm. I had called ahead to let them know we'd do a late check-in and Brian was very friendly on the phone. When we arrived, he was again very courteous and gave us all the info we needed. I asked about late night pizza places, and he told us Papa John's would be the best bet, and they deliver straight to the room.

The whirlpool is open until 1am which is awesome. We were just too tired to use it.

The hotel looked clean inside and out, and was well lit. We did the cursory check for bed bugs, and found no evidence of them or any other bugs.

We stayed in a room with two doubles, and the beds were that size. I know some people have complained that the doubles were the size of twins, but they weren't. They were definitely double beds. I'm not sure they were the best beds in the world, but I slept soundly, and woke up without any soreness any where. There is also a sign in the elevator listing all the upgrades they are in the process of making between now and 2014, and they are upgrading to queen beds instead of doubles, so that's something to look forward to.

Some people have also complained that the duvets were lumpy, which is true, but since I don't sleep ON the duvet, who cares? I was warm all night. However, if you're super prissy and high maintenance to the point where if everything is not absolutely perfect, this place is not for you. If you're a normal person who is happy with clean facilities, and comfy beds, it's worth the few extra minutes travel time from Cedar Point.

The thermostat is digital and adjusts by 2 degree increments. It was very quiet, and did not keep me awake. It also heated up the room quickly.

The hot breakfast was great. They had fresh fruit (including pineapple), yogurt, western omelets, home fries, bagels, english muffins, wheat bread, pastries, muffins, oatmeal with several types of toppings, apple juice, orange juice, 3 types of coffee, lots of different hot teas, water, waffles, individual cereals and hard boiled eggs. If you can't find something to eat in that you're too difficult.

I'm very sensitive to the smell of smoke, and didn't smell it anywhere on the property.

Also, they have great vending machines with lots of variety in both snacks and drinks. The vending machines also have toothbrushes and otc medications.

The furniture does have a somewhat worn look to it (at least in our room), but that's being upgraded too.

Our room was on the 3rd floor and two rooms away from the elevator. I never noticed elevator noise like I have in some hotels.

We only spent 13 hours in the hotel but the whole time was pleasant, and I'll definitely come back if we do this trip again next year.

Room Tip: Rooms by the elevator are still quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Redkree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We enjoyed our recent stay at the Hampton Inn. The complimentary cookie was delicious. The popcorn snack in the afternoon was tasty. We stayed at the hotel while visiting Cedar Point. It is close to the park, without the traffic and price of "Cedar Point" hotels. The location is great, since there are a lot of restaurants nearby. The staff was really nice. Also, the hotel feels new and clean. We will likely return in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nedradc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandusky hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#7 of 35 in Sandusky
338 reviews
3.7 mi away
Cedar Point's Express Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn Sandusky - Cedar Point
0.6 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#4 of 35 in Sandusky
350 reviews
0.5 mi away
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Sandusky-Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Sandusky-Central

Property: Hampton Inn Sandusky-Central
Address: 6100 Milan Rd, Sandusky, OH 44870-5870
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Sandusky
#3 Family Hotel in Sandusky
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Sandusky-Central 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Sandusky-Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Sandusky-Central Hotel Sandusky
Sandusky Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Sandusky-Central Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing