We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little further, but worth it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites
Ranked #5 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A little further, but worth it”
Reviewed 27 August 2011

Stayed at the Best Western Sandusky for my daughters' birthday trip to Cedar Point. THe hotel was clean. Bathrooms were very nice. Service was also very good, one a the girls traveling with us called for conditioner and it arrived moments later. The Suite was two separate rooms, making it comfortable for my wife and I to stay in one and the kids in the other.. It is further away from Cedar Point than I would like, but worth it. Most of the hotels by the park are dirty or very expensive.
Another plus is there are restaurants and shopping in the area.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DIsneyHell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

810 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    353
    272
    114
    45
    26
See reviews for
379
165
26
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Stayed here with wife and 2 kids 7 and 10. Have stayed in other hotels in Sandusky this one by far was the cleanest, and cost was about the same. Kids used the pool next door and the small leisure pool in the basement Free breakfast was nothing special but could always find something to fill up on. Fridge in room was handy, overall good value for the money.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank raiderace81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

We spent 2 nights here to visit Cedar Point. The hotel is in a convenient location and was clean for the most part. We had a 2 room suite that worked well for our family of 5. The beds were very comfortable, but if you have a room on the highway side of the hotel, there will be noise. The breakfast was severely lacking and the breakfast room was too small to accomodate many guests.

Overall though, it was a nice stay and was very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saly914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

My friend and I went to Sandusky to go to Cedar Point (well, why else would you?). It's a bit of a schlep--10-15 minute drive. The room is clean and comfortable. It includes a sofa and a flat screen TV on a swivel, so though it naturally faces the beds, it can turn to face the sofa. Nice sized fridge and a freezer that could fit our ice paks and a Ben and Jerry's small ice cream container...mmm...ice cream.
The washroom is clean (they make a triangular shape out of the toilet paper rolls that are hanging (even when they cleaned our room between the first and second night) so attention to detail was nice. The bathroom had two lights. One that included the fan and a little light (nice for late night trips) and a regular light. The shower is difficult to figure out, even after having it described by the front desk to me. My friend finally figured it out. On the faucet, where the water comes out for the bath, right where the water comes out, you pull down on the metal and the water switches to the shower head.
The bathroom looks industrial not at all homey, though there were lots of towels provided.
The breakfast had some variety--make your own waffles, jams, orange and apple juice, 2-3 cereals in serving containers as well as bread and a toaster.
I think I'd bring more friends next time and stay in one of the expensive hotels on the Cedar Point property so that we could get discounts even better than those offered on the Cedar Point website to off-property visitors.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThePianoManII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

Stayed Aug 18-22. Hotel is nice. Rooms are as advertised.
Pros: location. On a good highway with lots of places to eat. Takes about 15 mins to get to Cedar Point parks.
Cons: lots. First, the staff is condesending. Room was not made on second day. I approached staff as to why and was questioned as to what I might have left on mmy bed that prevented the housekeeper from cleaning it. What happened to making the customer always feel like #1?
There is no onsite pool or restaurant. You're invited to visit the hotel next-door.
Slamming doors! I didn't get on peaceful nights sleep thanks to the doors that constantly slam between 6-10 am. I asked the staff about this and was told that they knew about the problem (but apparently didn't feel the need to do anything about it).
Overall, you get what you pay for. It's a nice hotel, but lacking in areas like customer service, pool and restaurant. There are plenty of other hotels on the 250 highway to consider for our next trip.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmfavia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2011

I was so pleased with the service the rooms have HDTV's and had a pool and a place to work a the Internet connection works!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guest1234567890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Grove, New York
Level Contributor
102 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

We just stayed here during a trip to visit Cedar Point and the Lake Erie Islands. First off, these are not true suites. It is a slightly larger room so that instead of an armchair, there is a small couch (NOT a pull out). It does have a microwave and refrigerator which is handy. The room was clean, but the housekeeping staff were lacking. Toiletries were not replaced after the first day, and one night we returned to two bath towels, 1 hand towel, and no washcloths. My daughter was clearly sleeping on the sofa, and the housekeeper didn't even bother to fold the blanket . Breakfast was an issue all three mornings. The room is not large enough to accommodate the number of guests in the hotel. Selection was limited, and items were not replenished as they were depleted. The waffle irons looked like they haven't been cleaned in years.It was not nearly as good a breakfast as I've experienced at other Best Western properties.. Overall, an okay hotel but you could probably do better in Sandusky for the same price or maybe even less.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janeonlongisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandusky hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#4 of 35 in Sandusky
309 reviews
0.4 mi away
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Sandusky-Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#7 of 35 in Sandusky
311 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Sandusky
2.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn Sandusky - Cedar Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites
Address: 6011 Milan Rd, Sandusky, OH 44870-5869
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Sandusky
#4 Family Hotel in Sandusky
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just Keep Moving! Free Fitness Training at Hotel. Free Circuit Training Class by Certified Personal Trainer - Tim Dorsey. Available Daily Monday to Friday 2 to 4 classes daily. Moderate to High Intensity. Located in Hotel. It's Free! The BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites is one of the only all-suite hotels in Sandusky all our rooms are one-room suites. Featuring 89 spacious one-room suites and full-service amenities to make your next business trip or vacation in Sandusky as comfortable and efficient as possible.Services & AmenitiesBeds are triple-sheeted with duvet32-inch flat-panel televisionsHot breakfast with waffles served dailyFree high-speed Internet accessFitness Center and Soaking Hot TubMicrowaves and refrigerators in all roomsIn-room coffee maker, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, and safeDesks and sitting area in all one-room suitesPremium cable channels with Pay-Per-View ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sandusky Hotel Sandusky
Best Western Sandusky Hotel And Suites
Comfort Suites Sandusky
Sandusky Comfort Suites
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing