We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth the money or time” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
Ranked #23 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
Canton, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not worth the money or time”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Room dirty, old, not renovated since abandoned by another Motel chain, no soap shampoo or conditioner in dispensers nor on the counter, room door hanging off hinge that maintanence needed to repair, locked out of safe, spiders around floor under bunks. Obviously room hadn't been used in quite a while.
Food terrible with only 2 working the walk up counter for fountain and hot selections. Wait for dinner was 30 minutes.

Don't bother with the deal. It's not a deal at all.

Room Tip: Don't bother going to this hotel if you have already been to Kalahari or GWL
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank charlie680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbie S, Front Office Manager at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear charlie680:

Sorry to hear about your unsatisfactory visit to the resort.

We apologize for the unkempt condition of your room. Our check-in procedures require that all rooms are to be cleaned, inspected and approved before being issued to a guest.

Unfortunately, we missed your room. That is not the norm. We want all of our guests to have a clean and comfortable stay each and every day.

We are also sorry for the delay in processing your food order. Our guests deserve good food served promptly.

We appreciate your comments. Feedback from our guests will help make improvements for the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    407
    319
    188
    157
    255
See reviews for
924
75
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Akron
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Save your money and spend it at Kalahari or Great Wolf. The park opens at 11:00 thats checkout. Our room was ready at 1 but we could not get in it till 4. There is no wifi or phones in the rooms seems like a half hearted attempt to copy a water park.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ohjt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbie S, Front Office Manager at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Ohgt:

Sorry you did not have an enjoyable stay at the resort.

Unfortunately, you were not given accurate information. During the summer, the waterpark opens at 10 a.m.daily. Checkout is at 11 a.m., however guests are allowed to use the waterpark through closing (10 p.m.) on the day of checkout.

Wifi is available in all of our rooms. However, on some days the signal in some of the rooms is not real strong. Wifi is always available in the lobby. We apologize for the inconvenience.

Thank you for telling us about your visit. Comments from our guests will help us improve in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sandusky hotels

Madison
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed here after booking through Hotwire for one night because it was close to kalahari where we stayed the previous night. Hotel staff was rude to my husband. The place reeked of marijuana and the place was nasty stains all over the carpet chunks of drywall in the floor out door wouldn't close all the way like someone had broken into it before. Trash piled up all around parking lot. A few rooms from outside you could see the mattresses up against window which didn't look like a good sign to me. Overall we were very disappointed and wanted to get a refund but they would not budge.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AgmRN2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbie S, Front Office Manager at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear AgmRN2014:

Sorry you were disappointed with your stay, and all of our Team Members were not courteous and professional.

We expect all members of our staff to treat our guests properly.

Our guest rooms and outdoor public areas are cleaned daily. Unfortunately, some of the marks on the carpets are permanent and cannot be removed. On high-traffic days, the parking lot will become littered.

We are constantly upgrading the resort. Currently, we are renovating several of our rooms, and these rooms are not available to our guests.

Thank you for telling us about your visit. Feedback from our guests will help us improve in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Stayed with the family 2 nights in August in a Cabana O'Hana suite.

The public areas of the hotel are a mess. Carpets look like they haven't seen a vacuum since the day the hotel opened. Dust EVERYWHERE.

The room was okay and fairly clean. Setup was strange with the AC unit under the sink at the back of the unit. Between it and the bed was the 'kids area'. To get the air to actually circulate, you had to turn on a fan. It was the LOUDEST fan ever and was situated close to the pillow of the person sleeping on one of the top bunks.

The beds in the kids room weren't very sturdy. My 8 year old son sleeps on a bunk bed at home. He awoke in this bed at 2am SCREAMING that the bed was falling and I had to lift him down......

That being said, the waterpark was great. Very clean. We've visited several waterparks in the past (Great Wolf Niagara, Fallsview Waterpark, Massanutten) and I would say this one had several advantages. It's definitely not as big as the others BUT with a busy 2 1/2 year old, that's a good thing. I could see her easily as she explored the 'tree house' without having to chase her constantly.

There was also relatively few line ups. Also a good thing when your older child has no patience for lines.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hockeydude2272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbie S, Front Office Manager at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear hockeydude2272:

Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your patronage.

We apologize for the unkempt areas of the resort and the condition of the bunk beds in your room. We want all of our guests to be comfortable, safe and get a good night's sleep.

Glad you enjoyed the waterpark. It is one of the largest indoor waterparks in the area, but ideal for young families.

We appreciate your comments. Feedback from our guests will help us make improvements for the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Castle, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

had a groupon discount and wanted to stay the night before going to cedar point, it was nice to wake up and just go to the park , but the room was not complete ,no sheets on the queen bed. very small 60's style room with no outside window, the place looks like its been added on to old motels, kids did have fun in water park but i thought it was poorly lit and very dark, front desk was slow , the breakfast buffet was ok , would never stay here again

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbie S, Front Office Manager at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Dear Bruce P:

We are very disappointed that you were not pleased with your visit to the resort.

We apologize that your room was not serviced properly and that our stall was not as attentive as they should have been.

We want our Team Members to provide the best guest service possible each and every day.

We are glad your children had a good time in the waterpark and that you enjoyed the complimentary buffet breakfast. With a variety of attractions, the waterpark has plenty of fun things to do for families.

Your comments are important to us. Feedback from our guests will help us make improvements for the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

I had fun &I've been to all the water parks in Ohio. I read the review's and was nervous,but This one is great for younger kids 12 & under. No its not g.w.l but the price is not either. Its a nice place our room was clean,food was good, & water park didn't have long lines. The staff was also king & friendly. I'd stay again

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Carleha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbie S, Front Office Manager at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Dear Carleha J:

Thank you for telling us about your visit to the Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark in Sandusky, Ohio. It is always nice to hear from a satisfied guest.

Your endorsement is greatly appreciated.

We are glad everything went well during your stay: the room was clean,the food was good, your kids had a great time in the waterpark and our Team Members treated your courteously and professionally.

Our goal is to provide the best guest service possible each and every day.

We hope you will visit with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muncie, Indiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

We booked the Maui Sands via Priceline for our trip to Cedar Point. We did not use the water park, buffet, or the restaurant at all so this review only covers the hotel.

We arrived at the hotel at around 5 PM and there was only two people checking in guests to their rooms. The line to check-in was long and only getting longer by the minute. Why they don't have more people scheduled for the check-in period, I have no idea.

Eventually we were handled by a nice young man and we informed him that we had read some less-than-good reviews about their hotel and we'd like to be placed in a "good" room. He informed us we were in the 2000 block and those were "good".

The 2000 block is at the back of the property and has its own entrance which you could mistake as the hotel's main entrance if you're not careful. If I had to guess, this was its own hotel at some point and Maui Sands took it over and changed the entrance later.

There was no elevator for this building and we were on the second floor. Not a big deal for us, but worth pointing out for those who need assistance. The areas outside of our room smelt musty, like wet people had come through and maintenance was slack.

The Ice/Vending area advertised "Vending" but only had ice. To be fair, real vending machines were just downstairs. Just odd.

Room was clean for the most part, you just can't look into the details or you'll find yourself unimpressed more and more. The floorboards creaked in many areas, the walls were super thin which allowed us to hear when our next door neighbors moved or talked at all. The beds were also pretty hard which did make sleeping more difficult than I would have liked. When we returned on one of our days, housekeeping left some sort of white powder in our room. I don't know what that was but it just contributed to the overall sloppy feeling I had about the place. Fine details will make someone choose one hotel over another, and this one lacked in that area more than most.

Also, don't rely on your phone's GPS to get you here. It will try to send you back on the highway. You have to enter the hotel at the Sleep Inn sign. The sign Maui Sands has put up helps but it is not big enough to tell you where to enter, and your phone's GPS will not know where to send you.

The positives: The TV was nice and worked, the free wi-fi was great, and the fridge was super-cold.

Overall, it was close enough to where we wanted to be and a decent enough price, just expect to get exactly what you paid for, or a little less. I'm staying elsewhere next time most likely,as I just don't think there was enough here to entice me to come back.

Room Tip: 2000 Block worked well enough, mention poor reviews at check-in as it could help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thewesker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbie S, Front Office Manager at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear thewesker:

Thank you for telling us about your visit to the resort.

We are sorry you were disappointed with your stay. We want all of our guests to have a clean and comfortable visit.

We wish you wold have had the opportunity to use the waterpark and take advantage of the complimentary hot buffet breakfast. With eggs, sausage, pancakes, hash browns, sausage gravy and biscuits, cereals, juice and coffee, it is a great way to start the day. Plus, the waterpark has a variety of attractions that provide plenty of family fun.

We appreciate your input. Feedback from our guests will help us improve in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandusky hotels
3.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Rainwater Park
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#4 of 35 in Sandusky
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#7 of 35 in Sandusky
4.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Sandusky-Central
0.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Sandusky
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark

Property: Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
Address: 5513 Milan Rd, Sandusky, OH 44870-5858 (Formerly Maui Sands Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark 2.5*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
See the Difference a trip to the Maui Sands Resort and Indoor Waterpark can be. You'll experience the little touches that you'd only find in any Hawaiian home. And always, the warmth of a smile, because once you're here, you're family. When you compare the value you'll receive at the Maui Sands Resort against the area's other lodging choices you'll be proud to call Maui Sands home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark Sandusky, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing