We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites
Ranked #4 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
Certificate of Excellence
Albany, New York
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“wonderful hotel”
Reviewed 27 October 2011

We stayed one night and everything was great. The bed, bathroom, linens, breakfast, lobby, pool, etc. were without fault. All areas were very clean and the desk person was attentive and helpful. The breakfast was better than most continental, more of a full breakfast with hot choices.
We had no complaints. I cannot understand why AAA gave it only 2 stars as it was a very high end 3 star hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maxmandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

853 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    374
    282
    121
    48
    28
See reviews for
406
170
26
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Akron, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

My husband and I have been making the trip for the last 6 years to visit Halloweekends in October. Every year we have experienced awful hotels. From rooms that smell like pee, cancelled reservations, rooms above sliding glass doors that shake the walls, drunks on a beer cooler outside of our door, someone trying to break into our room, bed bugs... we've experienced it all in the past 6 years! It had gotten to the point last year that we just decided to go home at 2 am when we finally got out of the Cedar Point parking lot. This year we thought we would give it one more try and decided to stay at the Best Western Plus in Sandusky; we were not disappointed! It was absolutely fantastic! The lobby was clean, the clerk attentive and polite, and check in was quick. We got to the room and it was beautfiul! It was updated, quiet and the bed was perfect (not too hard, not too soft). I am huge on the cleanliness and smell of a hotel and I had absolutely no complaints. Everything was perfect. Also, we liked that the hotel wasn't right in the middle of all the Cedar Point traffic. Although it is on a main street, it is not crowded by all the park families and noise. I think the fact that the hotel is a little bit pricier (but well worth it) keeps some of the larger familis away and it cuts down on the noise. We were definitely able to relax and unwind! My husband and I almost decided to stay another night, but we had to get back to work :o( Honestly, we will definitely stay here again and we will recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kristen820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 13 October 2011

We stayed there in October of 2011 for a Saturday and Sunday night to attend Cedar Point Amusement Park that Sunday.

Conclusion: A nice place; I would stay there again. It's just a little nicer than a Hilton Garden Plaza Inn.

Details follow.

Location: Easy to get to. Easy driving to the park. Doesn't look like a bad area of town. Comfort Inn with a dance club next door one way, and Manny's bar next door (almost) the other way, which has good bar food; nice place.

Lobby and Common Areas: Well appointed decorations, nice tile work, new carpets, large lobby, decent breakfast (included). Decent = coffee, milk, cereal, hard-boiled eggs, waffle maker, biscuits and grave, etc. The pool in the basement was supposed to be a large hot tub, but really it was a little cool and only one jet worked.

Room: Perfect. Marble bathroom, fancy pillows, triple sheeting. Fridge, microwave, etc.

Service: Front desk staff were great. No maid service the first day, but before checking out that morning the maid knocked three times. Hmmm...

Reservation ease: The website put me in an infinite loop of typing in my information again and again saying the rates had changed. I had to call. And yes, they had changed.... for one of the days, they went up by $40 from the offered price, when I don't know. Apparently the best western website is not well integrated with the hotel's own system. I understand, but it does smack a bit of "bait and switch". I think we got the last hotel room in Sandusky that wasn't a dive.

As far as I can determine, the resorts in Sandusky are very nice, but if you want a normal hotel that's a little nicer and quieter than average, this hotel is the only game in town.

Room Tip: If the mega-sites say it's booked up, I suggest going to http://www.bestwestern.com/ or calling...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimTravellerFromOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Union City, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 11 October 2011

The Hotel was very clean, loby attractive, entrance attractive, gave appearance of a high end hotel. Staff very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

I stayed at the Best Western Plus for a convention that was at the Kalahari Resort. While the resort is great for families....I prefer a quieter, less active hotel for sleeping and some work time so chose the BW Plus Sandusky. Very nice decor. Large rooms. Very nice amenities. Check in was a breeze. Clean, quiet, close to everything. Would highly recommend this hotel if you don't need a huge water park connected to it!

Breakfast was ok....waffles, biscuits & gravy, coffee, juice, toast, cereal, yogurt. Not bad considering it is included in the room price.

Overall I truly enjoyed my stay here. Would return if business calls me to Sandusky again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelNut70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandusky, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2011

The hotel was perfect for what we wanted. It was a great price, had a microwave and decent size refrigerator. It was clean. Most of the staff went out of their way to be friendly. We had our 15 month old son with us and due to his nap schedule, housekeeping couldn't always come in but they were always willing to take our trash and replace our towels. Khadijah, the housekeeper, was very friendly and helpful and never seemed bothered when my son was running the halls if he needed a little more freedom. We would definatly stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jessica A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 September 2011

I was there September 23-26. Check-in was no problem. The guy at the desk had a bathtub faucet & showed me how it works. ( I guess because soo many other people complained about not knowing how it worked, even tho the directions are printed right above the faucet!!) The room was nice. The first night, it was me & my Granddaughter & she had a blast getting ice, running to the bed to eat it, getting off the bed for more ice, & repeating for about half an hour!! (She's 16 months.) The next night, her mom & dad stayed. The breakfast was good, not crowded at all!! As a matter of fact, all 3 mornings that I was there it wasn't crowded!! Waffles were good, the people taking care of the breakfast room were friendly, even tho some people are really rude to them!! We were there for Halloweekends & this hotel was perfect for us!! Also, the fridge was a good size!! The only negative was the pizza guy knocking on the door at midnight!! LOL!! But, that wasn't the hotels fault.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brendad728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandusky hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#6 of 35 in Sandusky
335 reviews
0.4 mi away
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
3.6 mi away
Cedar Point's Express Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn Sandusky - Cedar Point
0.5 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#5 of 35 in Sandusky
343 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Sandusky-Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites

Property: Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites
Address: 6011 Milan Rd., Sandusky, OH 44870-5869 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Sandusky
#4 Family Hotel in Sandusky
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just Keep Moving! Free Fitness Training at Hotel. Free Circuit Training Class by Certified Personal Trainer - Tim Dorsey. Available Daily Monday to Friday 2 to 4 classes daily. Moderate to High Intensity. Located in Hotel. It's Free! The BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites is one of the only all-suite hotels in Sandusky all our rooms are one-room suites. Featuring 89 spacious one-room suites and full-service amenities to make your next business trip or vacation in Sandusky as comfortable and efficient as possible.Services & AmenitiesBeds are triple-sheeted with duvet32-inch flat-panel televisionsHot breakfast with waffles served dailyFree high-speed Internet accessFitness Center and Soaking Hot TubMicrowaves and refrigerators in all roomsIn-room coffee maker, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, and safeDesks and sitting area in all one-room suitesPremium cable channels with Pay-Per-View ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sandusky Hotel Sandusky
Best Western Sandusky Hotel And Suites
Comfort Suites Sandusky
Sandusky Comfort Suites
Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing