We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Booked this horror through another site... .”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Best Budget Inn Sandusky
Ranked #33 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Booked this horror through another site... .”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

The room was dirty, the floors were not vacuumed, the beds were rock hard, it was musty, the beds needed dusting, I had to rinse bugs and hair out of the shower in the morning. It advertised breakfast, there is none, although wouldn't have eaten here. I could go on .... when I mentioned this I was given $20 in vouchers to be used at other hotels,,, the fact they are managed by the same property company is not comforting. The sheets did seem clean though... I have given this one star ONLY because there is not the option of no stars.

Room Tip: PAY $20 more and stay elsewhere! I wish I would have heeded the warnings!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sonyo64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Best Budget Inn Sandusky, responded to this review, 9 June 2013
Thank you for rating and reviewing your recent stay with us. Although not the kind of review we like to hear, it's certainly helpful for us as we continue to better train our staff. As you may know, we own several properties in the area--and each have very different price points. This particular property is a seasonal property and geared toward our budget-conscience guests. Having said that, however, doesn't mean that anyone should expect anything less that a clean, comfortable, safe stay. That is our aim at this property and we hope you'll give us another chance to prove that to you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    1
    5
    15
    69
See reviews for
33
13
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Caledonia, Michigan, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

we checked in and management was rude and unhelpful. went to our room and it was dirty puke on the window sill spiders and webs. sent up cleaning crew and they didnt clean anything we pointed out. there was mold on the ceiling and told us we can stay or leave and he'll refund our money. his excuse on the mold was "oh thats just water leaking in from outside" yeah cause all hotels are like that. worst hotel ever.

Room Tip: never stay in room 221
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Best Budget Inn Sandusky, responded to this review, 27 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to relate your recent experience at our hotel property. Although this particular property is certainly geared toward the budget-conscience family or individual, there's no reason to expect anything less than a clean, comfortable, safe environment. Unfortunately, I don't think you actually encountered any of our management staff--because NONE of us would have treated you that way--none of our staff should have either. Comments such as yours help us to continue working with our staff to know how to best respond to customer issues. Rest assured that your comments have been heard and that we will be discussing your situation in our management meetings!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sandusky hotels

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

If you like mold and a spider infestation then this is the place for you. We arrived 8/11/2012 Saturday afternoon around 3pm and the rooms stunk of mold/mildew and this was AFTER rooms had been serviced. There was a gaping hole in the ceiling above the bath tub. The carpets were dirty, smelly, and heavily soiled (need pulling up). The TV's are out of date and don't bump them or reception will be lost!! I followed the cable cord behind the TV and discovered a loose connection from the back of the TV as well as a loose connection from the wall jack (dangling). The kids had the next door room and brought their video games for no reason as the TV's are so old the jack does'nt have a video game port. There was mold on our walls behid our bed traveling all the way up to the ceiling. There were spiders (big ones) and webs on each of our front doors as we got back at night from Cedar Point. I looked up and discovered that the spiders were playing hide and seek living in the rafters underneath the platform walkway. We noticed room service hadn't changed our sheets but dumped our garbage and gave us towels. The lady at the front desk said it's their policy to change sheets ONLY if we were to stay 3 or more nights. REALLY??? I then asked for a refund but she said it was too late and that should've been done before 11am. We slept in our clothes and kept the light on to check for bugs. People, the sign for this place should be an indication of what to expect as my son pointed out,"Dad look at their sign". Their sign to welcome visitors from the road is missing their name and not lit up like the other hotels. Swim in their pool at your own risk. Also, no life guard on duty. Also they don't have irons in the rooms or ironing boards. We asked for iron and they had one to share with the entire hotel. REALLY??? You indeed get what you pay for here. Not to mention we all got sick/cough. This place needs tearing down and start over. AWFUL!!! AWFUL!!! AWFUL!!!

Room Tip: Don't go to Best Budget Inn 5918 MIlan Rd. When booking hotel(s) check the star quality and READ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Dennis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Best Budget Inn Sandusky, responded to this review, 27 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our hotel property. Although, as you mention, this is a seasonal, buget-consience property--and the rates reflect that, there's no reason for anything less than clean, comfortable surroundings. We will continue to work with our maintenance and housekeeping staff to ensure that the items you brought to our attention are rectified. Thank you for sharing and helping us to continue to improve the quality of our product and services!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snover
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

We arrived late in the evening after spending the day at Cedar Point. When we walked into the room, it was filthy. The carpet had not been vacuumed, and the bathroom was dirty. When we called down to the desk they offered us a refund if we wanted to leave ( yeah really want to go looking for a different hotel at 11 on a Friday night in June) or we could look at a couple of other rooms. We found one that was passable. The next morning I approached the Manager about taking some off our bill, she was very rude and refunded us a whopping $15. Ran out of towels. Not a good experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tracy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Best Budget Inn Sandusky, responded to this review, 27 June 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent experiences at our hotel. Although we fell short of the mark in your particular situation, I'm glad that you were able to find a room that met your standards. I'm also glad that our manager recognized your inconvenience and offered to reduce your rate. The comments that you have offered will give us an opportunity to review our processes and standards with our housekeeping department and rectify situations like you spoke of. Thanks for helping us to make continuous quality improvements and we hope to welcome you back on a future visit to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

Room smelled musty but after leaving the door open and a spray of Lysol the room smelled better, room was descent size,double beds enough room for 2 adults and 3 teens, i brang a twin size air mattress for the youngest fit perfect with a little rearranging of a table and two chairs,television was out dated but served it's purpose to watch the weather for the next day, the toilet didn't flush to well, there wasn't enough toilet paper,the housekeeper didn't even clean our room or leave any fresh towels or toiletries, and there was no wifi in the hotel but other then that is was ok for last minute reservations.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rache4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Best Budget Inn Sandusky, responded to this review, 3 June 2012
Thank you for taking the time to relate your experiences during your recent stay at our hotel. Comments like yours help us to work on continuous improvement and they provide us with material from which we can better train our staff. We hope you'll decide to stay with us again on your next visit to Sandusky!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Punks from Detroit
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

I have never in my life written a bad review for a hotel. I will start this one off by saying that it was a roof over our heads and served that purpose. That is about all I can say. We got a room with 3 beds as we had 5 people in our party. The room was spacious, but the beds were rock hard. Now, I like a firm mattress but this was like sleeping on plywood. The wallpaper was peeling off in the corners of the rooms and the carpet was sticky. Eww. The pool, which we were informed was closed for the season, was still full of water; green water, but water none the less. I thought when you closed a pool that you took the water out of the pool. I could see it as a huge hazard for families with young children. We were on the top floor and when we stepped out the stairway door to smoke we were surprised to see that the door was not locked, nor would it lock. Anyone could have walked up the staircase and entered the building at any time. Security issue for sure! The ice machine (which the lady at the counter was not sure of it's location) did not have an ice scoop and the floor was covered in water. Both of the women that we encountered at the registration desk were "unique" to say the least. One tried to get us to cancel our reservation and go somewhere else (and honestly, I was not complaining nor being difficult in any way... I just asked her if there was a less congested way to get to Cedar Point) the other one told us all about her trip to some motorcycle mecca. We left that interaction thinking "What prompted that conversation" as we did not initiate it, nor had we even mentioned motorcycles - we had asked for an additional pillow, which they only had 1 of. If you are looking for cheap sleeps after Cedar Point, this place may do the trick for you, but I don't think we will be back. There are a ton of hotel properties around Cedar Point - look on.

Room Tip: They do have rooms with 3 beds. A seperate bedroom with a queen bed and a door, and the main room wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pierced-and-tattooed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Best Budget Inn Sandusky, responded to this review, 6 May 2012
Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel property. As you can imagine, managing a seasonal, budget-conscience property like the Best Budget Inn is sometimes more challenging than managing a brand-new property with a full-slate of amenities. That said, however, we're very committed to providing a safe, clean environment for all of our guests, complete with a staff who is attentive to customer needs. As the property re-opens for the 2012 summer season, we have taken steps to put in place new management and tend to items that may have possibly been overlooked in the past. We hope you'll give us another chance to prove that a budget-friendly hotel can also be one that is clean, neat, and functional.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

Our first night was a tough one. Mold on the walls. Mildewy smell. There was a hole in the bathroom ceiling, dripping water from the leaking toilet on the second floor, onto your backside when sitting on the toilet.

The staff switched us to a much nicer room the next morning.

That first room needs some serious repairs done!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Lou K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Best Budget Inn Sandusky, responded to this review, 6 May 2012
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us. We regret that the room you were first placed in didn't meet your expectations (and from you relate, it wouldn't meet mine either). I am glad to hear that our staff was attentive to your needs and made the proper and necessary chances. We hope to welcome you back for your next stay in our area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandusky
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#4 of 35 in Sandusky
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#7 of 35 in Sandusky
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
3.6 mi away
Magnuson Hotel East Sandusky
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Comfort Inn River's Edge
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Sandusky
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Budget Inn Sandusky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Budget Inn Sandusky

Property: Best Budget Inn Sandusky
Address: 5918 Milan Rd, Sandusky, OH 44870-5866 (Formerly Magnuson Hotel Sandusky)
Region: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Best Budget Inn Sandusky 1.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renovated for the summer of 2014, the the Best Budget Inn Sandusky is a big savings hotel! Bring the family and friends along to enjoy our selection of larger 1, 2, and 3 bedroom family-style rooms, as well as rooms with a separate two-person Jacuzzi. Your stay includes free wi-fi internet access, HBO and ESPN, free local calls, and an outdoor pool. We also offer a game room, laundry service, and easy access to local restaurants, shopping, and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Budget Inn Sandusky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Budget Inn Sandusky Hotel Sandusky
Budget Inn Sandusky
Sandusky Budget Inn
Best Budget Inn Sandusky Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing