We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old fashioned ice cream”

Toft's Ice Cream Parlor
Ranked #1 of 5 Dessert in Sandusky
Certificate of Excellence
Description: There is a Toft's listed under Shopping in Sandusky but it's an ice cream parlor. They do sell milk, etc. but it's pretty much an ice cream/milkshake place.
Restaurant details
Description: There is a Toft's listed under Shopping in Sandusky but it's an ice cream parlor. They do sell milk, etc. but it's pretty much an ice cream/milkshake place.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Old fashioned ice cream”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

What a treasure you all have in Sandusky. This ice cream parlor is what small town America is all about. Friendly staff, plenty of room for everyone to enjoy their treats, and just plain old good ice cream.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rockerh55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    271
    35
    21
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great ice cream”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

The portions here were very generous and the price was right!
A cool way to end a hot day at the park!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwalk, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Do not miss!”
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

If you are traveling and looking for great ice cream Tofts is your place! The portions are great and you Will not be disappointed in the flavor selection! We are so lucky to have them so close to us. You can also swing into any store in the surrounding Sandusky area and grab tofts ice cream in the freezer section if you don't want to make te drive out there- just don't forget the spoons :)

Helpful?
Thank danielephant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Clinton, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Best Icecream anywhere!”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We do not live in Ohio anymore but when we get back in the area we ALWAYS go to Toft's for icecream. I do not think they have a food menu at all though and we were just there.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good ice cream, but . . .”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Good ice cream, and lots of flavors. Open till 11 which is great if you get out of cedar point on time!

However, there are some strange rules I've never encountered at any other ice cream parlor. They give no samples - no exceptions! So you better be sure you will like what you order! The kids size is huge at 3 scoops, but they "cannot" make it more than one flavor. You can get two flavors in the size "small" which is 5 scoops. None of the flavors are described so the employees have to recite the ingredients over and over. They also "can't" put sprinkles on the regular ice cream, only the soft serve.

We got there one night just a few minutes before closing and tried the door to see if they were still open , and instead of saying, "sorry we're closed", the employee shouted angrily, "NO! WE'RE CLOSED! GO AWAY! WE'RE CLOSED!!". That rudeness was extremely unpleasant and kind of tainted the yumminess of the ice cream the next day. I liked the cave man chocolate.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank trippedytripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Toft's Ice Cream Parlor also viewed

 

Been to Toft's Ice Cream Parlor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing