We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good ice cream, but . . .” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Toft's Ice Cream Parlor

Toft's Ice Cream Parlor
Ranked #1 of 5 Dessert in Sandusky
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Cheap Eats, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Drinks, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: There is a Toft's listed under Shopping in Sandusky but it's an ice cream parlor. They do sell milk, etc. but it's pretty much an ice cream/milkshake place.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good ice cream, but . . .”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Good ice cream, and lots of flavors. Open till 11 which is great if you get out of cedar point on time!

However, there are some strange rules I've never encountered at any other ice cream parlor. They give no samples - no exceptions! So you better be sure you will like what you order! The kids size is huge at 3 scoops, but they "cannot" make it more than one flavor. You can get two flavors in the size "small" which is 5 scoops. None of the flavors are described so the employees have to recite the ingredients over and over. They also "can't" put sprinkles on the regular ice cream, only the soft serve.

We got there one night just a few minutes before closing and tried the door to see if they were still open , and instead of saying, "sorry we're closed", the employee shouted angrily, "NO! WE'RE CLOSED! GO AWAY! WE'RE CLOSED!!". That rudeness was extremely unpleasant and kind of tainted the yumminess of the ice cream the next day. I liked the cave man chocolate.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank trippedytripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    239
    32
    18
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best hand dipped ice cream”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Talk about great ice cream. Some of the best hand dipped I've ever had. The reviews were dead on! The atmosphere was a throw back to a much slower time and very enjoyable and family friendly. We were here on vacation and had seen the reviews here on trip advisor.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Eric C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
62 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“THE best ice-cream station in Ohio for families”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

The flavors are amazing in scope and variety. My kids enjoy visiting this spot when going to Cedar Point. The portions are gigantic and the quality is exceptional.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 848FrederickE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westerville, Ohio
Level Contributor
376 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Just the best ice cream”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Tofts is the "best" ice cream my wife and I have found anywhere. A very wide variety of flavors are available, but the Cherry Vanilla continues to be our favorite. The portions are very large, even the medium size servings are more than we can eat. I don't know how anyone could eat a large. The value is exceptional for any size. The service is great. Overall, perfection is the best way to say it! My wife and I make it a point to visit Tofts every time we have a chance to visit the area, its about a 2.5 hour drive for us each way, but worth it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
238 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Huge variety and huge portions!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

You will not find an ice cream shop with a larger variety of homemade ice cream! I had a scoop of Red Velvet and a scoop of Mackinac Island Fudge. Two scoops is a "small" serving, and was twice as much as I could eat. I have no idea who might be able to eat a "large!" If you love ice cream, Toft's is the place to go!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nomad062_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Toft's Ice Cream Parlor also viewed

 

Been to Toft's Ice Cream Parlor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing