We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overnight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites
Ranked #5 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Took a room for 1 night to attend a gymanstics event at the nearby conference center. This place has some nice decor and style, more than you would expect in the price range. Room was very nice, clean, quiet, and complementary breakfast was good. High marks.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dirtpeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Well, thank you very much for these "high marks!" It's awesome to hear when guests have such a satisfying experience as you did and our only hope is that you come back many more times in the future and allow us to be of service to you and your family. It's great to hear that you found value in your stay and that you enjoyed the ambiance. We're certainly not a run-of-the-mill hotel, this is for sure! :) Thanks for choosing to stay with us and, please, come back and see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (904)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

478 - 484 of 904 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

Traveling on a business trip, needed good internet access: hotel has the fastest / best internet I've experienced in years. Needed quiet, comfortable room: the hotel has very clean, quiet and functional rooms. Enjoyed the breakfast but it is just good, not great, but again included. Close to lots of restaurants and shopping with easy access. Definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms on the backside of the hotel - they have a 'Las Vegas' like sign in front t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Thanks for taking valuable time to share your experience with our hotel. It's GREAT to hear that we've made a repeat customer out of you and that you enjoyed your stay with us. I'm hoping that you discussed with our staff where you think we might improve our breakfast selection--as we take these kinds of comments and suggestions very seriously.

Thanks for choosing to stay with us and thank you, in advance, for coming back to see us again in the future! We're THRILLED to hear that our internet is the fastest and most reliable you've experienced in a hotel!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We just spent two nights here. Hotel room was clean and lobby was pretty, but there are maintenance issues. Toilet didn't flush, bathtub didn't drain. Fridge was so loud we had to unplug to sleep. Ended up using lobby bathroom in the morning due to clogged toilet and it was dirty and had clogged toilets as well. Breakfast area wasn't clean, poorly stocked with food items.

It was a disappointment after reading reviews ( and we were asked three times during the stay to rate on trip advisor). Makes me wonder if they are manipulating the ratings a bit.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ohiotraveler10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Hello and thank you for taking the time to rate and review your recent stay with us. We're sorry to hear that we didn't meet (and exceed!) all of your expectations--as that is our #1 goal. We're very sorry to hear of the maintenance issues that you encountered during your stay and I do hope that you let our staff know immediately so that they could be tended to.

There's no secret that we ask our guests for feedback both on TripAdivsor as well as through Best Western. We want to hear where we're doing well and where we need to improve. We are very concerned with continuous quality improvement and asking for feedback helps us to achieve that goal.

We hope that you'll treat the issues you discussed as isolated and give us another try in the future. We will do whatever we can to earn your trust and business as we want ALL of our guests to have a clear feeling and understanding of why we continue to be the #1 rated hotel on TripAdvisor for the Sandusky area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Just went in to go to Cedar Point and stayed overnight at this hotel with my wife and 3 kids. We had 2 rooms and right away we noticed how big the rooms were. Although the beds are double beds, we were quite comfortable in them. My son notice that the couch was also a pull out bed as well. The rooms were quite clean. The breakfast was a typical breakfast. Sausage, cereal, cinnamon rolls. They did have a pancake machine but both of the machines didn't work the day we were there. Staff was very friendly. Location was about 5 miles away from Cedar Point. I would definitely recommend this hotel and for the price you will be completely satisfied. I will stay at this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scoot5743
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Thanks for taking the time to comment on and rate your recent stay with us. It's great to hear when guests have such a positive experience and really appreciate all of the effort that we put into being the #1 ranked TripAdvisor in the Sandusky area. I must apologize for the problems you encountered with the pancake machines. That issue has since been resolved--so please come back and enjoy some pancakes--on us! :)

Thanks for choosing to stay with us. We realize you have lots of lodging choices and appreciate your continued support and your fabulous recommendation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

From the moment we walked through the front door we were greeted with smiles and a very helpful staff. I stayed in a clean and updated room with everything I needed for a great night of rest. I recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Layne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to rate and review your recent stay with us. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed our property, our amenities, and our staff. It's great to hear of your recommendation and we can't wait to welcome you back as our guest sometime in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

The location of this property was exactly where we needed to be. It was clean but otherwise very average. The people who worked there did their jobs well, but did not seem to go out of their way to be friendly or personable. The breakfast was the standard Best Western breakfast. Our room which they called a "suite" was no where near a suite. It was a standard room with a king bed, a small couch, a fridge (which didn't get very cold), microwave, and coffee maker. The room was clean, but again, you could tell that the cleaning crew did exactly what they had to do and no more. The bed skirt (which was too large for the bed) dragged on the floor and you could tell that it had been vacuumed over numerous times, as it was ripped at the seam (see picture). There was nothing wrong with this place, but nothing outstanding either. The price of the room was good.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. I'm surprised (and disappointed!) that your stay didn't exceed all of your expectations (as is the case with most of our guests). By definition, a suite is simply a larger room with more than just a bed for sleeping. We feature this larger room, sofas, fridge and microwaves, easy chairs, as well as an office setting in each of our rooms. In addition, we also have rooms that adjoin one another if someone were to need even additional space or a private bedroom.

We're always looking for ways to improve what we offer to our guests and take every comment and/or suggestion seriously. I hope you took the time to discuss your concerns with our staff while you were at the property so we could hear, first-hand, what we can do to continue to make our guests' stays even more awesome. Thanks for choosing to stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Good service. Front desk service very kind, good location. Clean, affordable place. We were there for a Guitar Festival, and the place was very nice, close to restaurants> We had a big group of high school students there, but we did not notice them. I will recommend this hotel to everybody.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Lilianaperu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to rate and review your recent stay with us. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed and appreciated our central location, our vast array of amenities, and our pleasant ambiance. We're very happy (and flattered!) to hear that you'll be recommending our hotel to others--as this is the best marketing we could ever hope for.

We hope you'll be back again to visit us soon. It would be our pleasure to be of continued service to you and your family!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandusky hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#7 of 35 in Sandusky
378 reviews
3.6 mi away
Cedar Point's Express Hotel
2.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn Sandusky - Cedar Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Sandusky-Central
0.4 mi away
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
0.5 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#4 of 35 in Sandusky
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites

Address: 6011 Milan Rd., Sandusky, OH 44870-5869 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Sandusky
#4 Family Hotel in Sandusky
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sandusky
Price Range: £74 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just Keep Moving! Free Fitness Training at Hotel. Free Circuit Training Class by Certified Personal Trainer - Tim Dorsey. Available Daily Monday to Friday 2 to 4 classes daily. Moderate to High Intensity. Located in Hotel. It's Free! The BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites is one of the only all-suite hotels in Sandusky all our rooms are one-room suites. Featuring 89 spacious one-room suites and full-service amenities to make your next business trip or vacation in Sandusky as comfortable and efficient as possible.Services & AmenitiesBeds are triple-sheeted with duvet32-inch flat-panel televisionsHot breakfast with waffles served dailyFree high-speed Internet accessFitness Center and Soaking Hot TubMicrowaves and refrigerators in all roomsIn-room coffee maker, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, and safeDesks and sitting area in all one-room suitesPremium cable channels with Pay-Per-View ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sandusky Hotel And Suites
Best Western Sandusky Hotel Sandusky
Comfort Suites Sandusky
Sandusky Comfort Suites
Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing