We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value - Big rooms”
Review of South Shore Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
South Shore Inn
Ranked #13 of 34 Hotels in Sandusky
Reviewed 29 October 2010

I have an older review for this hotel. After reading some recent poor reviews I feel the need to add another. I stay at this hotel a couple times a year and never have a bad stay.

The bad... the train rides by but I find it relaxing.
The suites are outdated.. but I don't care.
The shower heads are low so I duck.

The good....
I have not seen any bugs and I have not smelled any mold as reported by others.
The hotel lobby is very nice.
The rooms are big and clean.
2 and 3 room suites are dated but enormous with very large rooms which house a lot of people. They are an excellent value.

For Halloween there has been a special. IF you stay 2 nights you get 40% off. I stayed at a regular room for $38 a nite for 2 nights.
The two room suite (Sleeps 6) was about $70 a night.
Great value.

I love the size. This is a quiet hotel.
I have not lacked for anything and service has been great.

I will always stay there.
I have been to Kalhari recently and tried that (average)
I have stayed at Breakers numerous times (rooms are in far worse shape).

The southshore location is excellent.

No problems here... very pleased with hotel.

STOP EXPECTING THE HILTON... It is right next to the park, inexpensive and big.
If you want to spend tripple you can stay farther from the park and get an updated room.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mermaidspoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (241)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 241 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2010

We weren't looking for the Hilton, this place is close to cedar point, not too expensive, and very clean. Most hotels in this range are ploped in the middle of black top, This place has nice landscaping, lots of grass and picnic tables.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank football123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2010

We stayed here in July 2010. First off the lobby smelled the second in walked into it, and the room smelled worse - very musty. Gave me a headache. The room was dirty -everything had a grime to it. Outdated rooms and DIRTY. We stayed here one night and moved onto another hotel the second night which was so worth the money!!!
Would never ever stay here again!! GROSS!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timetraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2010

Many of the reviews for South Shore Inn are not justified. This is not a 2 star hotel trying to be a 5 star hotel. This is a very decent 2 star hotel and their price is justified! We have stayed here 3 years in a row and have never been dissatisfied. The staff are friendly Americans that go out of their way to help you if you have a problem. We have stayed in the 3 room suite each time and it is awesome for the family. Beds are comfortable, place is clean and quiet. Yes, it is a little dated, but it is clean. We only paid $145 for a 3 room suite.....a room this large at a chain hotel would cost you WAY over $200 for the night in the Cedar Point area. So, based on the cost and the GREAT location to Cedar Point, I think this hotel is a winner! I agree with the other reviews that the continental breakfast leaves a little to be desired, but HEY, its better than nothing!! Kids loved the waffle makers!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank psoupWaterford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2010

This hotel should recieve just one star for the nice lady that reels you in at the front desk. Our room had ants and spiders everywhere. After coming in from the amusement park we tried to relax in the pool. The hot tub was filled with dead mosquitos and bugs. The slides were visibly dirty and the gate around the pool were filled with spiders and webs. The room also had an old mildew spell to it. Oh they also suggest the guest try their thai restaurant in the lobby. Are you kidding me? Their probably serving all the bugs around this nasty place. It was awful I felt so bad the entire trip for taking my family to this place. I will never wait until the last minute again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vetvett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2010

We arrived on a sunday night after going around the lake and up to Put-in-Bay. It was a little later, but our kids were still able to utilize the swimming pool. There is a decent slide there too, but unfortunately the rains came with lightening so that ended quickly. The beds were quite comfortable, but like any hotel I stay in anymore, I can never get a pillow to my liking. This does not change even if I am in an expensive hotel. The beds weren't that bad.

My only criticisms of the room were this-
1. The remote control for the television did not work, even with new batteries. The person from the front desk needed to come up and reprogram the remote.
2. At 3:35am in the morning, the alarm clock went off in the room next to ours. No one was staying in this room. You would think that the maids would check to make sure the alarm isn't set to on. Anyways, I had to call the front desk and have them come up to turn it off.

Anyways, back to the review. The shower head was a little low. I am not super tall (6'1), but this thing came up to my chest maybe. We only stayed at the hotel for one night, and went to Cedar Point the next day. The breakfast wasn't bad. I am not a big waffle person, but the self-made waffles they had there were really good. They had a choice of two cereals, one of which was stale.

Other notes-the lobby of the hotel was really beautiful. It takes you by surprise to see a place that doesn't look like its much to look at. There is also a Thai restaurant in the hotel. Again, this is not the type of hotel you would expect to have a restaurant in it. Overall, we liked it for what it was. We got to Cedar Point the next day in under 5 minutes. The other hotels in the area looked like junk compared to ours. My stars review is taking in to consideration that it is a lower style hotel in the 1-2 star range.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jasonhomey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2010

Didn't expect much for a two-room "suite" for 100 bucks, but was just looking for a place that would take the dog without a hassle. It was certainly old and cheap, but it seemed clean enough. Beds were passable. Suite had two fulls and a Murphy in the other room. Darkest room I ever stayed in as lighting was minimal, to say the least. People were nice enough and brought extra sheets when we asked for them, and didn't disturb the dog during our day at the park.

Pool was OK only. Thai in-hotel restaurant was a very easy pass after one look. Free "breakfast" is a joke. White bread and toaster. One dinky waffle machine with scary looking batter. Two cheapo cereals. Lame coffee. Don't bother.

There is the advertised "game room"...just make sure you bring your own games and then you can sit and play them in the empty room.

If you are looking for "nice" go elsewhere. Looking to crash with kids and dog, etc. without a hassle or worry about somehow ruining the room? Maybe OK. But I wouldn't recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank squidly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandusky hotels
1.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn Sandusky - Cedar Point
3.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#7 of 34 in Sandusky
382 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cedar Point's Express Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#4 of 34 in Sandusky
362 reviews
3.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Rainwater Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Shore Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Shore Inn

Address: 2047 Cleveland Rd, Sandusky, OH 44870-4406
Region: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Sandusky
Price Range: £44 - £53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — South Shore Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The South Shore Inn is a family friendly hotel conveniently located minutes away from the world-famous Cedar Point Amusement Park and downtown Sandusky. This Sandusky hotel is committed to excellent customer satisfaction! Our longstanding custom of providing supreme comfort and enjoyment has earned us a stellar reputation in the lodging industry. We’re sure you’ll find that our distinctive service, exceptional value and warm hospitality make us the ideal location to accommodate you and your family or group. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your South Shore Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Shore Hotel Sandusky
South Shore Sandusky
South Shore Inn Sandusky, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing