We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slightly cheaper than kalahari... Not worth the savings!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
Ranked #22 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
Cleveland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Slightly cheaper than kalahari... Not worth the savings!”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We arrived early, around 10am. Place was filthy. We started walking around the hotel, and it seemed to get worse and worse. The "arcade" had a table littered with beer and cups. Several walls weren't even painted completely. Room had several stains on floor and walls, and the light In the bathroom was burned out. The waterpark itself was cold inside, but the water was warm. There were plenty of lifeguards all over, however they didn't seem to pay attention at all. Several of them were at there stations doing push-ups. One guy was actually playing with one of the water jets. This was in a kiddie pool! We had to fight to cancel are second night, and will be staying at kalahari. the extra money is worth it

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rmccvnp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie W, Front Office Manager at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Rmccvnp:

Sorry you had such a disappointing stay.

Most of our guests have an enjoyable visit and many are repeat customers.
Your visit was a deviation from the norm.

We are also displeased with the actions of our lifeguards. We want all of our Team Members to treat our guests professionally and courteously. We want all of our guests to have a wonderful visit to the resort.

Please call us so we can discuss your visit in greater detail.

Your feedback is important to us. It will help us make improvements in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    411
    328
    192
    162
    261
See reviews for
950
75
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

This place is good for children 4 to 8, because they are not old enough to realize how tiny the water park actually is. Very over priced for what you get. As far as it goes for the rooms, we got a jacuzzi suite and it was awesome.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank mnstepp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie W, Front Office Manager at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Mnstepp:

Thank you for telling us about your visit to the Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark.

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay in one of our Jacuzzi Suites. That makes for a very special night!

However, we are disappointed that you did not rate the value of your stay as highly as we would have liked.

Our packages are very family-friendly. An overnight stay includes overnight accommodations, admission to the waterpark beginning when you arrive in the afternoon through closing time on the day of your departure. Our guests are able to use the waterpark after they checkout. That is like an extra day of waterpark fun!

Plus, our packages also include a complimentary hot buffet breakfast for every member of your family each morning.

This combination of food and fun makes for a wonderful family outing.

We hope you will visit with us again soon.

Your patronage is very important to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontiac, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Thank you Maui sands for another great stay this was our second time within the last 6 months thanks Sondra for remembering us, Christine thanks for being so nice when I called you directed me in the right direction for booking a room and most of all thanks Doc for making sure all our needs where taking care of with the same bubbly spirit you had when we first stayed in October you all feel like family, the property was clean it was quiet the pool area was wonderful, I can't say enough about your pool workers they all had smiles even at closing time after working all day that says something keep up the GOOD Work!!!!!!!

Room Tip: The rooms that have the adjoining rooms seems to be bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gspann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie W, Front Office Manager at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear Gspann:

Great to hear about your wonderful stay at the Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark.

Always nice to hear from a satisfied guest.

We are pleased that Saundra, Doc and Christine and the waterpark staff treated you professionally and courteously. They are wonderful ambassadors for the resort.

We are also glad that you enjoyed your visit to the waterpark. It is a great way to spend the day with your family.

We hope you will visit with us again soon.

Your patronage is very important to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairborn, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

We came into Sandusky on 4th of July weekend to stay at Maui Sands. While the check-in was crowded and a little hectic due to the high volume of visitor traffic, the rooms were clean and well-serviced and the staff was very friendly. Doc from guest services was particularly attentive and helpful to my family.

The waterpark was great and the kids loved it. The pool staff was friendly and competent. We will certainly recommend Maui Sands to friends looking for a great value.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie W, Front Office Manager at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear Luis L:

Thank you very much for telling us about your visit to the Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark.

We appreciate your recommendation and endorsement . They mean a great deal to us.

We are very glad everything went so well and you liked your accommodations and they were properly serviced.

We are also very pleased that Doc and the rest of our Team Members treated you professionally and courteously. We want all of our guests to have a special visit with us.

The waterpark is ideal for families. It is a great way to spend the day together. Our lifeguard crew is Red Cross-certified and conscientious and engaging.

We hope you will visit with us again soon. Your patronage is greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Thank You Christine, Doc and the morning manager for making our stay great. We had issues getting into Sandusky and lost a day of our trip, but once we arrived at the hotel the above people provided great customer service. We are very thankful to Maui Sands Resorts!! We love the suites suites in the main the main building. Also, we enjoyed the indoor water park. Great life guard staff. I could not get my footing in the water and the life guards rushed right over to me. They were very caring and I didn't feel embarrassed. If they hadn't been so kind I would have felt very silly in all 3 feet of
water.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Truthfulnessanddear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie W, Front Office Manager at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear Truthfulnessanddear:

Thank you very much for telling us about your visit to the Maui Sands Resoret & Indoor Waterpark.

We are very pleased that our accommodations and Team Members were able to make your stay great.

We want our staff all of our guests professionally and courteously and Team Members such as Christine, Doc and the front desk staff are wonderful ambassadors for the resort.

Our llfeguard staff is Red Cross-certified, but also know the importance of treating our guests with compassion. We want all of our guests to have a very enjoyable visit to the resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, PA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I was a little bit skeptical based on some of the reviews on here. The rooms were clean and well kept. Even had Bath and Body Works products in the bathrooms. Service areas were very helpful. Food was great. Breakfast buffet was included and good. Park was definitely smaller than we are used to but, we really preferred it this way. It was easy to find family members, life guards were friendly and my family will definitely be back. Thanks so much!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Clochwat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie W, Front Office Manager at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Clochwat:

You are very welcome. It is always nice to hear from a satisfied guest.

Glad your stay went so well. Our waterpark is perfectly suited to young families. There is plenty to for the little ones yet very manageable for parents. Plus, our lifeguards are expected to great our guests courteously and professionally.

We are also pleased you enjoyed your accommodations and our food offerings.

We hope you will visit with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We ran in the race at Cedar Point on 6/28- needed just an overnight stay. When looking up prices of area hotels for the night- noted this one was just a bit more with a water park bonus, so decided to book it for the night. We arrived at 4 pm Friday and my kids (13 yr old, 9 yr olds) wanted to get changed and go to the water park ASAP. First thing they noted was our "view" was basically a brick wall. It appears this was just a normal hotel once and a water park was slapped in the middle of it later on- this was the wall we were looking at. We have visited Kalahari, Castaway bay and GW Lodge in the area, which have all kept my kids entertained and I feel I got my money's worth. They were done with all the activities at MS by 6 pm and wanted to head back to the room. Not a lot of food options in house- we got a rock hard soft pretzel and a highly processed pizza to eat. Did not get to try the breakfast because we had to leave before it was served. It was fine for what we needed it for- but if I was actually vacationing there, I'd be highly disappointed! Spend a little more and go to one of the bigger parks.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenniferfam5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie W, Front Office Manager at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Jenniferfam5:

Thank you for telling us about your visit to the resort.
We are sorry that you were disappointed with your stay.

The waterpark is one of the largest in area and very popular with younger families. Your kids may have wanted a larger variety of attractions. Unfortunately, you did not have an opportunity to enjoy the complimentary breakfast buffet. With eggs, sausage, pancakes, biscuits and gravy, cereal, juice and coffee, it is very popular with our guests.

Your comments are important to us. Feedback from our guests will help us improve in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sandusky hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandusky hotels
3.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Rainwater Park
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#6 of 35 in Sandusky
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Cedar Point's Express Hotel
2.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn Sandusky - Cedar Point
2.8 mi away
South Shore Inn
South Shore Inn
#13 of 35 in Sandusky
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark

Property: Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
Address: 5513 Milan Rd, Sandusky, OH 44870-5858 (Formerly Maui Sands Hotel)
Region: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark 2.5*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
See the Difference a trip to the Maui Sands Resort and Indoor Waterpark can be. You'll experience the little touches that you'd only find in any Hawaiian home. And always, the warmth of a smile, because once you're here, you're family. When you compare the value you'll receive at the Maui Sands Resort against the area's other lodging choices you'll be proud to call Maui Sands home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark Sandusky, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing