We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great fried rice” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jo Wok

Jo Wok
Ranked #78 of 180 Restaurants in Sandusky
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Sandusky, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great fried rice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

I have been going to this place for years, and I am always satisfied. You get a lot of food for your money, and its always delicious- especially the fries rice. The employees are always friendly and the service is fast. I will continue to go here as long as they are open.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bamfheather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    11
    5
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Huron, Ohio
1 review
“If you don't go you won't know”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

What a gem of a place. You say you don't like Asian food. You need to open your taste buds to a very special place in Sandusky. There is food for everyone. Try the Cucumber Salad, Veg/Tofu Soup, Jo's Fried Rice, or or many of the other dishes that have flavors beyond most peoples idea of good food. Not sure, ask Jo and family what to order. If you want something that we, my family, have tried to find in other Thai retaurants order Num Tok. The flavors are unreal. Don't forget Friday, when you can get fresh rolls. Only on Friday. So if you don't go you won't know.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dougz88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Clinton, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
65 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“An underrated gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

Most people just pass by this location in the plaza, and admittedly, its not much o look at, but this may be our locally best kept secret. Amazing Thai and oriental cuisine at great prices. The location is spartan and the atmosphere is underwhelming but the food is clearly worth the stop!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

A friend recommended Jo Wok's so we thought we would try it. Ordered Garlic Chicken meal (#1 or #A1) with fried rice, an egg roll and an order of crab rangoons to go. Total $11.25. It was enough for 2 people to share. The chicken was alittle bland and could have used some flavor, otherwise good. I make crab rangoons at home for my family; theirs were good, there was something sweet about them, couldn't put my finger on it. The artwork on the walls was beautiful! It was a clean place, small.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Acrossthecountry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Really good Thai Food, good prices...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

I love Thai food, and they make some tasty food here. I go here often and am usually impressed. However, the more I go there the more I'm starting to get disappointed. First the people at the front are not friendly at all... fine. However, if someone from the restaurant reads this, PLEASE do something about your drink situation. I get spicy food and need more than one drink. Last time I was there it took 15 mins. to get a refill because there is one person that can get you drinks and she was busy taking new orders and running what looks like a drive-thru? Its almost enough for me to not come back. If another Thai restaurant came to town and put out the same quality food with great service, I'm afraid this place wouldn't make it too long.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank scott w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jo Wok also viewed

 

Been to Jo Wok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing