We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanksgiving stay”
Review of Great Wolf Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Great Wolf Lodge
Ranked #6 of 34 Hotels in Sandusky
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Had stayed another water park resort in Sandusky previous times and wanted to see how Great Wolf compared.
Checked in online, so our room was ready when we arrived. We were on the 1st floor and our room was large and clean.
The water park was nothing special-no outdoor hot tub, the lazy river was a joke (who lets their kids swim in there without a tube? The lifeguard paid no attention to it!) but my kids had fun, so I guess that is what counts. I did like the changing room/bathroom in the water park.
The story time would have been great except for the music blaring out of the speakers in the lobby and the pushy parents having their kids cut in line for pictures with Oliver!
We had a $30 credit that we spent on pizza, salad and cheeseburger. The food was very good!
We didn't do the MagicQuest or buy a paw pass ($55? no thank you!) but did go to the gameroom.
Overall, it was fun but I think we'll stick to staying at the other water park resort.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelgal1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,747)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,118 - 2,124 of 2,747 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2013

If you want to please two kids 6 & under its a great place for one night. saw no need to stay for 2 nights. The cub room is small but fun for 30 minutes or so. The clock show is overrated but story time is a nice touch. The waterpark is geared toward younger children. if you have teens go somewhere else. wasn't overcrowded when we were there. breakfast is average. recommend going out (steak n shake is next door)
Kids loved having their own little cabin in the room. no regrets on staying but wouldn't have wanted to stay more nights in a row.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TDW_3002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We've stayed at the Great Wolf Lodge in Sandusky many, many times......it's convenient to family and makes our Thanksgiving holiday extra special because we can include a night at the water park part of our holiday.

Tonight was absolutely the worst experience EVER at this place. We enjoyed an afternoon in the water park and everything about our room was great but the experience at Gitchigoomee is laughable.

Without going into great details, we waited for ever for a greeting, for service, for drinks and for our dinner. We planned to be there are 6:45PM to hit the 8PM lobby show and the food arrived at 7:50PM. All the food was lukewarm, flavorless and unappetizing. Management didn't really care about our concerns, in fact, you could see them collaborating behind the bar, talking about us, after we complained. They offered some free dessert, but i explained that I wasn't looking for a freebie - just wanted to let them know that something had gone systemically wrong. They blamed it on "trainees".

We will continue to be Great Wolf Lodge customers but i will never eat in this place again!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank luvkeuka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

I had a $400 gift card for Great Wolf Lodge and wanted to spend it there. It was very frustrate as their employee do not know how to apply this gift card as payment. We ended up wasting most of our valuable family time at cash registers. I was thinking if they are planning on selling gift cards then they should spend some time to train their employee better. This confusion consistently shows throughout the resort, including the Gitchigoomie Grill, the Gift shop, the Lumber Jack's Cook Shanty, the Bear Paw Sweets & Eats, the Klondike Cafe inside water park and the front desk. Most of them gave up trying after we waited a long time to call a manager on duty for assistant. When my son stopped by the Lumber Jack's Cook Shanty for a bottle of soda, the girl ended up wiped out all of our available balance on the gift card. We did not find that out until later when we try to use it again at the gift shop. We order a pepperoni pizza there for $13.99 and it was stale. Our kids was hungry as a wolf but still refused to eat that pizza. Other than that the water park is nice, small size though but we knew this up front. Just really hated the fact that we wasted a lot of our vacation time unnecessary.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Suppermom123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

My wife and I decided to take our kids on a one night stay to this resort. We have stayed at a Great Wolf previous and knew that on day 2 of the stay we would need to check out by 11 but could continue to use the water park the remainder of the day. We received a phone call after we had paid (and told the kids) that the park was closing at 1pm on the second day. I requested a room upgrade that they did provide at no additional cost. The kids were very disappointed about be forced to leave early and I requested a discounted stay in the future and was told this was not possible and the room upgrade was good enough. Please tell that to my kids! Had we known before booking and telling our kids the resort was closing early we would have came at a different time. A room upgrade when your resort is empty didn't cost you any additional money, but leaving early did cost me several hours of family time.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Treama4227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We stopped here for a night on our way to the midwest. The place was great. Many fun options for adults and kids. Waterpark and arcade room is a blast. Staff was friendly as well. I left my toothpaste behind and they did not have any at reception, but I was able to purchase one in the gift shop.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
Thank Betty V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stayed here from October 11-14, 2013. Had a whirlpool room. First thing I noticed was a stink in the room, like a wet towel left laying around in a ball for a few days. Basically just got used to it. The waterpark is nice but not fabulous. Good for kids under 12. Older kids would get bored quickly. Lazy river had little current. Didn't eat any meals at the Lodge because they are waaaaayyyyy over priced and not included. Most hotels at least include bagels or fruit. Not here. All the extras are just that...extra. Trick or treat was funas well as story time. The sneak in a $13 per night charge too that basically is for internet, so read your bill carefully. It was called a "resort fee."

All in all, a very Disney like cost structure ($25 for a wand game running around the lodge??) but without the magic of Disney, well known characters, and massive theme parks. Smaller waterpark than Splash Lagoon in Erie, no wave pool either.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gregenstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandusky hotels
0.9 mi away
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#7 of 34 in Sandusky
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn Sandusky - Cedar Point
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Sandusky-Central
2.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Rainwater Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Wolf Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Wolf Lodge

Address: 4600 Milan Rd, Sandusky, OH 44870-5840
Region: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 34 Hotels in Sandusky
Price Range: £150 - £311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Wolf Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 271
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Great Wolf Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Bear Lodge Sandusky
Great Wolf Lodge Sandusky, Ohio
Great Wolf Hotel Sandusky
Great Wolf Sandusky
Great Wolf Lodge Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing