We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place if you want to crash after Cedar Point - will stay again!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites
Ranked #4 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
Certificate of Excellence
Harrison Twp, MI
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great place if you want to crash after Cedar Point - will stay again!”
Reviewed 21 August 2009

We were looking for a nice play to stay after spending 12 hours in the park. With two young kids (11 and 7), we did NOT want a dump. Paid $100 total; checked in at midnight - they upgraded us to a jacuzzi suite (not that we used it for the short amount of time we were there). Nice, big, spacious, and CLEAN room. Slept like logs!

Lots and lots of mirrors and plugs to use to get ready!!! Definite plus! Great marble bathroom!

Hubby had coffee the next morning in the breakfast area, but since it closed at 9:30, we didn't eat breakfast there.

All in all, it was a nice stay and I'd do it again when we go back to Cedar Point next summer. The whole time we were there, we kept saying "If only our room in Jamaica would've been this nice".

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mllelchs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

880 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    389
    289
    123
    50
    29
See reviews for
419
176
27
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
atlanta, ga
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2009

This Comfort Suites hotel was very disappointing. We asked for a roll away or fold out sofa, but were told that they had neither, so they upgraded us to a two room suite at no charge which was very nice of them. That was really the only good thing about the place.
The common areas were very dirty, the front desk staff were very unprofessional and not very friendly. The windows looked like they had never been cleaned. The breakfast area was dark and dingey. The tables were all crammed into the small room. The first morning that we were there, there was no hot food at first. The corner where the cereal was, was filthy with milk and cereal spilled all over and there was no attempt to clean it up. Finally the hot food was brought out from the back, sausage patties and some cheese omlettes which were okay.
The second morning we decided to grab something from McDonalds on the way to the park which was a much better idea and the food was better, which gives you an idea of how the food at the hotel was.
There was no pool or restaurant on site, they were next door at the Comfort Inn....we didnt go over there to tell how it was.
The room was not clean, there was a shortage of toilet paper... this is the first trip we EVER took where we had to go to the front desk to get more toilet paper. One of the beds had dirty linens and the blanket on the bed had some kind of stains that I dont care to think of what the source was.
After spending all day at Cedar Point, which is about a 20 minute drive from this property, we found that the elevator was not working. We had to travel up and down the stairs, which was no big deal since we were on the second floor, but I felt sorry for the people who were just checking in because they had to carry all of their stuff up the stairs. We checked out the next morning and the elevator was still out of commission which meant that we had to carry all of our stuff down the stairs. Again, no big deal, but if we had small kids, it would have been.
Find another place to stay if you are going to Cedar Point, which is an amazing park.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveToTravelRandL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WESTERN PA
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2009

the inn was very clean - we had a suite w/ 4 dbls - all very comfortable, and enough room for mom, dad, 4 teenagers stuff (we failed to make sure on 2 baths though - sink outside of the bathroom would have really helped).
"free high speed internet" was limited to ONE ethernet line per room - the first night, my son and i both pulled out our laptops to check on things, and could not connect to the net.
i looked through the info book and found that the lobby is wireless, so we ran down there for a few minutes. the next am, i found the ethernet cable in the corner of the desk. that eve, only one of us had to go to the lobby
the 'free' bkfst was also interesting - for a property this large, the area was very small. there was not a large selection - sausage gravy w/ no biscuits????
the first am, my children were making waffles (comfort suites perk) and we could not find the syrup. i went to the front desk (4 people standing around) to ask and was rudely told that it was on the tables. i went back and told my wife -ALL of the syrup dispensers were empty. (it was before 8:00) my wife also noticed that the waffle spray was getting low and went out to tell the staff about the empty syrup containers and the spray getting low. she was reprimanded that the syrup was on the tables and not to worry about the spray - it should still be ok to make waffles. (strike one)
the next am, there were NO waffles - one of the irons was missing and there was no mix.
there were egg and cheese omelettes the second day (not too bad), but the bacon pan was empty (again, prior to 8:00) (strike two)
only 2 slots of the 4 slot toaster worked, there were NO tongs for the bagels, bread and rolls (strike three)
for a property this size in a tourist area (cedar point) on a summer weekend, there should be a person designated in the breakfast room to keep it stocked, clean, the lines moving.
we would stay here again due to the size of the room and the cleanliness, but might try to negotiate due to the lack of wireless access in the rooms in the insufficient bkfst.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PHARMHAND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2009

Suite is a misnomer--there was no sofabed which is standard in most suites. One of us had to sleep on a tiny sofa. The towels were shabby and worn. There were no amenities--no internet, no pool, no sauna. Breakfast was disappointing--the area was dirty, the food choices were limited to sugar and carbohydrates. Staff careless in entering credit card info. Limited "lighted" parking spaces available. We checked out early.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoadtripnowVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2009

My family and I stayed at the Comfort Suites - Sandusky. I was told at booking they had an indoor swimming pool, hot tub and sauna. What we found out when we got there was we had to walk to the Comfort Inn and use their pool, hot tub and sauna. The continental breakfast the first two days was inadequate for the volume of people eating. It improved the third day (different employee stocking supplies). The proximity to Cedar Point was the only plus of the stay.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank strak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 23 May 2009

The room was surprisingly large and exactly as shown on the website. I was a little disappointed that there was no refrigerator available. My four year old described the king size bed as hard as a rock. Also we were on the first floor and there was no screen in the window so we couldn't leave it open at night. This is apparently a popular hotel as there were tons of busses parked outside and lots taking teenagers back and forth to the amusement park. I'm sure this is normal at any hotel in the area but was kind of annoying.

But the room was nice and pretty clean, the pool area was great, the staff was nice. I would definitely stay here again due to the size of the room and the convenience of the location.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tuzlaOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortSuites6011, other at Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 10 June 2009
We thank you for your positive review of our hotel. We are very gald your stay was pleasurable. We hope that you will come back and stay with us again! Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 18 May 2009

Over-all the hotel and staff are great! Had a few complaints about the room, but the staff fixed every complaint in a timely manner. Breakfast was great! The breakfast attendent really took pride in her work. I will stay here again when traveling to the area!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank corchance21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortSuites6011, other at Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 10 June 2009
Thank you for posting a positive review on Tripadvisor. We are glad that you chose to stay with us and are glad that your stay was superb! Thank you for visiting us, and we hope that you choose us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandusky hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#7 of 35 in Sandusky
360 reviews
3.6 mi away
Cedar Point's Express Hotel
0.4 mi away
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn Sandusky - Cedar Point
0.5 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#5 of 35 in Sandusky
356 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Sandusky-Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites

Property: Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites
Address: 6011 Milan Rd., Sandusky, OH 44870-5869 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Sandusky
#4 Family Hotel in Sandusky
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just Keep Moving! Free Fitness Training at Hotel. Free Circuit Training Class by Certified Personal Trainer - Tim Dorsey. Available Daily Monday to Friday 2 to 4 classes daily. Moderate to High Intensity. Located in Hotel. It's Free! The BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites is one of the only all-suite hotels in Sandusky all our rooms are one-room suites. Featuring 89 spacious one-room suites and full-service amenities to make your next business trip or vacation in Sandusky as comfortable and efficient as possible.Services & AmenitiesBeds are triple-sheeted with duvet32-inch flat-panel televisionsHot breakfast with waffles served dailyFree high-speed Internet accessFitness Center and Soaking Hot TubMicrowaves and refrigerators in all roomsIn-room coffee maker, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, and safeDesks and sitting area in all one-room suitesPremium cable channels with Pay-Per-View ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sandusky Hotel Sandusky
Best Western Sandusky Hotel And Suites
Comfort Suites Sandusky
Sandusky Comfort Suites
Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing