We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never stay in this Hotel!! Dirty,smelly,insects, not how it was showed on this pic. Customer service poor and disrpcfull”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Best Budget Inn Sandusky
Ranked #33 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
Reviewed 15 July 2013

First when we open the door room it wasn't what showed in the web-site,smell musty,spiders, webs and other insects. I asked the old ladies in front desk of a iron and it had so me type of liquid inside, i assume it was water, when i used that water that turn into vapor stain my black shirt with stains like "Bleach" i was like "WHAT"???.Ok next day i went to the park, when i came back i look thru my stuff some of my belonging all of a sudden disappeared. I speak with the lady in front desk and she said that their cleaning ladies where honest and bla,bla that she will help me in the morning. IN THE MORNING, i went back to the front desk and i asked this lady what happen with my missing stuff and she was rude, disrespecting, she was nervous (when she couldn't answer my questions) and i said i want my money back she said she was going to call the police because she felt threatened, and i was like YES!!! CALL THE POLICE!!!! so the Police came we "talked" he gave me an "advice" for future references and a # to called buy i never got my money back or my pants. And yes there's "SHADY" staff walking around the premises, if you are going to stay don't leave any of your belongings behind,bring everything with you!

Room Tip: I wanted a non-smoking room and mine smells like musty smoke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank raul180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Best Budget Inn Sandusky, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2013

Thank you for letting us know about your recent experience at our hotel. I apologize if anyone was rude--that should NEVER happen. It is true--no matter where you're staying--that it's best if you do not leave valueables in your hotel room. This goes for a budget property like this to someplace like a five-star hotel in Manhattan.

Anytime a guest lets us know of something that's missing from a room, it is our policy to report that missing property to the police. Many times, homeowners insurance policies cover missing goods such as this so long as a police report is filed. It, however, is NOT our policy to refund money for someone who stays simply because we have no idea where that "lost" item might be.

Again, I'm truly sorry that you had to endure these inconveniences during your stay with us and wish you much luck in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (91)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2013

Absolute worst place we have ever stayed, only place I could find a room at on the holiday weekend and had to pay a high price for too, we should have just slept in the car, DHEC should shut this place down! The musty mildew smell as soon as you walk in the door will knock you down! I can handle old and outdated but just plain filthy and nasty? No! No excuse for any place to be this bad!!!!!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Robert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Best Budget Inn Sandusky, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to rate and review your recent stay with us. This is a seasonal property that is definitely geared toward the more budget-conscience consumer; however, that doesn't meant that you should expect anything less that clean, comfortable, safe accommodations. We will use your comments to help our staff to improve their attention to detail. Thank you for your input!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

I'm actually staying in this hotel as I write this. I understand I'm paying less to stay here but when I showed up with my reservation on my phone I was told the price was wrong and I couldn't have it for that price and I could go find somewhere else to stay. I found that crazy that you would turn a customer away when the parking lot was empty! After I argued my point I was given the room at the price I was told over the phone. We go to the room and there is grime on the wall of the shower. Luckily we are going to soak city tomorrow so maybe I can shower my kids there. There is some kind of yellow substance on the walls in the room. The pool is beyond discussing! The water is yellow and there is a ton of dirt and leaves on the bottom. We thought about changing hotels but since the charge already went on our card and we are on a budget we can't afford to switch.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rboulanger5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Best Budget Inn Sandusky, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2013

I'm sorry for the issues that you encountered during your stay with us. While I'm happy to hear that the price that you were originally quoted was honored, I'm disappointed that you had to argue for that to occur. That should NEVER happen and we will use your comments to help provide an illustration of how to do better in the future.

While this hotel is definitely geared toward the more budget-friendly consumer, that doesn't mean that anyone should expect anything less that clean, comfortable, safe accommodations. We hope that you'll treat the issues that you experienced as isolated and that you'll choose to try us out again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

I had 2 rooms I had rented from here, booked online, since from out of town, one room had bloodstains on the carpet, along with missing light fixtures, stains on the walls, dried up food on the floor. The other room had even more stains on the walls, a floor in the bathroom that was horrifying at best, and then when I told the manager about it, she stated, what do you expect for $60, you won't be able to get that price anywhere else, and if you weren't happy you could have left the night before, this was the fourth of July week, we had small children, so instead we are supposed to uproot them, and try to find another hotel with a vacancy? Really? :( The customer service at this place is awful, I would never come here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank C G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Best Budget Inn Sandusky, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2013

I'm very sorry to hear that your recent experience at our property didn't meet your expectations. Also, the comments regarding your discussion with our manager really is inappropriate and we will have a conversation with this person to ensure better customer service in the future. Thank you for your input and for letting us know the issues you encountered during your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

This is the crappyist place ever to stay will never stay again we found marijuana in the room it was a family room wow they say they got hbo but don't have it and they say they have a washing service but don't the maids don't know how to clean didn't change the sheets clean the tables or the bath room or wash or clean the shower what do they get paid for I wish I was the maid get paid for doing nothing air/heat didn't work musty smells in the rooms wall weren't painted nails sticking out of wall they offer a breakfast there is none coffee hallways smell like piss yuck floors were not level and the carpet was squishy like wet

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joshuatodd1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Best Budget Inn Sandusky, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2013

I'm sorry to hear that your stay with us didn't meet your expectations. While it is true that this particular property is marketed toward the budget-friendly consumer, there's no reason to expect anything less that clean, comfortable, safe accommodations. We will certainly use your comments as teachable moments for our staff to try to continue to improve our operation and our service to our guests. Thank you for your input!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Simply a horrible horrible hotel. Drove in late and all the hotels I called were booked up but this place had one room left. The sheets had lipstick on it, the bathroom exhaust was held up by duct tape, the bathroom mirror covered up half the the socket which made the sockets in the bathroom unusable, lipstick on one of the bathroom towels, bed was rock hard, musky smell in the room, ceiling tiles in the bathroom were caving in, and just an overall bad experience. Sure I would stay there again, if they paid me to stay in their hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zachary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Best Budget Inn Sandusky, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2013

Thank you for taking the time to relate your recent experience during your stay with us. I'm very sorry to hear that your stay wasn't all that you expected it to be. As you probably know, this hotel is a seasonal property and is geared toward the budget-friendly consumer. However, that doesn't mean that anyone should expect anything less than clean, safe, comfortable accommodations. I hope that you'd treat this as an isolated incident and give us the opportunity to prove our commitment to continuous quality improvement!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

was sent over after problems at the TRAVELODGE there other hotel we went to are rooms after a long day opened the door and the musty smell almost knocked us over. looked at bathroom and Mold was on all of the bathroom walls, there were spider webs all over and the spiders to go with them just a nasty room. said something to the desk person and he said yea I know but its my first night found out this place had been closed since November.

Room Tip: go some place else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank robert p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Best Budget Inn Sandusky, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2013

You are correct; this is one of our seasonal properties and it sounds as if you stayed with us JUST after we opened for the season. I apologize for the problems you encountered during your stay but can assure you that the issues you raised have been rectified. We hope you'll give us another chance in the future to prove our commitment to continuous quality improvement!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandusky hotels
3.6 mi away
Magnuson Hotel East Sandusky
2.6 mi away
Knights Inn Sandusky OH
Knights Inn Sandusky OH
#14 of 35 in Sandusky
303 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#7 of 35 in Sandusky
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
South Shore Inn
South Shore Inn
#12 of 35 in Sandusky
240 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#5 of 35 in Sandusky
360 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Sandusky
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Budget Inn Sandusky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Budget Inn Sandusky

Address: 5918 Milan Rd, Sandusky, OH 44870-5866 (Formerly Magnuson Hotel Sandusky)
Region: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
Price Range: £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Best Budget Inn Sandusky 1.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renovated for the summer of 2014, the the Best Budget Inn Sandusky is a big savings hotel! Bring the family and friends along to enjoy our selection of larger 1, 2, and 3 bedroom family-style rooms, as well as rooms with a separate two-person Jacuzzi. Your stay includes free wi-fi internet access, HBO and ESPN, free local calls, and an outdoor pool. We also offer a game room, laundry service, and easy access to local restaurants, shopping, and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Budget Inn Sandusky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Budget Inn Sandusky Hotel Sandusky
Budget Inn Sandusky
Sandusky Budget Inn
Best Budget Inn Sandusky Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing