We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Choice near Cedar Point”
Review of South Shore Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
South Shore Inn
Ranked #13 of 34 Hotels in Sandusky
Reviewed 31 July 2014

+ clean and big room
+ not far away from Cedar Point
+ quiet in spite of an outside pool
+ clean pool
+ direct outside access to the room
+ free parking

+- price (not too cheap but not expensive as well)

- no fridge
- bad availability of WiFi
- no possibility for a breakfast or even coffee (you had to take the car)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Piwinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marilyn1714, Guest Relations Manager at South Shore Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

We sincerely appreciate your kind comments, and thank you for sharing your recent experience at our hotel with others. We were pleased to see that you enjoyed the accommodations, the pool area, and the location so close to Cedar Point.
We hope to see you again soon.

Marilyn Edwards
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (241)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 241 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014

My family stayed two nights and we loved the motel,it was very clean.The staff was friendly,the pool was very clean and we watched them clean the pool in the mornings and they tested the water. the beds were like new very comfortable and close to all the places we went to.Great price,we plan to go back next year we will stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank donna m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marilyn1714, Guest Relations Manager at South Shore Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments after your recent stay with us, we sincerely appreciate our guest feedback. We were very happy to see that you found the accommodations to be both clean and comfortable. We look forward to your next visit.

Marilyn Edwards
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Another Cedar Point over night trip on a Thursday night. This is the second time we've stayed at this hotel, but this time we booked the 3 room suite. Wish we had know about this place when the kids were younger and we made these trips every month! 2 separate bathrooms and bedrooms, one room with a king size bed and one with bunk beds and a queen. The 3rd room between has a small pull out couch, and tv. (3 tv's in all) Very clean and served its purpose. The pool looked nice enough, although we did not use it. We have stayed at EVERY Cedar Point property. This hotel and especially the price on this room is the best deal out there! When travelling we normally stay at Hamptons and Hiltons, but we know that for this area and the choices available, there's not that much difference in the hotels. When your spending the day a Cedar Point, this is a great choice when you just need a place to sleep without spending the resort prices!

Room Tip: Great Price!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DL G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marilyn1714, Guest Relations Manager at South Shore Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you very much for your continued loyalty to our hotel when in the area to go to Cedar Point. We were very pleased to see how the three room suite suited your family's needs perfectly.
We thank you for your kind comments, and for sharing your recent experience with others.

Marilyn Edwards
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

First off, we stayed here one night and next door at Budget Host Inn for the next night, due to vacancy at Shore Inn. I would make this my second choice out of the two. Especially since they are the same price for the room. We stayed on the second floor exterior entrance near back of motel. By the way, there are no elevators. Which was fine with us, but you may want to know that when requesting a room. Interior area we went into smelled a little strange, glad we chose an exterior room. Pool was as shown. We did not take advantage of the pool area though, since we were mainly there for Cedar Point. Pool was open till midnight, and was a little loud, but inside rooms were quieter. Beds were comfortable and room was decently clean. Air conditioning was ok. It took a while to cool off the room. Shower was made for someone under 5'5", but served it's purpose. Watch your step going into your room, because for some reason there is a inch drop off into the room. Staff was friendly, especially the groundskeeper and his associate. I would stay here again if the Budget Host Inn was booked up.

Room Tip: Choose an upstairs room near back of motel for a quieter experience. Only if you do not need an elev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank sassy46176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marilyn1714, Guest Relations Manager at South Shore Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Thank you very much for posting your comments after your recent stay with us while in town to enjoy Cedar Point. We appreciate our guest feedback, and were pleased to see that you found the hotel to be both clean and comfortable. We hope to see you again in the future.

Marilyn Edwards
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

My family of 5 recently stayed for four nites and we couldn't be happier. The staff was friendly and the pool and grounds were clean. We had a three room suite and it was a perfect fit. It's hard to find a room that sleeps five where the fifth person isn't stuck on a roll a way. Our room had a king bed in one room, and a double and bunk beds in the other. It was also nice to have two bathrooms. The rooms were very clean and well maintained, and the price was right. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Tina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marilyn1714, Guest Relations Manager at South Shore Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

We were very pleased to see how much you and your family enjoyed your three room suite, and that is had everything you needed for a wonderful stay. Thank you very much for sharing your recent experience at our hotel, we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Marilyn Edwards
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

This was a family trip (2 adults & 2 kids). The hotel is close to Cedar Point but not the closest and it's a motel. The best part of the place is the pool and hot tub, nestled away from the main street and in between the u shaped design of the motel. The kids loved the slide and the hot tub was close enough to watch them. The room was average and did have a funny smell. Cleanliness was also average. Beds were very comfortable and noise level was very low. I did feel the security of the door was below average and felt it could use added level of protection. (Note: we were not threatened at any time, but the door just didn't have up to date security measures). I also wish there would have been some kind of continental breakfast or ATM available. But overall, I was happy with our stay. The price was right as Cedar Point is expensive. The amount we saved by staying here instead of Hotel Breakers or such, we used to get into the park.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank jmhuss25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marilyn1714, Guest Relations Manager at South Shore Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments after your recent stay with us. We were happy to see that you found the hotel to be a good value, and that your family enjoyed the pool/water slide area. We hope to see you again when you come to Cedar Point for a fun getaway.

Marilyn Edwards
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Myself and 3 kids arrived July 13 for a 3 nite stay. We arrived at 1:30 in the morning for check in and I could not have been more pleased with the personable and professional service I received. It was like having my own personal concierge service in a $99/night hotel. The room was clean and comfortable and well beyond my expectations for a $99/ night hotel. This is not a mint on your pillow type of place and it is not marketed as such, but we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. I also want to say a BIG THANKS for Kathy that works the night shift. She was extremely helpful upon check in and was not the least bit irritated when I requested a room closer to wifi access. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Rocklands63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marilyn1714, Guest Relations Manager at South Shore Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you for choosing our hotel recently when in the area, we were very pleased to see how much you and your kids enjoyed the accommodations as well as the service that you received, in particular from Kathy. We hope to see you again very soon.

Marilyn Edwards
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandusky hotels
1 mi away
La Quinta Inn Sandusky - Cedar Point
2.8 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#4 of 34 in Sandusky
363 reviews
3.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#7 of 34 in Sandusky
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Rainwater Park
0.4 mi away
Cedar Point's Express Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Shore Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Shore Inn

Address: 2047 Cleveland Rd, Sandusky, OH 44870-4406
Region: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Sandusky
Price Range: £46 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — South Shore Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The South Shore Inn is a family friendly hotel conveniently located minutes away from the world-famous Cedar Point Amusement Park and downtown Sandusky. This Sandusky hotel is committed to excellent customer satisfaction! Our longstanding custom of providing supreme comfort and enjoyment has earned us a stellar reputation in the lodging industry. We’re sure you’ll find that our distinctive service, exceptional value and warm hospitality make us the ideal location to accommodate you and your family or group. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your South Shore Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Shore Hotel Sandusky
South Shore Sandusky
South Shore Inn Sandusky, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing