We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average, you get what you pay for!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of South Shore Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
South Shore Inn
Ranked #15 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Average, you get what you pay for!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

This was a family trip (2 adults & 2 kids). The hotel is close to Cedar Point but not the closest and it's a motel. The best part of the place is the pool and hot tub, nestled away from the main street and in between the u shaped design of the motel. The kids loved the slide and the hot tub was close enough to watch them. The room was average and did have a funny smell. Cleanliness was also average. Beds were very comfortable and noise level was very low. I did feel the security of the door was below average and felt it could use added level of protection. (Note: we were not threatened at any time, but the door just didn't have up to date security measures). I also wish there would have been some kind of continental breakfast or ATM available. But overall, I was happy with our stay. The price was right as Cedar Point is expensive. The amount we saved by staying here instead of Hotel Breakers or such, we used to get into the park.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jmhuss25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marilyn1714, Guest Relations Manager at South Shore Inn, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments after your recent stay with us. We were happy to see that you found the hotel to be a good value, and that your family enjoyed the pool/water slide area. We hope to see you again when you come to Cedar Point for a fun getaway.

Marilyn Edwards
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    66
    45
    16
    25
See reviews for
103
35
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Myself and 3 kids arrived July 13 for a 3 nite stay. We arrived at 1:30 in the morning for check in and I could not have been more pleased with the personable and professional service I received. It was like having my own personal concierge service in a $99/night hotel. The room was clean and comfortable and well beyond my expectations for a $99/ night hotel. This is not a mint on your pillow type of place and it is not marketed as such, but we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. I also want to say a BIG THANKS for Kathy that works the night shift. She was extremely helpful upon check in and was not the least bit irritated when I requested a room closer to wifi access. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Rocklands63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marilyn1714, Guest Relations Manager at South Shore Inn, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for choosing our hotel recently when in the area, we were very pleased to see how much you and your kids enjoyed the accommodations as well as the service that you received, in particular from Kathy. We hope to see you again very soon.

Marilyn Edwards
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

We were looking for a quality hotel to stay at during our stay at Cedar Point. There were 5 ( 4 adults, 1 child ) people in our party. I had searched on line for hotels in the Cedar Point area and came across the South Shore Inn that was rated near the top of all Hotels in the area. We checked in late at night and were presently surprised how the lobby looked. It was pristine !! We stayed in a 3 room suite, it also was pristine. We checked everything out before settling in for the evening. This Suite was HUGE !!! We could have slept 10 people in there. One room had a double bed and a set of bunk beds. The second room had a fold out couch and the third room had a king size bed. The Staff is really friendly. We meet Donna the morning we were checking out and commented to her how well the rooms looked and how clean they were. If you're looking for a place to stay around the Cedar Point area that is close to Cedar Point, this is the place for you. We'll be back the next time we're in Cedar Point.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marilyn1714, Guest Relations Manager at South Shore Inn, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
We were very pleased to see how much you and your family enjoyed your recent stay in our three room suite, happy to see you were all very comfortable. We hope to be your hotel of choice in the area.

Marilyn Edwards
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hendersonville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Had a great time in Sandusky and at Cedar Point. We stayed at your hotel and it was very clean. Donna was very friendly asking if we needed anything. The three room suite was spotless and very comfortable for two teens, two adults and two dogs. The teens really enjoyed swimming.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marilyn1714, Guest Relations Manager at South Shore Inn, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you very much for choosing our hotel when visiting Cedar Point over the July 4th weekend, and for sharing your experience there with others. We were happy to see that the 3 room suite suited your needs perfectly, and that you enjoyed the service that you received. We hope to be your hotel of choice in the area.

Marilyn Edwards
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We recently stayed here for Cedar Point and this hotel is VERY nice and clean. So much better than we expected. The pool was great too. Kids loved playing on the water slides in pool. Definitely will stay here again. The hot tub was terrific after long days at the park. Overall a great experience staying here!!!

Room Tip: Room near pool was very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kaymac2688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marilyn1714, Guest Relations Manager at South Shore Inn, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
It was very rewarding to read that your hotel stay with us exceeded your expectations!! We were happy to see that our ideal location near Cedar Point, and outdoor pool/water slide area was just what you were looking for. We hope to see you again soon.

Marilyn Edwards
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoneboro, PA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

This hotel is clean and the staff is very friendly.. Very close to Cedar Point. The rooms are a nice size, the bathroom is a little small but overall a good room. The pool and hot tub are excellent. The pool was supposed to close at midnight but I guess since we were quiet and nobody complained the left it open. It was almost 1:00 a.m. when I went to my room and they had not came out to close it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marilyn1714, Guest Service Manager at South Shore Inn, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
We thank you very much for your kind comments, we were happy to see how much you enjoyed your accommodations, the outdoor pool area, and our location so close to Cedar Point. We hope to be your hotel of choice in the area.

Marilyn Edwards
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Great hotel, great price, great location. I booked this hotel due to it's proximity to Cedar Point and it's low cost. I enjoyed the pool and the fact that there were some great restaurants within walking distance. I felt as though I was in a safe area and was pleased with the cleanliness of our room. The staff at the front desk were also very pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sgibbb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marilyn1714, guest service manager at South Shore Inn, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
We were so pleased to see how much you enjoyed your stay with us, and thank you for sharing your recent experience there with others. We hope that next time you are going to Cedar Point, or visiting the area, you will stay with us again.

Marilyn Edwards
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandusky hotels
2.8 mi away
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
3.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites
0.4 mi away
Cedar Point's Express Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#4 of 35 in Sandusky
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#7 of 35 in Sandusky
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Rainwater Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Shore Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Shore Inn

Property: South Shore Inn
Address: 2047 Cleveland Rd, Sandusky, OH 44870-4406
Region: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — South Shore Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your South Shore Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Shore Hotel Sandusky
South Shore Sandusky
South Shore Inn Sandusky, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing