We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, good value & clean !!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park
Ranked #32 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We were 10 minutes from Cedar Point, and for the price, our stay was perfect. Nice staff, clean room, good night sleep !

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Deborah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (201)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 201 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2013

My husband and I stayed here August 3rd for our annual Pedal to the Point two day bike riding event. We got a room in the main part of the hotel (looks like a house converted to hotel rooms). It was clean and basic, not too much extra room, but sufficient for a place to sleep and rest. We were woken up twice by families trooping in from Cedar Point. The walls were not very thick like a typical hotel because it's a house converted to a hotel. Also, we kept getting waves of Indian cooking smells, thought there might be an Indian Restaurant next door, but no. No idea where that smell was coming from. Good thing we like Indian food but still a weird thing to try to fall asleep to. We stayed in room 229

For a hundred dollars/night, it was not bad and it is very close to Cedar Point and shopping. There were other options out there to stay, but you would have to pay over three hundred dollars for a Marriott type place.

Overall, if you are not a picky person, this place will do for the money.

Room Tip: Try staying in the back building, those are the more typical looking hotel rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katepsu70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

It is not the Ritz but it was clean....mostly. We did find a bar of used soap in the shower. There was also a mold issue around the edges of the shower. We were gone both days to cedar point so we did overlook the run down exterior and the fact that the keys were decoded several times. Don't expect much in way of breakfast... it was just donuts and cereal. I must say for the price I didn't expect much. There is a outdoor pool, we didn't swim in it because we were at soak city. It did however look clean. The bed was amazing....slept great! Every single person I saw was polite and professional.

Room Tip: No elevator so if you can't walk well choose first floor. Outside entrances.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqueline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
2  Thank Arshaun H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
hotelsanduskyoh, Webmaster at Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 20 July 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
3  Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
hotelsanduskyoh, Webmaster at Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 14 July 2013

This was by far the dirtiest hotel room I have ever stayed in. The bed sheets had stains on them. One bed, had a bloody stain on it the very first night we arrived! When we asked for a change of bedding, the office advised us that it was too late (10PM) for the staff to redo the beds, but he could give us new sheets. The new sheets were just as gross as the first set. Stains, appearing unclean. The old sheets were put in a pile next to the mini-fridge, and they stayed there for the duration of our stay! Speaking of the mini-fridge, there was a bottle of water and a cup of old food remaining in the fridge when we arrived. The kleenex dispenser in the bathroom was broken, the ironing board had several stains on it. We emptied a can of lysol just to be able to sit in that room! The room was so dirty that anyone who walked across the room in white socks had the bottom of their socks completely black by the time they got to the other side. The managers' only response was "I'm sorry". The next time I go to Cedar Point, I will be sure never to stay at this hotel ever again! Yuck!

Room Tip: Bring your own bedding, maid, and plenty of lysol!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Amanion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsanduskyoh, Webmaster at Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Milan Rd. for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following steps were taken:

• Maintenance was informed of the problem you experienced with the Bed sheet, mini fridge, kleenex dispenser, ironing board, in the room first assigned to you and instructed to see to its repair or replacement.

• Front desk staff received additional training in the courteous, helpful manner in which they are to treat our valued guests.

I hope that the next time you visit our area; you will once again choose to stay at Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Milan Rd. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
3  Thank Timothy H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
hotelsanduskyoh, Webmaster at Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandusky hotels
0.9 mi away
South Shore Inn
South Shore Inn
#12 of 35 in Sandusky
240 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#5 of 35 in Sandusky
360 reviews
0.7 mi away
Magnuson Hotel East Sandusky
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Rainwater Park
2.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#7 of 35 in Sandusky
379 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn Sandusky - Cedar Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park

Address: 2809 Milan Rd, Sandusky, OH 44870-5607
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
Price Range: £27 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Sandusky
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing