We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites
Ranked #4 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
Certificate of Excellence
River Rouge, Michigan, United States
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

A little pricy but your close to Cedar Point. What do you expect? Room was very clean and nicely stocked (lotion, shampoo, conditioner, soaps, coffee etc..). Breakfast was awesome. Pancakes instead of the usual bland waffles. Biscuits and gravy, sausage, yummy cinnamon buns etc... I like the place. 1 night to go. Highly recommend! 10 minutes from Cedar Point! Enjoy!!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 7 September 2014
Thank you for your recommendation and your wonderfully-complimentary rating and review of your recent stay with us!

We're so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and all of the amenities our property has to offer. We appreciate your choosing to stay with us and hope to be able to be of service to you and your family again many more times in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

854 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    374
    283
    121
    48
    28
See reviews for
407
170
26
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Springfield
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

We choose this hotel because it was rated #1 in Sandusky. The hotel was average, the staff was courteous, the cleanliness was questionable & the complimentary breakfast was fair at best. Comfy beds, fitness room was hot & small. I would not recommend this hotel to friends. Although it did accommodate a family of 5.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Krislynwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to rate and review your recent stay with us. It is unfortunate that we can't have a dialogue in this forum so I'm hopeful that you took the time to speak with one of our managers with more specific examples of how we might have made your stay more enjoyable. As you mention, we've been consistently ranked the #1 or #2 property and we believe our commitment to 100% guest satisfaction, our wonderful staff, and our attention to detail are all large players in why we're able to maintain this rating excellence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We arrived to the hotel in the evening. Our toilet in our room was not clean..soiled. We called the front desk to ask someone to come clean it and the person at the desk offered us another room. This was the right thing to do, however we had an adjoining room with the rest of the family. I asked if he could send housekeeping to clean toilet so we all did not have to move. He said he would be up to clean it. This poor guy had to man the front desk and clean! He was very kind and demonstrated good customer service by offering us 100 dollars off the room, but he should not have to do 2 jobs!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank christine c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
I apologize for the problem you encountered; however, it sounds as if our staff not only took care of the problem but then also offered additional compensation for your trouble. It is not uncommon in a hotel of this size to not have housekeeping staff on during the evening or over-night hours. Most hotels of this size operate with one or two desk associates who manage the entire operation of the hotel. I bring this to your attention only to point out that this is an industry standard and that we're not operating this hotel out of the norm. Obviously, a full-service hotel with restaurants, spas, casinos, etc. would be in a different category and would require additional staffing.

At any rate, thank you for choosing to stay with us. I'm hopeful that our quick remedy of the small issue you encountered, coupled with the fact that we offered you compensation, proves our commitment to 100% customer satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valparaiso, Indiana, Usa
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

When researching hotels int he Sandusky area close to the park, I was so disappointed by the horrible reviews, I sorted by Trip Advisor Rating to get a good rating, and only looked at those. For the money, I would say this hotel can't be beat. While I am picky about Vacuuming, and they didn't appear to do it between the nights we stayed, Everythign else was Clean, Staff was SUPER friendly and efficient, and one thing they DON"T tell you on the site, you have use of the full size pool at the hotel next door, as they are owned by same owner :D While we kid the park from morning to close both days and didn't make use of this, was a nice touch. Breakfast was adequate anyplace that has hard-boiled eggs - pure protein, No carb, gets a thumbs up in my book! Overall Great Job. And Beds Were comfy :D

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KevandVal_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. We're so happy to hear that you found value in your stay and that you found our wonderfully amazing staff to be friendly, attentive, and accommodating. Thank you, also, for letting us know about the vacuuming issue as this is something that we can definitely review with our staff.

Thanks for staying with us! We appreciate your business and hope to be able to be of service to you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fall River, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

For my 18 year old son's high school graduation, our gift to him was a trip to anywhere of his choice in the continental U.S. He picked Ohio so we could visit Cedar Point and the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. After many reschedulings of this trip due to unexpected commitments, we ended up getting a hotel room at the Best Western for $167/night, at AAA rates.

We arrived in Sandusky at 1 PM and Art, the friendly and knowledgeable gentleman at the front desk, was able to give us an early check-in. Our room was on the second floor and was a 2 double bed suite. The beds are full-size, not queen-however they are quite comfortable. I also liked the stucco-like texture of the ceilings, and the large tub/shower area.

I also found the hotel to be in a very convenient location to Cedar Point and the highway to get to Cleveland. Also, on Milan Road, you are never short on restaurant options, from Sonic Drive-In to Perkins to Bob Evans to Steak n' Shake to Red Lobster; and Wal-Mart and Meijer are right there for anything you may have forgotten or need for your stay.

The breakfast was okay and consisted of sausage patties, egg patties, yogurt, cinnamon rolls, cereal, muffins, bagels and make-your-own pancakes. Because we were there at peak season, the pancake station was crowded. I only wish they had had bacon, potatoes and fruit. We ate the breakfast two out of the four days we stayed because of two reasons-the crowds and the variety, or lack thereof.

Overall the room was clean on the surface, but I did find a pistachio nut, Bud Light bottle cap and a hairpin on the floor next to the dresser. My husband was also recovering from a horrible cold and was coughing constantly in the room; so remembering an episode from "Hotel Impossible", I pulled out the air conditioning filters to discover they were covered in approximately 1/4" of dust. I cleaned the filters and reinserted them; and my husband seemed to breathe better after that.

Prior to cleaning the filters, my husband slept on the couch a couple of nights due to his cold and being close to the a/c unit, so we asked for extra pillows and sheets. We had to call twice for pillows; otherwise everything else came very timely.

Another thing I noticed was that even though the hotel was completely booked, it was surprisingly soundproof. I never heard my neighbors next door or upstairs. In fact, except for breakfast time, I never saw many people around, considering there was no vacancy.

If it weren't for the full beds instead of queen, the lack of rotating items on the breakfast; and the missed items on the floor and dirty air conditioning filters, this place is pretty darn perfect for a Cedar Point vacation.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Southcoaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to rate and review your recent stay with us--and for offering such a thorough review. We're always looking for ways to improve our services and amenities so your comments regarding the breakfast selection is timely--we will certainly consider your recommendations! The filters on the AC units are cleaned on a pretty regular basis but our rooms are used A LOT in the summer months so this brings to mind that we might need to increase the frequency of that task--thanks for mentioning it!

We're grateful you chose to stay with us and are hopeful that we'll see you back sometime in the future. Thanks for giving us the opportunity to serve your lodging needs!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Easton, Maryland, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The staff was very pleasant and helpful. The room (2 queen beds) was large and clean. However, the most important part, the beds, were horrible. I am not sure how old the mattresses are, but they are in desperate need of replacement. Both were pitted in the middle, causing people on both sides to fall into the middle. There was no support. My husband was so desperate for sleep, he tried moving over to the love seat in the middle of the night.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to rate and review your recent stay with us. I must confess that I'm very surprised to hear about the mattress problem that you brought up as we hear over and over again how comfortable our bedding and linens are. I'm hopeful that you share this with one of our management team members so that the issue could be investigated and resolved--if not immediately for your comfort and convenience, at least for the next guest. Again, my apologies--and I hope you treat this as an isolated incident and give us another opportunity to provide you with superior quality service and amenities in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mason, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The hotel is in a great location to all of the attractions. The front desk staff was excellent. They were very friendly and helpful with directions. Our room was very clean, but for a suite it was very small. The breakfast was pretty good, but the dining area was small and the pancake machines kept malfunctioning. There was a very small indoor pool in the basement with no ventilation. We could use the outdoor pool at their sister hotel next door. There are so many places to eat that it was no big deal that there was no restaurant in the hotel. The wifi was erratic which was frustrating. Overall though, not too bad.

Room Tip: Not sure what other rooms are like, but our suite was the size of a regular room. Definitely not wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. I'm happy to hear that, overall, you enjoyed your stay, our friendly and accommodating staff, and the amenities we have to offer at not only this property but our affiliated property next door. It is true that the breakfast area is a bit small for the large summer crowds that we've been fortunate to be getting and we're looking at options to eliminate just the kind of issue that you brought up.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We hope you'll be our guest again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandusky hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#6 of 35 in Sandusky
336 reviews
0.4 mi away
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
3.6 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn Sandusky - Cedar Point
0.5 mi away
No photo provided
Sleep Inn
#5 of 35 in Sandusky
349 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites

Property: Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites
Address: 6011 Milan Rd., Sandusky, OH 44870-5869 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Sandusky
#4 Family Hotel in Sandusky
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just Keep Moving! Free Fitness Training at Hotel. Free Circuit Training Class by Certified Personal Trainer - Tim Dorsey. Available Daily Monday to Friday 2 to 4 classes daily. Moderate to High Intensity. Located in Hotel. It's Free! The BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites is one of the only all-suite hotels in Sandusky all our rooms are one-room suites. Featuring 89 spacious one-room suites and full-service amenities to make your next business trip or vacation in Sandusky as comfortable and efficient as possible.Services & AmenitiesBeds are triple-sheeted with duvet32-inch flat-panel televisionsHot breakfast with waffles served dailyFree high-speed Internet accessFitness Center and Soaking Hot TubMicrowaves and refrigerators in all roomsIn-room coffee maker, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, and safeDesks and sitting area in all one-room suitesPremium cable channels with Pay-Per-View ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sandusky Hotel Sandusky
Best Western Sandusky Hotel And Suites
Comfort Suites Sandusky
Sandusky Comfort Suites
Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing