We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Softball Tournament”
Review of Great Wolf Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Great Wolf Lodge
Ranked #7 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
Buffalo, New York
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Softball Tournament”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We attended my daughters softball tournament in nearby Huron this past weekend. This was our second time at the Lodge and we could not be happier with our stay. Things were just a pleasing as our first stay. I was a little nervous travelling with a softball team and was expecting several other teams in the hotel that weekend. I know there were but the girls were well behaved. As stated before, the hotel is clean and neat, Our room was just right and of course the waterpark was a blast. I felt very comfortable letting our older kids (12, 11 and 9) run around and enjoy themselves while my wife and I attended to our 2 year old daughter. She loved the park and did not want to leave.
If you are visiting Cedar Point or any other attractions in the area look into staying at the Great Wolf...it is worth it.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hemo14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,491 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    946
    733
    458
    218
    136
See reviews for
2,202
28
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lexington
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I had high hopes for this hotel, because of the raving reviews i had heard. But there were two adults, two teenagers, and four children, and there was not exactly something for all of them. The hotel is truly oriented towards families with younger children, because of the activities they have available, (which is wonderful if you have the money to spend). The rooms were clean for the most part, but i did find cobwebs in places, and the staff was incredibly helpful and friendly. The prices overall was outrageous, regardless of shopping, eating, or playing around the amenities the hotel had to offer inside it's oak resembled doors.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less children running around on them and are farther away from noise. Check web...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LLWEBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln Park, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I would like to thank LaVerne Barron for her excellent customer service. This was our second trip to GWL in one month and the first time was truly the best. The hotel was not croweded, it was plenty of activities for kids and the food at the resturants were really good.

The second trip was for my 13 year Bday. Everything was the same except there was a problem with our check in and then a problem with the final bill. Exhausted and somewhat stressed, I expressed my irritation. LaVerne was nothing but pleasant and nice while trying to resolve my issues. She later saw me in the restroom and continued to follow up with my stay. She was truly nice and concerned for the satisfaction of the guest. So I will be returning to GWL.
Shavonne Brown
Lincoln Park, MI

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shavonnerown B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I would definitely stay here again! Very close to Cedar Point. My two kids loved all of the activities that the hotel offered. The waterpark and MagiQuest were their favorites. The lobby show was so cute. The rooms were clean and the staff was nice. I only wish that the bathrooms were a little larger but overall a great hotel!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank olive455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Royal, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

This is definitely a place for families. I stayed here with some friends for Colossalcon in June and while we managed to make it worth our time (we utilized the hot tub and arcade) we just were not the target audience.
If you're looking for something more adult, definitely choose the Kalahari because the Great Wolf Lodge is more suitable for families with younger children.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

After a trip up to Niagara Falls with the family we decided to kick back and relax for 2 last days of vacation at Great Wolf in Sandusky. Perfect 10 for families with kids 10 and under. The hotel was nice and the facilities were clean. The staff was very willing to help answer any question. There was even a cheerleading convention in for the week and there was never any extra noise. The older kids had a great time on all the slides and pool areas. The younger kids never missed a opportunity to take in the various indoor slides and play areas. The Magic quest games are fun for everyone, but just consider the prices. Its about 30 bucks a kid to get his own game and wand, but it is a bunch of fun and a good energy burn (It does include 8 quests that provide lots of different games). The character presentation at 8:00 in front of the main clock tower was neat, but more for the younger kids. The food was good in the different venues, but we did venture out for breakfast on day two. Overall, a good place to let the kids roam in a controlled area and the adults can enjoy some down time or jump in the fun too.

It is also a great place to stay if you plan on going to Cedar Point or if you need to divide your group based on age. Older kids spend a day at Cedar point, while the younger swim and have fun.

This location is as advertised...great for ages 10 and under. Clean, courteous, and not over priced.

Room Tip: Stayed on the top floor in a family suite unit and never had any noise issues. The top floor was th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubuque, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We stayed here 2 nights while going to Cedar Point! It was perfect. Kids enjoyed rides during the day and swimming at night! Hotel was clean, easy to find, easy parking, great breakfast and had a great pool for the kids!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lenke C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandusky
0.9 mi away
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
8.2 mi away
South Beach Resort Hotel
South Beach Resort Hotel
#2 of 3 in Marblehead
287 reviews
16.1 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#10 of 17 in Port Clinton
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#6 of 35 in Sandusky
336 reviews
5.0 mi away
Cedar Point's Hotel Breakers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Wolf Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Wolf Lodge

Property: Great Wolf Lodge
Address: 4600 Milan Rd, Sandusky, OH 44870-5840
Region: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Wolf Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 271
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Agoda, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Great Wolf Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Bear Lodge Sandusky
Great Wolf Lodge Sandusky, Ohio
Great Wolf Hotel Sandusky
Great Wolf Sandusky
Great Wolf Lodge Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing