We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
Ranked #22 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great time!!”
Reviewed 22 March 2013

We got to stay overnight in a family suite the first weekend the waterpark was open. It was a beautiful room with 2 sets of bunk beds. I loved the pocket doors between the rooms for privacy. I have a 10, 7, and 3 year old. The water park was a great fit for my family. The big kids reallyenjoyed the slides and my little one had fun in the lazy river and playset section. The kids all enjoyed the ice cream social that was hosted on the night of our stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stephanie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole H, Front Office Director at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Aloha Stephaine,

It sounds like your family had a wonderful time opening weekend. I know we did. It was such a pleasure seeing the families here enjoying their time together. Thank you for your wonderful comments and we look forward to seeing you again.

Mahalo,

Nicole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,350 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    411
    327
    192
    161
    259
See reviews for
946
75
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frankenmuth, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

We stayed in a Hana Suite that was newly remodeled with nice decor. The kids loved their own room (2 sets of bunk beds) and so did we! The waterpark was the perfect size for our younger children (7,4,3). We were traveling with my husband who was in the area on business, so we arrived in Sandusky in the morning. We called the hotel the night before to explain the situation, and they were very nice and accommodated an early check-in. We were told the waterpark would open at 9 am on our second day (Friday), but there was some confusion between the front desk and waterpark staff and they told us that morning that it would not open until noon. We were very disappointed since we had to leave at that time so we spoke with the front desk (Abby & Nicole). They called in lifeguards so they could open the waterpark early, even though there were only 2 families that were benefitting from it! We can't thank their staff (including the lifeguards that were sooo nice) enough! Our kids were so excited and we had a great time. Not to mention that this was the best price in the area! The only con would be a very minimalistic continental breakfast. Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone. Best for families with younger children since the waterpark is smaller relative to Kalahari and Great Wolf Lodge.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marlene W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole H, Front Office Director at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Aloha Marlene,

I'm so glad we were able to accommodate your needs. It was a pleasure having your family here to enjoy our newly opened waterpark. Since your stay we have made some changes to our continental breakfast, we now offer a hot breakfast that is included in your guestroom. It has everything from eggs and bacon, to french toast and biscuts and gravy. Come back soon to check it out.

Mahola,

Nicole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toledo, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

We stayed at Maui Sands last weekend. The staff and lifeguards were great!!!! The water park was very clean, well staffed and the lifeguards were very nice to my kids. There are things for both young children and teenagers both. The lazy river is huge! The hotel is decorated very well. Our room was very nice as well. The rooms are very clean and worked great for my family of five. T he Continental breakfast was well stocked and had a good selection. When we were there, they had a ice cream social for the kids Saturday night. My kids ages from 4 -13 all enjoyed themselves and said the slides are better than Great Wolf Lodge. We will return to Maui Sands in the future.

Room Tip: If you have kids, get a room that has the two bunk beds. They are in there own area and a separate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tiffany_F272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole H, Front Office Director at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Aloha Tiffany,

Thank you for your wonderful comments. I'm so glad you had a great time here with your family. We hope to see you again real soon.

Mahalo,

Nicole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parma
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 March 2013

We stayed here to go to another water park, what a pleasant surprise! Hotel is very clean! I loved the "tropical" decor and once the water park opens this place will be a go to destination!!! We will be back to enjoy the water park.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Queen Lily and it had a fridge, microwave, coffee maker, hairdryer and flat panel t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Misti S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole H, Front Office Director at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Misti,

Aloha, Thank you for the wonderful comments. Now that our waterpark is open you will have to come back and try us out.

Malaho,

Nicole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIchigan
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

We stayed at Maui sands in March 2013. When we made reservation, the waterpark was supposed to be opened. Disappointed but stayed anyways. The hotel has very nice decorations and themed rooms and coordinated wallpaper etc that makes it feel tropical. The waterpark looked like it would be good for younger children thru age ten or so. It was small but nice for families who dont want a crowd. He room we had was one with bunkbeds.... It is small..the beds are childsized and blankets etc were minimal. No ventilation or fan in the small bunkbed area. Our room faced waterpark and the lights from area shone in our room late in the night and early morning.
The breakfast was scant...very basic and not ready when we were there.....need much work in this area...perhaps they opened before people were trained. I mean. Hard boiled eggs, yogurt, muffins and limited juice.
We also had email w one price but were actually charged 20.00 more!
Good place for budget conscious but needs to improve in all areas as just opened.

Room Tip: I hope this hotel gets it together cuz the theme is very cute and water park looks likefun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunshineshell567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole H, Front Office Director at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, 4 April 2013
Sunshineshell,

I'm very sorry our waterpark was not open when you arrived. As you may know our waterpark is open and fully functional. We have upgraded our breakfast to a Full Hot Breakfast. It has items such as scrambled eggs, French toast and much more. I hope you will give us a chance and come and try us again. I think we will surpass your expectations.

Maloha,

Nicole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portage, Indiana
Level Contributor
138 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013

We had a family suite with two bunk beds (sleeps 4 children) and a separate room with a king bed with a window overlooking the waterpark. A TV for each room, a fridge freezer and microwave.

Cute theme and the property was overall clean.

The pool portion of the water park is open, the waterpark is not, which I knew before reserving the room, no surprise there.

They have a free continental breakfast which is very light fare, I would assume once the water park opens they will discontinue the free 'breakfast'. It doesn't look to be designed for th e long term.

Staff was very friendly, from the desk to the couple of staff we encountered. Cory checked us in and he was fun to talk to, a lady checked us out in the AM and was also pleasant. We ran into "Doc" and he was a nice fellow as well as a female housekeeper up on the 3rd floor who was very nice as well.

Overall we had a pleasurable stay and I'd definitely return to check out the water park. I'm writing this review from my room down the street on my last day at Kalahari and I can say that bigger isn't always better, I'm missing the Maui.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MolonLabe1776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole H, Front Office Director at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, 7 March 2013
MolonLabe,

Thank you for your nice comments and we miss you too!

Our waterpark will be opening soon. We are all very excited about the grand opening.

We hope to see you again real soon.

Mahalo,

Nicole Huffer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairport Harbor, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 February 2013

We stayed overnight at the Maui Sands last weekend, knowing that the waterpark wouldn't be open. When we checked in the place seemed deserted. It took a few minutes for someone to come out of the office to help. She was not very friendly and was not at all welcoming. However, the room was wonderful. It was nice to have a separate area for our kids! It was clean, and the amenities were great. The pool was a little cold, but my kids didn't seem to mind. The breakfast however was HORRIBLE!! I understand it is a simple spread, but the area was dirty, almost every table was dirty, there was food all over the serving counter, all of the beverages were watered down, and the food was picked over and disgusting. It was only 8:30 in the morning! I would have expected it would have been restocked and cleaned as people were eating. When checking out I commented on how horrible the breakfast area was, and the same lady as the day before, stated that she was the only one working and can only do so much! She said to write a review so that management could read it! Well, here you are!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danette_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole H, Front Office Director at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, 7 March 2013
Danette,

I'm very sorry for your unpleasenet experience at Maui Sands Resort. Our number one priority is Guest Satifaction and it seems that we did not stand up to our sandards. With this said we undersstnad the needs to have a larger staff to accomidate our guest. We are currently hiring more staff.

Our indoor waterpark will be opening soon. Please come back and try us again.

Mahalo,

Nicole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandusky hotels
3.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Rainwater Park
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#5 of 35 in Sandusky
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn Sandusky - Cedar Point
3.3 mi away
Cedar Point's Express Hotel
0.9 mi away
Great Wolf Lodge
Great Wolf Lodge
#6 of 35 in Sandusky
2,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark

Property: Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
Address: 5513 Milan Rd, Sandusky, OH 44870-5858 (Formerly Maui Sands Hotel)
Region: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark 2.5*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
See the Difference a trip to the Maui Sands Resort and Indoor Waterpark can be. You'll experience the little touches that you'd only find in any Hawaiian home. And always, the warmth of a smile, because once you're here, you're family. When you compare the value you'll receive at the Maui Sands Resort against the area's other lodging choices you'll be proud to call Maui Sands home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark Sandusky, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing