We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great overall stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cedar Point's Lighthouse Point
Certificate of Excellence
Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great overall stay”
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed at deluxe cabins. Here are some plus and minuses

+ checked in early and was able to pick out the cabin we wanted (136)
+ all 10 people in our group had a bed
+ charcoal grill got lots of use
+ brought fire pit and relaxed around the fire in the evening
+ pool was very nice
+ very clean place in general
+ loved being able to walk to the other hotels and use their facilities
+ early entry into park got us 3 rides before park opened to general public

- mayflies were out in full force
- shedding cottonwoods were out in full force
- cabins are very small but space is used very efficiently
- grass has just been planted in the new cabin area
- pretty good walk to get to park
- main water line break the morning we left.

All in all a great stay and would highly recommend it

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Srxman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TyleratCP, Manager at Cedar Point's Lighthouse Point, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Thank you for the summary of your visit, we appreciate hearing from our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    461
    258
    53
    31
    17
See reviews for
595
27
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Really loved the new deluxe cabins. It was my son's 8th birthday and planned a weekend family getaway! It was 13 of us (only 8 stayed at the cabin) the other 5 stayed at the breaker hotel. We loved everything about the trip except the Mosquitos (buy some OFF)the cabin was clean and cozy we grilled out Fri night the kids ran around and enjoyed hearing all the people scream on the near by coaster. Took advantage of the early entry, the two bathrooms was really plus! The kids enjoyed the upstairs loft. Beds were comfy lots of blankets and housekeeping stop pass sat n sun to see if we needed more towel! The kids enjoyed the lil water fountains around da cabins oh and the garbage cans outside the cabins was a big help!!! I will definitely stay here again!!! Tip: go to the near by Walmart and by things to put on da grill, snacks and a foam cooler to fill with ice and keep drinks cold! We saved so much money by grilling out instead of buying food at the park or nearby!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigBoysMommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TyleratCP, Manager at Cedar Point's Lighthouse Point, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
We are glad to hear you enjoyed your cabin stay. While we normally don't have many mosquitoes, we do experience a week or two of Muffleheads - friendly bugs from the lake that don't bite but are actually a sign of a healthy ecosystem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portage, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the deluxe cabin which was perfect for our family plus some friends. Really clean, homey, and had a gorgeous view near the lakeside. Definitely recommend to anyone who wants to stay in the park or just wants a fun vacation. The pillows and beds are very comfortable and the charcoal grill outside was perfect for grilling after a day in the park!(:

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Natalie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TyleratCP, Manager at Cedar Point's Lighthouse Point, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Thank you, it's great to hear you loved it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, Ohio
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 June 2014

This was our first stay on property but I have been going to Cedar Point for many years. The appeal to stay was not having the early morning 2 hour drive to get there. The only suggestion I have is taking extra cushion for the sofa sleepers! Other than that our stay was wonderful and the cabin was great.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meatball1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TyleratCP, Manager at Cedar Point's Lighthouse Point, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Thank you for choosing Lighthouse Point. We appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brecksville, Ohio
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We have been visiting this park for several years and this is one of our favorite places to bring the RV. Concrete pads that are usually level. We have satellite, but here you can hook up to cable as well ! (Of course you don't watch any tv with the amusement park next door) Walking distance to the park, and early entry. Far less expensive than staying at one of the hotels on the property (but more $ than most RV parks) Clean and well maintained. The pool in the campground is a great way to escape from the crowds during the middle of the day. Over the winter of 2014 Cedar Fair invested $ in a new and bigger camp store (with walk in cooler) and the reception area is larger so you won't have to stand outside in the rain waiting to check in ! I was not pleased to see that all of the old, electric only, sites were replaced with cabins. Fewer places for the RV !!!! Eat at the restaurants that are on the property but OUTSIDE the park, unless you don't care about money. We like Famous Dave's.


The shuttle service is usually good, but sometimes a very long wait for that morning pick up when you are trying to take advantage of early entry and ride the Millenium. Wonder if a scheduled shuttle route might help, at least during the hour before opening ? If Cedar Fair really wants to make campers happy - open up a park entrance near the overflow RV parking area (next to check in) that would take you into the park near Frontier Town !!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Eric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TyleratCP, Manager at Cedar Point's Lighthouse Point, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Thank you for the helpful feedback. We always appreciate hearing from our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sterling Heights, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This year was our 3rd Annual trip to Cedar Point, usually we stay at Breakers Hotel but this year decided to try the cabins. I don't think I'll ever go back to staying at the Hotel. Although the hotel is nice I really enjoyed the cabin, I felt we had much more room and the private bedroom was much better than the pull out couch I've slept on the past two years. I loved having the BBQ and picnic table right outside our door!! I didn't spend a penny on food there, we used the BBQ every night and even for breakfast. Very easy access to the park entrance, early entry is always a plus. It's was also nice when we needed a bag of ice it was available in the store right on the property. Overall great place to stay and I can't wait to come back and do it all again next year!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Raelene P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TyleratCP, Manager at Cedar Point's Lighthouse Point, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
We look forward to welcoming you back next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My friend recommended Lighthouse Point cottages and i was so impressed. I had my husband and 3 kids. We were able to make lunches and hang out at intervals from the park. It was great. We loved looking out on the water. The pool was too cold, but the kids loved it. I do with that they had better amenities in the room. No hair dryer and no shampoo was no good. Also, extra towels would have been great. Overall a very wonderful experience and I would stay there again as a splurge. I felt it was tons of money to stay there. We spent $900 for our family of 5 with a 2 day pass. :(

Room Tip: We loved the cottages on the water. They were perfect for a family of 5. Also, bring your own charc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TyleratCP, Manager at Cedar Point's Lighthouse Point, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Thank you for the five star review of Lighthouse Point. I apologize there was no shampoo in your cabin as that should have been provided. Extra towels are available, just let us know and we can take care of it for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandusky
4.2 mi away
South Beach Resort Hotel
South Beach Resort Hotel
#2 of 3 in Marblehead
278 reviews
3.0 mi away
Cedar Point's Express Hotel
6.2 mi away
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#10 of 17 in Port Clinton
66 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cedar Point's Hotel Breakers
0.2 mi away
Cedar Point's Sandcastle Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Point's Lighthouse Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Point's Lighthouse Point

Property: Cedar Point's Lighthouse Point
Address: 1 Cedar Point Dr, Cedar Point, Sandusky, OH 44870-5259
Region: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cedar Point's Lighthouse Point 2.5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Lighthouse Point - featuring an RV campground with full hook-up sites, standard cabins and cottages and Deluxe Cabins that accommodate up to 10 guests. If you’re looking for accommodations with a summer-cottage feel, you'll be right at home. A cozy waterfront community of 64 cottages and 92 cabins, Lighthouse Point is located close to the fun, on the west bank of the Cedar Point Peninsula. Just look for the historic 1882 Cedar Point Lighthouse, and you’ve found us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cedar Point's Lighthouse Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lighthouse Point Hotel Sandusky
Cedar Point's Lighthouse Point Sandusky, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing