We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's TRUE!”

Baci Restaurant & Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Baci Restaurant & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 188 Restaurants in Sandusky
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$14 - US$50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Junction US250 & RT2
Description: Baci Restaurant & Bar is an Italian fine dining restaurant and nightclub located in the heart Lake Erie Shores & Islands of Sandusky, Ohio. Born & raised in Italy, Carmelo Ruta, Executive Chef, in the kitchen, Baci Restaurant & Bar combines the best of old and new world thinking, to create a wonderful full-flavored and well-rounded menu.
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

We selected Baci's based on positive reviews. We are so glad we did. There were 4 of us. One had had beef tenderloin, one lobster, one king crab legs, one Delmonico steak - all served Sicilian style. Yum. The meals were were magnificent!!! Josh Koebel, our waiter, was great! Thank you! We will back!

Thank Kimberly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Baci Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2014

Josh will be happy to hear of your amazing experience at Baci. Thanks for sharing your experience and we hope to see you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (313)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

148 - 152 of 314 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Was a little skeptical on the restaurant because it was located within our hotel. Our server, Cindy, was extremely professional and cheerful especially when considering our work function might have been a bit out of hand at times. Most of us ordered steaks and have eaten at some really good steakhouses back in our hometown of Chicago. Steaks were cooked to perfection and very good. We were also surprised by a number of complimentary appetizers. Totally unexpected and sets this place apart from the majority of places I've been to. Service was OUTSTANDING and I would highly recommend going here if you want to treat yourself to something outside of the ordinary chain restaurant experience so common in this area. Thank you Cindy! We will definitely be back here next year!

Thank Brian Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Baci Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2014

Thanks for sharing your wonderful review of your recent dining experience at Baci. We are certainly one-of-a-kind and we aim to give our guests a TOTAL dining experience. Sounds like we hit the mark in your case.

We hope that you'll come back and visit with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Got a room for the night on return leg of a western family visit. Fellow at the turnpike booth suggested this place. Besides a nice clean and quiet room, the food and bar service at the restaurant was very good. The dinner salad was unexpectedly good and the Delmonico steak was excellent. Cindy made this solo rider feel at home, although I think they should have a larger craft beer selection. I'll likely stop here again next year and will likely get the room with the jaccuzzi tub!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank mark b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Baci Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2014

Thanks for rating your recent dining experience at Baci. We're so glad you enjoyed your experience and look forward to serving you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We saw this place had good reviews but was kind of skeptical when we entered. Little dark entry. The girl that was the bartender noticed us and came over to seat us. they were short a server but she (Cindy the bartender) told manager she would take care of us. Cindy was great, she was very friendly and knew everything about the menu. Food was very good, large portions. You wont leave hungry. We live a little over an hour from Sandusky but sure we will be back. My husband and I eat out often and were very impressed with the food and the service we received from Cindy was outstanding. Also observed a young waiter named Carlo interacting with the table behind us and he was very personable and knowledgeable also. Cindy and Carlo both seemed to want their customers to enjoy the evening....you don't find this at too many places...keep up the good work.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ntayupy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Baci Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to offer such a complimentary and thorough rating and review of your recent dining experience with us. We're so pleased that you enjoyed our staff, the food, as well as the ambiance.

We're glad you chose to give us a try and even happier to hear that you'll be back. We can't wait to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

After reading the reviews for restaurants we made reservations at Baci We were a little skeptical when we walked in, it was a Friday and the place was mostly empty and the decor is very dated.

when we found the entrance, there was no one to meet/greet us. As we walked into a nearly empty bar we met a lady who told us that we would have an hour wait. we mentioned that we had 6:00 reservation, she pulled out 2 small slips of paper and looked over them several times until she found us.

we were taken over to a table on a raised floor overlooking the empty bar and out the window looking at the parking lot. the are was filthy as the chair and the carpet underneath the table looked like it hadn't been cleaned or vacuumed in months.

dinner was uneventful and the girl serving was a "substitute" an gave no explanation of the steak choices or the kind of food served. being skeptical, we ordered "safe food"

as we were getting through our meal we noticed the other waiter giving a full explanation, with sample steaks etc. on platter, of the aging process etc.

when we asked why we weren't told of this, the replay was plate was ready when she came to us

Food was so, so and the ambience very poor.

it is a night club trying to mask itself a high end restaurant.

looking at the various reviews, I am thinking that someone(s) from the restaurant is creating reviews as it is not close to being the best in Sandusky

Thank GrCMm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Baci Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

I am sorry that you didn't have the same wonderful experience as 98% of our other reviewers on this site. Just to make sure you understand, I am the only person responsible for responding to reviews and I can assure you that, while we actively ask our guests to write reviews of their experience, no one associated or employed by our organization has ever written a review or done anything in violation of the TripAdvisor Terms of Service.

The fact that you had less than stellar service is very concerning to me--as obviously, that's not the norm. Our staff normally get rave reviews and even you mentioned that you heard another staff member doing a very nice job of explaining the menu, etc. Clearly, we dropped the ball on putting this particular server on the floor and I will certainly look into why that happened.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Baci Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Baci Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing