We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very pleased!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
Ranked #23 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
West Salem, Ohio
1 review
“Very pleased!”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We are very happy with the night spent there. Although it is not the biggest water park, they have a nice balance of things to do for adults and kids. The staff is VERY friendly and helpful. Specifically Cassie, Abbie, Steph and "Doc" went out of their way to make sure things were right for us. Loved it!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 255Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff P, Guest Relations Manager at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Thanks so much for your kind words! Our Staff really appreciates being recognized like that! Were glad you enjoyed your time at the Maui Sands Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,337 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    409
    322
    190
    159
    257
See reviews for
935
75
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We stayed friday night at Maui sands, pay more to stay at other resorts. Water was cold one slide two year old could ride three that 4 year old could ride. Cold, and cops had to show up on my visit and traumatized my daughter. You get what you pay for if staying ask for room with water park view but advice is pay mor for a true experience.

Room Tip: Get water park view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mountainlove0525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff P, Guest Relations Manager at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Absolutely right, it was cold. We are terribly apologetic for that problem. A heating unit went out and we scrambled to get as much heat in as we could. That problem has been corrected and it's nice and warm. We look forward to having you back to see how warm it really is at the 'Sands!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sandusky hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed at maui sands this past weekend with a groupon deal. The lifeguards were all really nice and did there jobs they really watched the kids. Pizza was good, breakfast was good, our room was cold at first but eventually warmed up. The hallways were so cold and not pleasant when your coming from the water park and the waterpark was chilly to. If they turn heat up it would be a perfect stay!!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arickel85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff P, Guest Relations Manager at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
It was cold that night and we're very sorry about that . The heating unit was replaced and it's nice and warm, as it usually is. Look forward to having you back and experiencing the Maui Sands Resort as it's meant to be!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elyria, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We loved our stay and the entire staff was great, especially Doc. The room was clean and really nice. However, the hallway was FREEZING and the temperature of the waterpark was cold. We wanted a winter escape where we would be nice and warm to forget about the cold outside. But instead were shivering the entire time we were in the water. One other complaint... It was a 2 hour wait to get a pizza that was included with our stay. We ended up not getting it and going out for pizza. If the temp. issue would be fixed, I would definitely go back. Otherwise, I will look into staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenn44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff P, Guest Relations Manager at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Our Birthday Parties Rock! We're glad your choice of a Maui Sands Resort Birthday worked well for your family. We look forward to having your party back for some more fun!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandusky, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We had our daughter's birthday party at Maui Sands. Girls had a great time. Service was excellent. Our hostess was a lady name Karan. She did a excellent job pleasing everyone. We recommend Maui Sands over the other water parks in Sandusky, Oh. because, I could easily monitor the whole water park.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff P, Guest Relations Manager at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
We really thank you for warm review. Our Staff really loves taking care of our valued guests, especially in our Birthday Party!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013 via mobile

For starters, people bad mouthing this hotel need a wake up call and should consider traveling the world rather then going to the four seasons once a year in your home town. Then maybe u will come in contact with some bad hotels and have something to complain about rather then attacking a perfectly good establishment.

Me and my girlfriend came from Australia in August and our stay was THAT good, 4 months later I felt obligated to comment on how nice the room was, how amazing the location was, and how amazingly helpful the night staff manager Casey and his staff were to us during our stay. Apart from their driving service leaving us stranded at cedar point. Casey insured we were reimbursed for the inconvenience, free admission to the water park and helped us with any inquiries we needed. They informed us they were trying to branch away from that limo service as they weren't for filling their duties. Stay away from the limo service lol. The staff at maui sands were truly a breathe of fresh air and helpful considering we had just landed in a foreign land for the first time. The grand wolf lodge is over priced, overrated and people should seriously consider giving this establishment a go. The water slides were insane and the black guy with the braces manning the slides was not only really good with the kids but interactive with the tourists and brought an amazing feeling to the experience. They are going to be rennovating soon and when they do or even if they don't they are the BEST location to stay if your going to cedar point. A suggestion to the owners, start a bus route from cleveland airport to your establishment for a fee you can add on during booking and your set. We hired a car but being from another country u tend to panic when on foreign roads. Your staff is amazing and made the experience so much more enjoyable.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Simon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff P, Guest Relations Manager at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Thanks so much for leaving your review. Our staff really appreciates being noted here in TripAdvisor. We thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. We look forward to having you back for more Maui Sands Fun!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Me a 8 other family members went this pass weekend. Well our kids went to kalahari last year and they loved it. This was on a much smaller scale but I really, really enjoyed it. I was able to allow the kids to go by themselves and not have to worry about them. The staff (All of the staff) went above and beyond to take care of us. Front desk people were extremely nice. I love the free breakfast. The resturant food was very high.(expensive) I paid $6.70 for a small hand size pizza. The Cook was extremely nice and the clean up crew. The rooms were clean. Parking was close and free. The location was wonderful. The hotel is surrounded by anything you desire. Walmart, Mall, everything and anything. I loved it and I am planning another trip there with some more of my friends. I highly recommend this place for a family getaway.

Room Tip: well everyone was very helpful in meeting whatever need you had so I say go and enjoy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank preciousG2982YM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie W, Front Office Manager at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Dear PreciousG2982YM:

Glad your family had a great time during your stay at the Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark. Thanks for giving us a chance.

We appreciate your recommendation. It means a great deal to us.

The waterpark has a lot to do in a family-friendly environment. Plus, our Team Members are very conscientious and try to provide the best in guest service every day.

Our location and the nearby parking lot are additional benefits to staying at the resort.

We hope you will visit with us again soon. Your patronage is very important to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandusky hotels
3.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Rainwater Park
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#5 of 35 in Sandusky
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#7 of 35 in Sandusky
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Sandusky
2.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn Sandusky - Cedar Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark

Property: Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
Address: 5513 Milan Rd, Sandusky, OH 44870-5858 (Formerly Maui Sands Hotel)
Region: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark 2.5*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
See the Difference a trip to the Maui Sands Resort and Indoor Waterpark can be. You'll experience the little touches that you'd only find in any Hawaiian home. And always, the warmth of a smile, because once you're here, you're family. When you compare the value you'll receive at the Maui Sands Resort against the area's other lodging choices you'll be proud to call Maui Sands home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark Sandusky, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing