We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally worth a Groupon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
Ranked #23 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
106 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Totally worth a Groupon”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

My wife got a groupon for my birthday thinking it would be a super awesome experience. She got a hot tub room included in the package. When we got there we were greated and sent to our room. The hot water did not work in the tub (this was fixed by a maintenance man) and everything was very outdated. Breakfast was amazing. Not your typical free breakfast you get at other hotels. The water park portion of the hotel was great for kids. We ended up going and getting our nephew and spending the day. He had a blast. This is a great mini vacation for a family but I would not pay full price for the outdatedness.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chaim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie B, Front Office Manager at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Charm R:

Thank you for staying at the Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark. We are pleased you enjoyed your visit.

The Groupon Coupon is a good value and has been very popular with our guests.

Glad everything went well and that the we were able to repair the hot tub quickly.

We hope you will visit us again soon. Your patronage is very important to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,350 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    411
    327
    192
    161
    259
See reviews for
946
75
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfort, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

I was at the counter to check in at 3:50, they made me go to the end of line to check in because it was not 4pm, yet. (10 mins-really?!) I had to wait an additional 45 mins to check in. Now for my room, the kids loved the bunk beds but the bathroom door did not latch or fully close and there was mold on bottom of shower curtain. Gross!. As for the water park, slides were nice and layout was good, however with allowing people to eat at pool side was nasty because there was food all over the ground, I asked someone if there was someone to clean up around the table we were able to get, after about 45 mins, we had to clean up because else we were stepping in pizza. When we were done swimming, we ordered food at their restaurant, had to wait at least 30-40 mins for pizza and then I did order fries about 10 mins after I ordered pizza but fries were not ready for another 30 mins after our pizza and they were cold. I believe if there was better management, things probably would have gone better but I was too frustrated, disgusted and upset to actually enjoy any part of my stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Laura Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie B, Front Office Manager at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Laura Z:

Thank you for telling us about your visit to the Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark. We are always interested in feedback from our guests.

We are sorry you were not completely satisfied with your stay. We want all of our guests to have an enjoyable experience.

We are glad your kids liked the bunk beds. They are popular with families. However, rooms and bathrooms must be clean.

We apologize for the slow food service and unkept areas in the pool. Unfortunately, you visited on a very busy day we were not able to provide our services as quickly as we normally do.

We hope you will visit us again soon. If you do, we are sure you have a much more enjoyable visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sandusky hotels

Parma, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 April 2014

After I purchased the package on Groupon, I read reviews and was then afraid ! It was very nice, clean but a little run down , good food , but not much room to eat in the dining area , great water area , changing room was not adequate for the crowd . Seems to be a great place , but seems they cannot accommodate crowds well. Friendly staff etc, just long lines for food, service and buffet ... and not sure you will get a seat ... we did and we had a great time ... for a great price. This is not Kalahari, so comparing it will disappoint anyone !

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann Marie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie W, Front Office Manager at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Ann Marie K:

Thank you for telling us about your stay at the Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark. We are always interested to know about our guests' visit.

We are glad you had a great time and thought it was a great value. Unfortunately, you visited during a very busy weekend and the lines were unusually long for everything.

We appreciate your kind words about our staff. We want our employees to provide the best service possible each and every day.

We hope you will visit us again soon. Your patronage is greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

I found this deal on groupon and it was an absolute steal. We stayed in the Hana suit and the children loved their bunk beds. We read reviews a few weeks before our trip and immediately thought we had made a mistake. I think some of you need to realize that it's a water park that gets busy. You aren't checking into a 5 star wine tour spa hotel. I found it to be extremely clean. Yes the towels in the waterpark were low but you're going to a water park why wouldn't you bring your own. The food was good and not over priced. The staff was friendly and helpful. The greeter Doc really made you feel like you were a guest and not just a number. Anytime we ran into him he asked us how things were and if we needed anything. He was also friendly with the kids. The breakfast was decent as well. My only complaint is that we didn't book more than one night. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NicoleHD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie W, Front Office Manager at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear NicoleHD:

Always nice to hear from a satisfied guest. We are glad you were able to take advantage of the Groupon Coupon.

With overnight accommodations,access to the waterpark for two days, free pizza dinner and complimentary hot buffet breakfast, it is a steal and has been very popular with our guests.

We are also pleased our staff treated you professionally and courteously. Doc is a wonderful representative for the resort.

Admittedly, on some of our busier days, there can be a temporary shortage of towels. We apologize for the inconvenience.

Here's the perfect solution to your complaint: Please visit us again. Your patronage is very important to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 18 April 2014

I came to Maui Sands through a groupon deal. One night stay at the hotel, two days at the waterpark. Free pizza, free breakfast. This has turned out to be a very accomadating and laid back place to stay. Our room had a large double bed, two sets of bunk beds. I was pleasantly surprised by the general cleanliness of the place, I would highly recommend this place for a little getaway during the week or even the summer.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisalisa477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie W, Front Office Manager at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Lisalisa477:

Thank you very much for telling us about your visit to the Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark.

It is always nice to hear from a satisfied guest.

We appreciate your recommendation. It means a great deal to us.

Glad you were able to take advantage of the Groupon Coupon. With overnight accommodations, access to the waterpark for two days, free pizza dinner and complimentary hot buffet breakfast, it is a real bargain and has been very popular with our guests.

With lots to do and a family-friendly atmosphere, Maui Sands is an ideal location for a family getaway.

We hope you will visit with us again soon. Your patronage is very important to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lagrange, Ohio
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

It was our first time here and we were not disappointed. The family units with the twin bunk beds in a separate room are a great idea! The waterpark was clean and fun and the lazy river was relaxing. The hot breakfast buffet was another pleasant surprise since it was free. The staff was very polite and helpful, especially DOC and the buffet hostess. We are already planning our next visit.

Room Tip: If you have three or four kids I recommend the Hana suite with the twin bunk beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ernie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff P, Guest Relations Manager at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear Ernie S:

Thank you very much for telling us about your visit to the park. We are very pleased that your first visit was a good one!

We are glad you enjoyed the rooms and the waterpark and that our employees welcomed you professionally and courteously. The complimentary breakfast buffet is also very popular with our guests.

We appreciate the kind words about Doc and Karan, our buffet hostess. They are special people and wonderful ambassadors for the resort.

We are looking forward to your next visit. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macomb, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Was able to use water park (which was very nice) at noon on check in day - good...but it goes down hill from there. We were told there was a changing area in the water park. This consisted of either changing in a bathroom stall or a TINY shower area. Check in was at 4:00 and we had to wait over 30 minutes to get checked in. Their rooms are advertised as "suites". Our "suite" was located right off the front desk on the first floor - when looking out the window you saw everyone walking by and/or dropping off people/unloading their vehicles. The room was nothing more than the average size room with a sectioned off area with two sets of bunk beds. Bunk beds were very wobbly and not secured to wall. Two of the four kids refused to even to up the ladder to try the top bunk! When the kids left the water park area it was out of dry towels because "they had new staff that couldn't keep up". When we went into our room I washed my hands and then was on the search for a hand towel to dry them. In a "suite for 6" there were zero wash cloths, zero hand towels and two bath towels. Next, we tried to load the fridge with water only to find it had not been cleaned. Tried to contact the front desk, but none of the pre-programmed buttons worked so I pressed "0". Phone rang over 20 times - never to be answered. When I caught an employee in the hall I explained the towel & fridge situation and he said he would get someone to take care of it. A person came to our room with a garbage bag full of towels and left them on the floor then asked if we still wanted the fridge cleaned. Next came the included dinner for six. Since there is only a "snack bar" for food - which was listed as a grill - we were given one large pizza (horrible), alfredo with penne pasta (horrible & cold) pop (one child got yelled at because they tried to refill it) and brownies (which we threw out). Also, the arcade leaves a lot to be desired - and the main attraction - the air hockey table - didn't work. Basically once the water park closes, there isn't anything for the kids to do! Buffet breakfast was better. It looked like they sank a lot of money into the water park and haven't gotten around to updating the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kimberly Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff P, Guest Relations Manager at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Kimberly Z:

Thank you for telling us about your visit. We are always interested to know about our guest's visit.

We are sorry you were disappointed with your stay. Unfortunately, we did not provide the quality experience our guests deserve. It was a very busy weekend and we were not able to finish all of our duties until later in the day.

There are also plans to renovate and expand the arcade later this year.

Your feedback is very important to us. It will help us provide a better experience for our guests in the future.

We hope you will visit us again in the future. Your stay will be much more enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandusky hotels
3.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Rainwater Park
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#5 of 35 in Sandusky
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn Sandusky - Cedar Point
3.3 mi away
Cedar Point's Express Hotel
0.9 mi away
Great Wolf Lodge
Great Wolf Lodge
#6 of 35 in Sandusky
2,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark

Property: Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
Address: 5513 Milan Rd, Sandusky, OH 44870-5858 (Formerly Maui Sands Hotel)
Region: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark 2.5*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
See the Difference a trip to the Maui Sands Resort and Indoor Waterpark can be. You'll experience the little touches that you'd only find in any Hawaiian home. And always, the warmth of a smile, because once you're here, you're family. When you compare the value you'll receive at the Maui Sands Resort against the area's other lodging choices you'll be proud to call Maui Sands home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark Sandusky, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing