We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Soda Fountain Is a Plus”

Better Half Family Diner
Ranked #68 of 183 Restaurants in Sandusky
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
485 reviews
285 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“Soda Fountain Is a Plus”
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Small family place with attached soda fountain next door (where we were seated). We went for lunch--I had a perch sandwich and my wife had the dinner. Plenty to eat and fresh but also not exceptional. Being able to get an old fashioned ice cream soda from the fountain was a plus. It was very good. Glad we ate here and would go back in the future. However, I'd rate it as "average +" but not quite "very good", as I have had better fish elsewhere in Sandusky. Good value for the money, however, and you won't leave hungry--which is what you want from a diner! One more plus--the soda fountain had an attached "coffee room" with fireplace that was very cozy. Would be fun to sit and read a book with a cup to keep one company.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kgilbert78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    12
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“GARBAGE”
Reviewed 9 February 2013

We went to this place based on reviews, and shame on you all. Our family of four all ordered eggs in various form, sausage patties, and pancakes. Eggs are eggs, but the sausage was disgusting. I'm not sure what it was, but it wasn't pork. Pancakes were edible, coffee was awful, and no Splenda. Our tab was 33.57, for that we could have eaten at Cracker Barrel and enjoyed our breakfast. Very disappointed at the waste of money.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ladyhawk116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandusky, Ohio
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“better half”
Reviewed 26 July 2012

It was nice; will return when in that area of town. Service was friendly and seemed clean and causual

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ali K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandusky, Ohio
Level Contributor
54 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A bit small....but good”
Reviewed 2 May 2012

This place is connected to Joe Sundae's, so if you can't get a seat in it, you can always go into Joe's -- which has the added attraction of an ice
cream shoppe.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol50940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
45 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Awesome Diner Food!”
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We've been to this location many times over the summer. The specials are great! And the service is excellent. They remember faces, food choices and fellow guests. They'll ask where someone is and be surprised if you change your food selection...like changing cheese on your "big breakfast." Cute diner with a "his" decorated side and a "her's" decorated side. Just an overall nice place to eat.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ScottCLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Better Half Family Diner also viewed

 

Been to Better Half Family Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing